Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our stay, very relaxing.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Hot water
Cons: Tell the restaurant staff to pay attention to the customers. Some are amazing but others...
Location: Aqua Varcas has good cheap restaurants and grocery stores.
Overall I would recommend and return. Some of the restaurant staff were amazing and some completely ignored us. I would have liked to have had a wilderness path to walk through. Pools were lovely and the steam room really hot!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by wilderfrom costa rica, san jose

no tengo titulo

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels.com
bien, sin embarago el cuarto, tenia acceso al la otra habitacion, por una puerta y se ecuchaba todo, eso si no me gusto, el resto muy bie.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marlon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by EDGAR VIDALfrom HEREDIA

ESTANCIA AMENA Y TRANQUILA EN SAN CARLOS

Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
MUY BIEN ME ENCANTO EL ESTAR RODEADO DE LA NATURALEZA Y SOBRE TODO LA TRANQUILIDAD.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alajuela, Costa Rica

Worst hotel I've stayed, look 4 other options.

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Spring waters were OK. But that is all, nothing good to say about this hotel.
Cons: They should deliver customer service training to the employees, specially the ones at front desk. Also, food should be improved.
Booked the room through Expedia Mobile, and called the hotel to request a room near the main (closest to the pool and restaurant) level, because my partner had physical problems climbing stairs or walking long distances. The receptionist who greeted me, ensured to place us in a room with necessary amenities; as the hotel did not have many reservations for that day. So I did the 3 hour drive to the hotel. Upon my arrival, the receptionist indicated to me that they did not reserve the room and all the lower level Suites were already Booked. The only one available was #64 (on the far zone and 250 meters from the restaurant on a hill). That was the only option, or no other option was available. "Are you going to take it or not?" was the answer of the rude lady that was in the lobby. Ask to speak to the manager, but they said there is no manager or supervisor during the weekends (which is very rare for a hotel where most visitors are flow weekends) works. Next morning, asked the cleaning lady for clean towels, which she anwered with a rude attitude "No changing the towels as you are not staying for another night, you will have to use the Wet Towels or go to the receptionist and request for Pool Towels.". She actually asked security to watch me not taking towels from the container she had them (I was treated like a criminal on my vacation time, very nice huh?) Breakfast, is less than basic. You could get better food on the small restaurants nearby for less than 8$.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Georgia

We loved the resort!

Posted Feb 7, 2015
For our first night in Costa Rica, this place was a gem. The thermal pools were so relaxing and unlike anything we had ever experienced before. The food in the restaurant was good. The staff was very accommodating. There is a nice trail leading back towards the road by the creek. If you go down the creek you can see a spot at the end where there are thermal waters right into the creek. Rooms are old but clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario

Nature paradise!

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Hotel is comfortable, could use some updating, location is a bit remote. Seen toucans and iguanas every day from our room. Good place to stay for a night or two.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excelente hotel para descansar

Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
Excelente la estadía, buen servicio, muy bonito el lugar para descansar y relajarse
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Hermoso lugar

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
Un lugar muy lindo, excelente para relajarse y pasar un rato en familia. La atencion en el restaurante no tan buena, pedimos unas cosas y no las entregaron , tuvimos que decirle a otro mesero. El televisor en la habitacion muy pequeño. Pero es un lugar para volver, el precio lo valio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Hotel Stay at El Tucano

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
There was noise of the air conditioning all night. Not all rooms were equipped with air conditioning. The pools were crowded.