Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our stay, very relaxing.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Hot water
Cons: Tell the restaurant staff to pay attention to the customers. Some are amazing but others...
Location: Aqua Varcas has good cheap restaurants and grocery stores.
Overall I would recommend and return. Some of the restaurant staff were amazing and some completely ignored us. I would have liked to have had a wilderness path to walk through. Pools were lovely and the steam room really hot!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alajuela, Costa Rica

Worst hotel I've stayed, look 4 other options.

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Spring waters were OK. But that is all, nothing good to say about this hotel.
Cons: They should deliver customer service training to the employees, specially the ones at front desk. Also, food should be improved.
Booked the room through Expedia Mobile, and called the hotel to request a room near the main (closest to the pool and restaurant) level, because my partner had physical problems climbing stairs or walking long distances. The receptionist who greeted me, ensured to place us in a room with necessary amenities; as the hotel did not have many reservations for that day. So I did the 3 hour drive to the hotel. Upon my arrival, the receptionist indicated to me that they did not reserve the room and all the lower level Suites were already Booked. The only one available was #64 (on the far zone and 250 meters from the restaurant on a hill). That was the only option, or no other option was available. "Are you going to take it or not?" was the answer of the rude lady that was in the lobby. Ask to speak to the manager, but they said there is no manager or supervisor during the weekends (which is very rare for a hotel where most visitors are flow weekends) works. Next morning, asked the cleaning lady for clean towels, which she anwered with a rude attitude "No changing the towels as you are not staying for another night, you will have to use the Wet Towels or go to the receptionist and request for Pool Towels.". She actually asked security to watch me not taking towels from the container she had them (I was treated like a criminal on my vacation time, very nice huh?) Breakfast, is less than basic. You could get better food on the small restaurants nearby for less than 8$.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Georgia

We loved the resort!

Posted Feb 7, 2015
For our first night in Costa Rica, this place was a gem. The thermal pools were so relaxing and unlike anything we had ever experienced before. The food in the restaurant was good. The staff was very accommodating. There is a nice trail leading back towards the road by the creek. If you go down the creek you can see a spot at the end where there are thermal waters right into the creek. Rooms are old but clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario

Nature paradise!

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Hotel is comfortable, could use some updating, location is a bit remote. Seen toucans and iguanas every day from our room. Good place to stay for a night or two.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Not a great place to stay

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Nothing. It was all terrible.
Cons: Major renovation and updating. Overall deep clean. This might have been a nice place, 30 years ago.
Location: We stayed here to be between San Jose airport and Arenal airport. Be prepared for a VERY curvy drive.
Other people that are rating this hotel as nice, just don't know what that means. This place was terrible. Overpriced for the condition. It was old, outdated, dirty and moldy. The overpriced restaurant had absolutely the worst food of anywhere we ate while in Costa Rica and we at at plenty of the small mom and pop places. There was no service as they didn't seem to care. You have to wear a wrist band while staying, which was weird. Also, you had to pay $3 a day just to use the safe in the room, it should be included. Would not ever stay here again nor recommend it to anyone. Best thing about this place was when we got to leave.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Deer Park tx

!!!!

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Outdated restrooms...oh you want air-conditioning that's another $38 not mentioned on their website....
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Slatibarfarstfrom Grecia

Great mineral hot pools

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The restaurant was good and reasonable. The mineral pools were wonderful therapy! A negative would be that there was no available grounded outlet in the room. I had to use an adaptor and plug it in in the bathroom.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Orafrom UK

Needs a bit of updating

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
It has great location but the hotel needs a bit of updating all round and including the rooms. Breakfast was basic. There was one male working on reception when we were there who had fantastic english. There was a 3 hour car journey from San Jose to the hotel. It was bit of a trek but the views along the way were great. Hotel was a bit over priced for what you got.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sarahfrom USA

Juan Blanco Fun

Posted Apr 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Typico Breakfast next to ("in") the rainforest, warm pools next to the bar, beautiful trees, right next to Juan Castro Blanco National Park and close to Poaz Volcanoe. A little pricey for costa rica, but still a good time.