Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful natural environmeny

Posted Aug 1, 2015
The Hotel has a great resource in its thermal waters and wooded surroundings. The Stone sauna was an added surprise.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Terrible Hotel!!!

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Terrible Hotel, nothing! Just the restaurant location besides the river is good.
Cons: Everything, is a old and terrible hotel.
Location: San Carlos and specially La Fortuna is beutiful, so please, don't stay in this hotel, go to La Fortuna.
Terrible facts: 1) I booked in Expedia and it says the Hotel has free wifi... well they only have wi fi in the restaurant and the lobby but they dont have wifi in the room! 2) The room was old, lack of privacy because it has a huge window in the front door so you could hear everything has anybody could hear you inside when the people has to pass at the side of your windows to go to others rooms. 3) The TV is a joke... is like a Ipad side old TV. 4) There is no A/C that could be a good idea in the humity tropical area. 5) The bathroom is too old, no towels so I have to call to bring some so old towells like the ones. 6) The sheets of the bed has a hole... and when you think that could be the worst... 7) The pillow smell sweat... the sheets don't smell fresh but the pillows smell sweat :-) ... because it was late at night I just dont (cant) use the pillows... at other hour I will move to another hotel, hostal or whatever because I am sure that any other Hotel in San Carlos, small or not, wont give you a bed with sweat pillows but any way, I stayed... I wish that the night will pass as fast as possible. 8) The breakfast is ok, you could sit in a balcony and see the river that is just at the side and the mountain in the other side. 9) I paid $95 and I feel terrible, because $60 will be expensive for the old and terrible conditions... but the worst part is that somepeople pays $130... no way!! I have made a lot of reviews in tripadvisor, this is the first time that I ha
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Paradise property.... hotel left in the past....

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Natural hot pools Trails
Cons: Everything related to room quality and general services: in room amenities, restaurant, indoor / outdoor activities.
Location: The hotel is placed in a location where really is to spend within hotel area. Not really much around.
El Tucano property is beautiful, with natural river and trails to walk.... but highly disappointing how the hotel has been left in the past... you can definitely see the lack of investment and strive to bring the hotel into the new century. Rooms are OK in size, but so very much left without amenity (in particular important in a place where rain is always present). 10" Box TV, no coffee maker or in-room amenities (even charge extra to use the safety box)... bathrooms good in size, yet, not even a dryer. Bed... OK, yet the cover seem to have been the same from 10 years ago. With all the options near by (in particular Arenal) the hotel should really try to serve better to their guests to make their in-room / facilities experience more enjoyable. WIFI only in specific areas (lobby, restaurant), which is challenging specially as Mobile Signal in the area is quite bad (didn't have in my room). I know that part of the enchant of being in this type of hotel is to disconnect from the world, nevertheless, that does not mean that hotel shouldn't strive to cater for all type of guests. Some 15 years ago I believe it was a great place.... today.... it is the same place it was 15 years ago... left in the past... seems that there is no way that this place will compete with others in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San José Costa Rica

La pasamos muy Bien!!

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Belleza natural, la comida, las piscinas termales, la atención en recepción. Felicitar a Jacqueline que nos atendió super.
Cons: Pocas cosas, tal vez frutas en los desayunos. televisores mas modernos en las habitaciones standar.
Location: Super bien, no hay queja, en contacto directo con Natura. Salud por todo lado.
Habitaciones standar algo alejadas, pero el entorno y las instalaciones son inmejorables, pues han colocado un buen hotel dentro de la naturaleza. Hay un evidente motivo para ir: la salud. Termales de las mejores, caminatas buenas, impacto visual hermoso, muchas cosas para hacer, hace que el tiempo vuele y el descanso sea optimo. Como recomendación favor incluir frutas en el desayuno, pero aparte de esto, las comidas son excelentes. Fue muy grato la estancia para mi esposa y mi hijo y mi persona. Hice caminatas, deporte, y disfrute de las termales en grande.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Victor from Costa Rica

No lo recomiendo

Posted Apr 14, 2015 on Hotels
A la llegada nos atiende una mujer quién con tono de pocos amigos nos pide esperar porque no está lista la habitación. Después de casi 40 min de espera y debido a mi queja al respecto nos cambian de habitación. Somos 4 personas con reservación realizada hace un mes, con una habitación para 4, pero la habitación sólo cuenta con dos paños y a pesar de mi insistencia nunca a dejaron los otros dos paños. El menú no es variado, y la espera por una bebida deja mucho que decir ya que un solo mesero debe atender y realizar los pedidos. La piscina de agua termal tiene buena temperatura y buen diseño, sin embargo sólo cuenta en sus alrededores con dos mesas y 10 camas de playa, algo incomprensible para la cantidad de huéspedes, por lo que hay que tomar el sol sentado en las gradas o quedarse en la habitación ya que no hay otras actividades que realizar y no hay cercano algún sitio de interés para visitar. Igualmente, sólo me dejaron dos paños para piscina los cuales no pude cambiar a la semana siguiente de mi estancia porque la lavandería no tenía paños. No hay Internet en las habitaciones, aunque sí en el área de piscina. No hay minibar nilugar donde comprar enlatados para cuando los niños tienen sed en la habitación.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sofía

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our stay, very relaxing.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Hot water
Cons: Tell the restaurant staff to pay attention to the customers. Some are amazing but others...
Location: Aqua Varcas has good cheap restaurants and grocery stores.
Overall I would recommend and return. Some of the restaurant staff were amazing and some completely ignored us. I would have liked to have had a wilderness path to walk through. Pools were lovely and the steam room really hot!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lacks on site manager on duty

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
We left a phone on a table outside. We walked out and came back in and it was gone with the dirty plates. The tables on each side of us had elderly tourists. They stated that the only person that went to the table was the waiter. I asked for the restaurant manager or person in charge. There was none. I went to the front desk to see a manager. Once again there was no person in charge. The front desk sent a security person with me to talk to the waiter. The waiter refused to talk and walked away after saying it could have been the elderly folks near by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pascal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 5, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by wilder from costa rica, san jose

no tengo titulo

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
bien, sin embarago el cuarto, tenia acceso al la otra habitacion, por una puerta y se ecuchaba todo, eso si no me gusto, el resto muy bie.