Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice Boutique Hotel in Juneau

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Staff, convenience of food in house
Cons: I don't know if the street noise can be limited somehow.
Location: Many city attractions within walking distace (Juneau/Douglas City Museum). A must see The Last Chance Mining Museum. (t
The staff at the Silverbow are fabulous. They give you great recommendations on where to eat. They order your cabs for 5 am so you can make your Ferry, and pack you a good breakfast (complete with peanutbutter chocolate granola bars, such a treat!!!) Dinner at the Silverbow is also a treat. Their soups are so fresh with huge amounts of veggies & salads that hit the spot. (Much healthier to eat there than the other local places.) I was quite surprised how many items they made themselves, bagels, variety of spreads, bread, baked goods, teas (all fresh and local) The only drawback is the exterior city noises that start quite early. Overall great place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Cons: Hot Tub was cold and not working properly.
Fun Little Place. The friendly staff and breakfast from the bakery were awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach, California

Silverbow Inn Stay for 6 days

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Location, full breakfast, comfort in the rooms, and service.
Cons: The carpet could be cleaned maybe more often.
Location: Close to town so no taxi's. I walked up to the Mt. Roberts Tram instead of taking the tram up. There are other trails.
I can't think of a better place to stay. Walking distance to town and to many hiking trails. I walked up to the top of the tram from my Inn. I was fed better then in a expensive restaurant. The breakfast was complete and snacks 24/7 including homemade bread, carrot cake, popcorn you could make, humus, different cheeses, fresh fruit, yogurt, milk, cup of soup. There is a wine bar if you like to drink. The Wifi was great and flatscreen TV is better then I have at home. I like staying in at night after a day of activities so that is perfect for me. Hot tub on the roof for tired muscles after hikes. I'm so glad I chose the Silverbow to stay at in Juneau.
3 out of 5
by DW from Chicago, IL

Historic if You Think the 60's Are Ancient

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: Please see above.
Cons: Clean the carpets
Location: Superb location. Right in downtown. If you are doing business with the Alaska state government then this is a good place to stay.
The reviews I read on Expedia suggested that this was a great place. I beg to differ. Unlike the other hotels, there is no shuttle from the airport (which is 18 miles away). There is no elevator (just a narrow stairway). The halls are cluttered with outsize old chests and drawers that need to be refinished. The room itself is small, with carpet that looks like it has never been cleaned. The bathroom was clean - better in many ways than nicer hotels I have stayed at. The amenities were net neutral: good internet access, small TV but with good cable access; tiny desk with a lawn chair for working from and a 50's style sink placed awkwardly almost against the foot of the bed. In terms of staff, the gal I called asking for guidance on taxis/shuttles was neither helpful nor friendly. But the other staff the following day (young gal with glasses and a slender woman in her late 30s) were very friendly and helpful. The hotel runs a restaurant. That - in my opinion - is the gem in this whole package (you receive a free breakfast). The other important point (for business travelers) is that this is right in downtown. One can easily walk to the state administration offices in perhaps 3 minutes. So if the issues I mentioned above are not problematic for you - the plusses - excellent internet, excellent breakfast, and excellent location - can outweigh the negatives.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for business or leisure travel

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: Great amenities in the room and around the hotel. Convenient location. Awesome staff. Very comfortable and home-like feel.
Location: The Silverbow is in the heart of downtown Juneau. Close to shopping, eating, and drinking establishments.
I've stayed at the Silverbow a number of times and have always had a great experience. The rooms are small, but clean with great features that make it feel more like a room in a home than a hotel room. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The common areas are warm and inviting and the breakfast and snacks that are always available are top notch. Great downtown location ideal for visiting Juneau on vacation or working downtown. I've stayed in most of the downtown hotels and this is by far my favorite. The hot tub on the deck is a great added bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Experience

Posted Aug 6, 2013
We loved staying at the Silverbow. It was very well located and the front office staff was great. The food was definitely a highlight, with breakfast available all day (you could help yourself at any time), wine for an hour in the evening, and the bakery/deli right there. The range of offerings for breakfast was great and the homemade items were yummy (granola, oatmeal, bagels, etc.). We had sack lunches made to take with us for our 2 days of fishing. The building is old, but the rooms have some nice touches with updated bathrooms. A hot tub is also available, which is really nice. We're definitely coming back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CK

This is the place to stay in Juneau!

Posted Jul 16, 2013
Pros: Everything
Location: Go on a helicopter tour of ice-field and glacier hike....spectacular!
Lovely room , lots of snacks, coffee and breakfast and rooftop hot-tub not to mention friendly and helpful staff. This is the best place to stay in Juneau.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jackie from Australia

Friendly atmosphere

Posted May 30, 2013
Pros: Jovial staff and central but quiet location
Location: Close to downtown but far enough away from the crowds of the cruise ships.
Central location for travellers without a vehicle. Really quiet for a capital city and friendly staff. Food is amazing and in plentiful supply. A downstairs area to sit and chat or enjoy a drink.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melissa

Hotel with character

Posted May 15, 2013
Pros: The location, the comfortable room, the rooftop hot tub, the breakfast, the fact that it's locally owned.
Location: Within walking distance are the docking area for the large cruise ships, the kiosks for guided tours, the tram, and shopping/dining.
This hotel is very comfortable and has character that is lacking in chain hotels. The location is excellent for walking around downtown and to the touristy attractions, but feels like a "local" place. The cafe/bakery there is very good and the staff are personable and helpful. I will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Yukon Territory, Canada

Terrific hotel with lots of character

Posted Apr 3, 2013
They have done an excellent job of updating an older hotel. The breakfast is awesome!