Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Leeds, UK

Great hotel but overpriced

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Lovely historic building
Cons: Value for money
Location: Close to bars, restaurants and right on the sea front. Nice walk to the seal colony.
Good location on the edge of the town centre but only 10 minutes walk along the sea front. Great staff welcome. Nice room but a little small and no balcony. We stayed in similar standard accommodation in NZ but thought others were better value. This was the most expensive but we felt the rate was overpriced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice boutique hotel.

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: The hotel building has a long history. Very unique.
Location: 5 mins drive from the main town area.
Clean and comfort room. Room may be a little small but it's fine. It has a nice courtyard where you can chill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxford, UK

Pretty hotel away from main resort

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: The owners!
Cons: Nothing, it is a lovely hotel
Location: A bit of a walk into town, plenty of restaurants. Whale watch and seal colony.
Extremely friendly and helpful owners. Wonderful welcome, we were told where to eat, drink and all the things to do in the area. Fresh milk rather than "plastic" milk was an added and much appreciated bonus. Rooms were clean and comfortable a bit small but had everything we needed. The bathroom was spacious with a great walk in shower. It was a bit of a walk into the main town and with no public transport so if you want a drink with your meal be prepared for the walk back but it was only a problem to us on the night it rained!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely place.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Great place right over the road from the beach. Faultlessly clean, modern decor and really quiet. Very friendly, helpful owner. A bit hard to find in the dark...no sign out the front. We enjoyed it here and would highly recommend it to other travellers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Best Location!

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Location, Decor & the owner was friendly and hospitable.
Cons: They are small rooms for the price.
Location: Seal colony, movie theater and not far to the main shopping area and tourist facilities.
Lovely being across from the beach, small but clean and tidy room that is tastefully decorated and doesn't feel dated. For what it cost, in comparision to what was around it was a little expensive. The walls were a bit thin and you could hear the neighbours moving in and out of the bathroom so you did wonder how sound proof each unit was? May have been a problem with loud neighbours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Traceyfrom UK

Great location, bay view

Posted May 26, 2014
We enjoyed the hotel's location on the bay; you could hear the tide faintly at night - wonderful. Our room was modest in size but clean and very well presented. Also a lovely courtyard garden. The gentleman who greeted us was very knowledgeable of the area, good places for supper, visiting, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable rooms

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had 1 night here. The room was very comfortable and staff very friendly and helpful. The location suited us well. We would certainly stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeppe

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Everything was perfect. The owners are extremely helpful and the room was lovely. Superb location. Thank you.