Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arlington, TX

Great location in Kaikoura

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Location location location
Location: Walk along the water across the street for spectacular sunrises.
This motel is well located in the heart of Kaikoura, right next door to the Dolphin Encounter tour. Ocean is across the street. Main street where all the restauratns are is only a 5 minute walk away. Quiet and well sound proofed rooms. Very clean. Small well equipped kitchinette. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 26, 2015
We really enjoyed the stay at Kiakoura.Very pretty location and hreat facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NZ

nice hotel close to sea

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: room size bathroom kitchen area
Cons: remove the essential oil air freshener things!
Location: whales whales whales and the odd dolphin or 400...its kaikoura if you are going here you dont need me to point out places of interest!
one night stay in kaikoura motel was excellent clean comfortable and well appointed with excellent room size, comfy beds and good bathroom. Staff were very helpful and welcoming. Although pretty characterless and our rooms were without any direct sea view, the pacific ocean is directly across the road and parking was ample, it is an ideal place to stop over great value for money and is highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago. IL

Nice place close to the beach.

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: They gave us a later checkout on Christmas day and the staff was very helpful.
Location: A bit of a walk from everything but not too bad. There's a movie theater next door.
Nice place with a decent room. Nothing fancy. A bit far from all the stores in Kaikoura.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Nice clean hotel.

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: Location and friendly staff.
Location: Near the sea as well as restaurants and grocery store.
Excellent experience with the staff. Very friendly. Hotel near the sea ask well as downtown. I will recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wellington, NZ

We stayed one night on our way south

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: Nicely located, rooms were spacious
Location: The location was great, walking distance from the CBD, restuarants etc
The accommodation was pleasant enough, we did have a noisy neighbour, I think they were running on a different timezone, aside from that the facilities were of a high standard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom US

Great hotel room configuration for a family.

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Cons: Pleasant staff makes all the difference as our interaction was short and we had prepaid. We were an inconvenience to him when checking in.
Location: Whale watching was AMAZING, nice town and shops
Clean units and suited for our family so each of our kids had their own bed. Staff was a bit rude and curt. We stayed for less than 24 hrs. so can't provide much more detail. Bedrooms were upstairs so need to take all luggage up and also we stayed on the second floor - not sure if there was a lift?? Bathroom with the shower was on main level and bath with a sink (no shower) on second level with bedrooms. Staff who checked us in seemed "bothered" by us. Was probably the least friendly experience we had in all of NZ. Had to walk a distance from hotel in either direction to find a place to eat. Had to drive to the major tourist attractions in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Larafrom Wellington

Perfect!

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
What an amazing place!We only stayed the one night and wished it was more. The views from the room were breathtaking, the room was comfortable and well set up for self catering. The spa bath was huge!!! Overall a very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aucks&Chch

Nice, clean, closest hotel to town/beach

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Had an awesome stay in a garden room it has everything you need straight opposite the beach and closest hotel to town. Would definitely stay there again. So convenient nice balcony to drink on and enjoy the sun.