Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overpriced rooms with construction galore

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: nothing really
Cons: food, condition, better cable finish construction. the lobby is a mess
Location: it is right in the middle of a huge construction zone. avoid at all costs
There is so much construction going on it took 25 minutes to pull out of the parking lot. very cheap rooms to boot. The food was so bad I went back to the room and threw up. Mystery meat for breakfast
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DON'T Believe the pictures!!

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Staff was nice.
Cons: Stop calling it a Clarion.
This is not a Clarion, this is a Best Western, however it was never Best. Rooms were not clean, needed double beds and they are inches apart, not good with a two man crew staying in the same room. The pictures look great, but they might be from another hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Substandard replacement for the Best Western

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: The location is the only thing I can say in a positive way.
Cons: Everything from the room cleanliness to the breakfast area - and everything in-between.
Location: The location is close to freeways and the airport.
Our first night I noticed the pillows were 1/2 the standard size and lumpy. The shower wasn't clean and the soap scum was so slippery my elderly father did not feel safe taking a shower. We found the breakfast area and it looked like the waffle maker had exploded with parts on the table and batter all over the floor. I was glad my children were not with me because of the cleanliness factor. The final day we ate there the cleaning ladies mops and bucket as well as the vacuum were sitting in front of the eggs. I will NEVER stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under construction

Posted May 11, 2015
There should be some warning that the entire hotel is under construction. The hallways smelled of plaster dust, there was no lobby, and the first room I received (non-smoking) reeked of cigarette smoke. I was given a new room by the kind and harried staff which was much better. The breakfast area was completely covered in construction detritus.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John from Indiana

I've got a room, in Kalamazoo!

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Hotels
First of all, the Pro's: For the cost of the room, and it's proximity to where I needed to be in Kalamazoo, I have no complaints. The overall condition of the room was fine. The beds were very comfortable, it was quiet, and the hotel staff were exceptionally friendly. The pool/spa area was likewise well maintained and enjoyable (hey, if the kids are happy it's all good!). The Con's: No mention at time of booking indicated that the hotel is undergoing renovations. The main lobby entrance was non-accessible and temporally relocated to the back of the building. Likewise, the closest interchange for I-94 is also under major construction making traffic in the immediate area a bit of a challenge. There were signs of wear in the room itself, most notably in the bathroom (dust/debris around the edge of the floor and a broken shower curtain rod). The Continental Breakfast left a bit to be desired; for example, one day from 8:15 AM till it closed (at 9:00 AM) there was no sausage gravy and no coffee – and no sign of anyone checking to make sure items were available. All in all, for the cost, it was worth the minor inconveniences.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from irons michigan

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Cons: train the help better that guest come first and make the guest feel welcome
at check in I asked were the pool was and was told the pool was closed and would reopen on Friday the on Friday morning I went for the breakfast and was told it was not out today because of the construction and would be out on sat and on sat just be fore I checked out I went to were the make shift office was to ask if I could use a cart for my luggage as I walk up to the table the girl behind it answered the phone and she and her boss were talking about deposits she took I and another person stood their for at least five min and then the other person told her she was in a russ and didn t want to listen to her and her boss problems and the girl was kind of put out that she interrupted her talk with her boss on the phone but the rest of my stay was a pleasant stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo

Not Informed

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Rooms were basically clean
Cons: Inform customers when major renovations are in process
It would have been nice when I called the hotel about I 94 closure if they would have told me the hotel was under construction. I called to ask if due to construction would be able to come in from Interstate 94 and was told no problem which was not true and then came into a mess, computers down and negative attitude.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Trip to Kazoo a Treat

Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
Once remodeling is complete, the Clarion will be more appealing.Service was helpful by providing directions. Made a side trip to the unique Air Zoo, a museum of vintage aircraft and space age craft.Not far either from Gilmore Car Museum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David from west branch,mi

nice motel

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
clean room comfortable bed,nice pool, breakfast so-so
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lansing, MI

If you like dust this hotel is perfect!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
I stayed for a family memorial to grieve the loss of a young family member. The last thing I wanted to deal with was a dirty hotel and trashy staff. The lady doing breakfast was poorly dressed and wasn't attentive. Another guest had to find the forks under the serving table so we could eat while another guest had to get the sausages from the microwave to serve the hungry guests. I was peeved. For what I spent for my room I should've recieved better service.