Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2014
The hotel has an interesting architecture but ı can not say this for the comfort. For example, the bed was old and was noisy. The room was very cold as the heating system was not efficient. I was also suprised to see that the bathroom curtains was not good enough for privacy and I has to have a shower in dark.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by bryanfrom cuyahoga fals ohio

great historic B&B

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall a nice stay. The parking area is very small and is also used for their dining guests.we brought our ram1500 and there was no spots available that I could get into..I had to back down the drive that spirals up the hill (not fun) The hotel is a great throwback to the early 1900's.great architecture and many beautiful antiques. Our room "the dutch room" was in need of some near paint and touch up..we could see where repairs we done aand the paint clearly didn't match.. I did notice a sign saying pardon our dust while remodeling .repairs and upgrades my be in progress. The Kalamazoo downtown is very close with some great restaurants and brew pubs
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Hollyfrom Michigan

Beautiful B&B, but lacking in comfort.

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Castle was beautiful; lots of historic charm. Our room (the Victorian room) was spacious, clean, and well-stocked, but the bathroom was very tiny (not bad, just a heads up for others). The bar and bartender was quite good. Our complaint was the lack of comfort in our room. The floors are a beautiful green marble, but there are no area rugs so your feet are cold. The mattress was hard and the sheets and blankets were scratchy. There were no bedside table lamps and no alarm clock. The breakfast that was included with the stay was cold cereal, fruit, and some bakery. We stayed there for the historical charm, but the staff, while very nice, did not seem to want to talk about it. I expected more for the cost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Pablofrom MI

Elegant castle

Posted Aug 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful room in castle. Sealed windows: bad. Noisy AC: bad. Great staff and overall experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Eclectic and Historical

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Interesting place if you are looking for something different. We had a lot of fun with the contrasting old and new. Lots of authentic character juxtaposed with the rooftop hot tub and fiber optic lights! Pretty view and staff were very friendly and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JoeBfrom Kalamazoo, MI

Anniversary night

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff is very proud of the history, very considerate and pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
It will be lovely once the restoration is complete.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Suefrom Brooklyn

not the greatest

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
hotel is too run down. It is a bed and breakfast but you have to pay for it! we had no air conditioning and were given a fan, no partial refund, it was so hot and the bed was uncomfortable. there is 0 privacy. People working were friendly. Was not happy with our stay. There are far better places to stay. I will traveling there several times over the next 4 years and will not return to the Henderson Castle
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Could be good

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
I wanted to give Henderson castle a higher rating but cannot. The land and property itself are great. However, the staff ruined the experience. Don't call your property a B&B if you're not going to serve breakfast. No staff on duty in the morning, when I called the number listed for assistance, no one answered. When the caretaker finally decided to wake up, he was extremely rude as if I was bothering him. The roof hot tub offered great views but obviously had not been cleaned in a very long time and the jets don't work. This is generally how the whole hotel is, could be a great place but general lack of repairs, a staff who doesn't care and lack of small comforts makes this a place I cannot recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jimfrom Indiana

Nice place

Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Really enjoyed the hotel. The only downside is at this B&B, the room that we were in was VERY warm. We had the window open all night and was still warm. There is also no shampoo or soaps for showers so come prepared or plan on buying it at the front desk. Nothing was said to us about that upon check in. The staff at check in seemed a little confused. I had made our reservation a month prior to arrival and received a call that we had gotten bumped due to over booking. I complained about that since it was an important weekend to us. They did have a room for us and told us we would be in the Tower Room. When we got the hotel, we got moved to another room, the Uncommon Room. We will probably go back, but was a little disappointed.