Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Eclectic and Historical

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Interesting place if you are looking for something different. We had a lot of fun with the contrasting old and new. Lots of authentic character juxtaposed with the rooftop hot tub and fiber optic lights! Pretty view and staff were very friendly and accommodating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
It will be lovely once the restoration is complete.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sue from Brooklyn

not the greatest

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
hotel is too run down. It is a bed and breakfast but you have to pay for it! we had no air conditioning and were given a fan, no partial refund, it was so hot and the bed was uncomfortable. there is 0 privacy. People working were friendly. Was not happy with our stay. There are far better places to stay. I will traveling there several times over the next 4 years and will not return to the Henderson Castle
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Could be good

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
I wanted to give Henderson castle a higher rating but cannot. The land and property itself are great. However, the staff ruined the experience. Don't call your property a B&B if you're not going to serve breakfast. No staff on duty in the morning, when I called the number listed for assistance, no one answered. When the caretaker finally decided to wake up, he was extremely rude as if I was bothering him. The roof hot tub offered great views but obviously had not been cleaned in a very long time and the jets don't work. This is generally how the whole hotel is, could be a great place but general lack of repairs, a staff who doesn't care and lack of small comforts makes this a place I cannot recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jim from Indiana

Nice place

Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Really enjoyed the hotel. The only downside is at this B&B, the room that we were in was VERY warm. We had the window open all night and was still warm. There is also no shampoo or soaps for showers so come prepared or plan on buying it at the front desk. Nothing was said to us about that upon check in. The staff at check in seemed a little confused. I had made our reservation a month prior to arrival and received a call that we had gotten bumped due to over booking. I complained about that since it was an important weekend to us. They did have a room for us and told us we would be in the Tower Room. When we got the hotel, we got moved to another room, the Uncommon Room. We will probably go back, but was a little disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Venessa from Chicago

New retreat for us

Posted Aug 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved everything except bed in French room not the comfortable. We want to try the Tibetan room next.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Quebec Canada

Great castle however...

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
No alcohol permitted on premises should be indicated before arrival. Hot Tub on roof was way way too hot, well over 120 degress. Sign in waiver has too many rules such as checkin and check out times -- they request advance notice if you wish to check in before 4 p.m., and same thing if you wish to check out before 11 a.m. - - any changes in timings will cost you 25$/hr, what's up with that?? For Breakfast had to pay 13$ - no menu, just a standard plate for all. This is first B&B that I had to pay for our breakfast. We had supper there as well. Super quality however they advertised four 4 course meals for $29.95 - - Pasta/Fish/Chicken or Steak (an extra $9.95 for surf and turf option). When I received the bill my steak meal cost $29.95 + $9.95 for the steak, this means that I paid $29.95 for my entrée of mashed potatoes and asperagus!! Ridiculous, and when I asked for a correction to the bill they did not even offer to reduce price. Overall rating for this B&B is very low because they have turned a wonderful castle into a cash machine with too many rules. Not recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Cheryl from California

Amusing "castle" with friendly service

Posted May 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location and site are great, the castle decor is entertaining and the staff were helpful. The chef was very gracious and accommodating. My only suggestion is that he rethink his breakfast menu and have a simple alternative for those of us who cannot eat high cholesterol, high sugar diets. I'll go back and check!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be a great hotel

Posted May 10, 2013
Pros: Fun decor
Cons: Parts of building under repair, no choice at breakfast
Location: Pretty, historic area
A bit kooky. My room was at once opulent and under repair. The bed was enormous but gave me back ache. Staff very nice but not very professional. At breakfast there was no choice of menu although some of the food was nice. A lovely building run by nice people but not for me. Not comfortable enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by visitor to K-zoo from Michigan

Posted May 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Breakfast was a great treat! Roof top hot tub had a wonderful night view of downtown, but unfortunately, the 4 couples jammed into the hot tub made the experience less enjoyable. (Hot tub had been closed until late, due to a couple's massage booked in the room leading to the roof.) Very easy drive to downtown business area!