Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Fantastic stay

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Everything. Just want we wanted, very personal atmosphere
Location: Right by the water, Restaurants close by
We had a wonderful stay at Sonnekus. The owners cannot be nicer, thank you for changing the flat tire on our rental car. We had a superb dinner in the next town and left SA the next day. Sonnekus made it hard to say goodbye. Great location, beautiful room with a view, tasty breakfast and fantastic hosts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Friendly elegance

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: Friendly helpful hosts. Elegance. Really nice breakfast. Great views. Very comfortable.
Location: We were near the Table mountain park and Cape point, beaches with penguins, Muisenberg beach huts, the Stellenbosch botanical gardens.
We stayed for 2 nights at Sonnekus. We couldn't believe how elegant the room was. It had a high ceiling, polished wooden floors, a lovely comfortable bed and Pam closed the shutters and curtains for us while we were out at dinner. They had thought of everything including an honesty bar in the dining room. We ate breakfast out on the verandah overlooking the sea and Cape point. The only negative was the breakfast power cut but they coped admirably under the circumstances. It was a very special great value place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne Australia

Well situated easy walk to beach and shops

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Old fashioned hospitality. A good base from which to explore the whole Southern Peninsula .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pretoria, RSA

Lovely!

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Location was perfectly situated between Cape Town city and Cape Point and Simons Town. It was perfect for our Holiday! The ocean and mountains are all part of the beautiful view, with the beach just across the street. Pat and all of the staff went above and beyond! Breakfast was delicious! Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fint hotell med ett fantastiskt bemötande

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Rekommenderas! Ett mycket bra boende, trevlig och väldigt tillmötesgående och serviceinriktad personal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Amy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom brandon, wi

Wonderful rooms

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Rooms very comfortable as I stayed in multiple ones. Staff is awesome and very friendly.
Cons: nothing I can think of
Location: Guesthouse is 200 meters from the train station that will bring you all the way to simons town and cape town with multiple stops in between.
Great staff, great rooms, great location, great prices
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Matthiasfrom Wiesbaden

So gut, dass wir dreimal im Urlaub dort waren.

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Das Hotel liegt direkt am Meer, nur von einer Straße getrennt, die überhaupt nnicht störend ist. Die Wirte sind extrem zuvorkommend und nett, das Frühstück umfangreich. Die Zimmer sind alle unterschiedlich eingerichtet, sehr sauber. Immer wieder in den Sonnekus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Matthiasfrom Wiesbaden

good we went there twiceduring one holiday!

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved our stay at this classic-styled guest house. The best feature is the location, right next to the ocean! The house was immaculate, service impecable, and comfort relaxing. Internet is not strong through the entire house. Breakfast is outstandingly good and delicious with a variety of cheeses and cold cut meats. Those taking care of you at this location are beyong friendly and always ready to go the exra mile for their guests. Sonnekus is essential to a Cape visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Melissafrom Portland

Prime spot next to the beach and great service

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed here for nearly a month and it was perfect. Pat and family were friendly and helpful, always ensuring that I had a full, giant breakfast and pot of tea. They were always there for my basic needs, like restaurant recommendations and laundry, and even helped with some of my more random requests, like when I needed to order a computer mouse online. The guesthouse is beautiful, my room was very comfortable and clean, and the location can't be beat if you're looking for a relaxing spot next to the beach. Nearby Muizenburg is great for surfing and Kalk Bay is within walking distance and has some great restaurants. Will definitely return someday - many thanks to the family!