Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to turn off your brain

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Stayed for one night with a party of four. Ordered the Secret Open Air Onsen (private hot springs) for about $40 USD. Could not reserve the spa, even though we asked several months in advance. Pros - Friendly staff. - Free 30 minute shuttle bus to/from Kameoka station. - Delicious food (Bento Box and Tempura). - Relaxing atmosphere. - Room reasonably comfortable as it can get with futons on the floor. Cons - Food expensive. No other options for food in area. - Nothing in the area, although you are best spending the whole day in the ryokan relaxing. - Secret Open Air Onsen was a little dirty and had more bugs than I would have expected. A significant part of your time-limited paid experience will be spent trying to find it. - If they removed the television from the room, it would have made things significantly more authentic feeling. Overall pleasant, relaxing experience. It was very much needed after 6 days of exploring Tokyo on foot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional Japanese-style Ryokan

Posted Apr 14, 2015
A must stay for the full Japanese experience. Wish I had time to stay longer, and will definitely book again. Beautiful traditional-style rooms and hot spring. Great service with authentic feel. Only negative is somewhat far from the city, but the hotel provides a shuttle back to the train station after checkout.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Phooi Leng

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Beautiful and peaceful place.

Posted Apr 5, 2015
It was one of my best experience in Japan. Staffs make you feel very welcome and couldn't do anymore to please me. I stayed 2 nights, they made sure I had a different diner and breakfast each time. I highly recommend it. They put attention to each details, up to the moment the bus leaves to the station. What a great Japanese experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Nice traditional / Ryokan Japan style hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Nice traditional / Ryokan Japan style hotel. Nice Staff, very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by TSZ WAI from HKG

好正既溫泉之旅

Posted Apr 2, 2015 on Hotels
服務態度十分好! 晚餐好正!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quite Little Spa Feeling

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
I think this Ryokan is great if you are into the experience. My partner and I were not extremely into the traditional Japanese courses and the dining area was too cold for me. Everything else was flawless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

onsen

Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
Tres bon sejour. chambre spacieuse. Personnel tres agreable et souriant. Premiere experience de l onsen : vraiment a vivre !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 24, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeffrey from Malaysia

Wonderful ryokan

Posted Dec 6, 2014 on Hotels
We were very impressed with the pictures on the website and the Sumiya exceeded out expectations. Staff were warm and welcoming, the decor was elegant and rooms were especially spacious. Breakfast and dinner rocked! We enjoyed the the public onsen with outdoor tubs and the toiletries were scrumptious. We also booked the private onsen which was wonderful. We stayed here in between Kyoto, visiting Arashiyama en route to Nara. Of all the Ryokans we've been to on our Japan excursions thus far, this was the most comfortable and elegant so much so we didn't want to leave.