Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rick from Gainesville, Florida

Outstanding Experience

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
What can you say other than a great location with an unimpeded view of the Rhine River. Beds in room were exceptionally comfortable. Restaurant chef has won awards for his culinary skills. I highly recommend this hotel for those looking to experience ambiance of a small family owned hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daniel from Algonquin, IL

Cozy hotel - no elevator.

Posted Jul 18, 2013
Pros: Charming.
Location: The area is beautiful. Plenty to see and do around.
Nice, cozy hotel. Rooms overlook the river. Good size rooms. Squeaky stairs going up and no elevator. The breakfast staff didn't speak any English and didn't seem very happy that we didn't speak German. Good breakfast though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

anker hotel

Posted Jun 18, 2013
Pros: location and the food for dinner, breakfast not so good.
this is more of a hostel than a hotel. It was a convenient stop on our road trip. The restaurant food is very good and I would eat here again but I would stay somewhere else. Rooms are clean but small, stairs are steep and narrow with large bags making the climb up and down difficult. lights in the stairs are on a timer and turn off before you transit the area. There is no desk or signage to check in, we had to go and look for someone. For the price it was OK, but I would have preferred to have been somewhere else
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tommy

Great location

Posted May 4, 2013
No one really spoke English but it was a great location in a cute little town. Free parking across the street and free breakfast. Restaurant was nice but a little pricey. Would definitely come back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver,WA

A night in the country

Posted Oct 15, 2011 on Hotels.com
We were interested in a hotel near Koblenz. This place is advertised as about 9 miles from Koblenz but beware... when we arrived in Koblenz by train, the Koblenz taxi's quoted us 50 Euros to get there (they say it's 30K) Don't know what the actual distance from town is but it is 6 stops on the train we took to a (Kamp Bornhofen) station that has been closed for years! There is literally NOTHING to greet or direct you from the train platform to the hotel when you get off the train...hope to be rescued as we were by locals. There is also NOTHING in the town to do so don't go there unless you have a car to get you out to things of greater interest. The rooms are clean but no elevator up to the third floor. We were assigned a third floor "condo" complete with kitchen and living room (which we didn't need or use overnight) and balcony, overlooking the corrugated metal roofs and trash bins of the neighbors. The restaurant was only OK and sitting on the sidewalk next to the highway to have a view of the Rhine while you drink a beer isn't our idea of festive. With a car and a plan to go elsewhere this is an adequate (if boring and hard to get to) place but it is no 4 STAR.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Perth Western Australia

A perfect place to stay

Posted Jun 20, 2011
What a lovely out of the way place. You get all the perks without the crowds. Its a easy short walk from the station. Then you have the quaint hotel, right on the water. Its been in the family for 400 years, 19 generations!. The owners were warm friendly people and as the owner was also the chef and a darn good one at that, the food was fantastic. The breaky perfect, sitting overlooking the boats going up and down the river. If you want a break from the usual tourist haunts yet with a few tourists perks then this is the place to go. Definately will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robi from Austin, TX

Loved our stay!

Posted Nov 3, 2010
We had a wonderful experience. The service was good and the food was simply great. Breakfast was sumptuous, the eggs/breads were so fresh. For dinner we tried the Lamb Shank, the Trout and the Salmon with the saffron sauce, all of them were delicious! Parking was also very convenient, it was right accross from the hotel and it was free. Location was great too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from somerset, uk

good hotel with character

Posted Sep 13, 2010
A hotel with good location for trips up and down the rhine. Breakfast was good. Plenty of choice, welll presented. Dinner was very good, but dont expect a window seat unless you have booked half board! Rhine view is lovely.