Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Key West

Decent place, your safe here

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: It had a very nice view of Lake Victoria
Cons: The staff doesn't seem to understand that this is a hotel and the guest is paying a fee to stay
Location: the hotel says it is 16 miles from the airport, i don't know the exact distance but it is over a one hour drive through terrible traffic to get there.
European and Western travelers have a level of expectation based upon cost and personnel history. This hotel was adequate for the stay but was nothing I would stay at on purpose again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location spoiled by poor transportation

Posted Feb 8, 2014
the hotel location is beautiful, the hotel rooms are good and interesting the service was excellent, but the lack of availability of Transportation tax or hotels transport service was non-existent or very poor. The remote location from the city centre makes this all the more difficult for the individual guest. the hotel reception does not accept any credit cards or credit instruments although the reservation is guaranteed by a credit card misleading the guest into thinking that he can use credit cards. The non availability of an ATM requires a guest to go downtown at some distance to pick up money to pay the hotel bill. The lack of transportation to get them down to the ATM makes this challenging. Catch 22
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Recent visitor from Caribbean

Friendly and helpful staff

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff at the New Madagascar Hotel were very friendly and helpful, especially Maureen, who seemed to be manager, receptionist, waitress , you name it. She ensured that all my needs were taken care of, including my transportation to the craft markets in Kampala. The hotel sits on top of a hill with a beautiful view but the area leading to it is not conducive to walking about, as I usually do when I visit a new country. It is not very close to the city and transportation by taxi is expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kev from UK

Beautiful Views; free from African hustle & bustle

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: Best thing was the views down Buziga Hill to Lake Victoria in the distance. Second best was the tranquility of the location, third the friendliness.
Cons: Although all the staff were very friendly & helpful, they were hardly ever about. It was like the Marie Celeste! Very limited menu & meal service.
Location: There's not much going on nearby this hotel! This hotel is for you to recover in peace from a long plane journey or a hectic safari experience.
I stayed in this hotel with my partner for 2 nights at the start of September 2013. It is about 40 miles from Entebbe Airport and the taxi fare from the Airport was $US40 in an Airport-booked taxi. It's a medium-priced hotel. I am very positive about this hotel because of its views and tranquility. If you want a break from the hustle & bustle of African life and to spend a few days chilling out then this is the hotel for you. If you want activity & service then I suggest you try elsewhere. The rooms are small but tasteful & well-maintained. Hot water & shower was effective. Best thing was large balcony complete with table and 2 chairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, but expensive for what it offers

Posted Jul 23, 2013
The food was expensive, and there ir no cable in the room's tv. The hotel personnel it's very kind. The localization it's a little far form Kampala's downtown but the area is nice and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Journey

A great surprise

Posted Nov 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
W arrived at night so it was hard to see the hotel as we arrived. Being in a new country for the first time I was a bit scared. As I awoke the next morning, I was pleasantly surprised! The view was amazing, the food was great, the service was awesome, the water was hot, the coffee and tea were fantastic!!! The only downfall I can say is that they have a mosque not too far from the hotel and their morning and evening prayer is very loud over the speakers they use...not the hotels fault, but it was a little annoying.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from London, UK

Pretty Kampala hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2012
Pros: Small, unusual
Cons: Power blackout, not hotel's fault
Location: Tucked away on the side of a hill, signposted but a bit hard to find
Quirky hotel on hillside in kampala, lovely views and very pretty garden where we had breakfast on patio. We were only there one night and unfortunately thunderstorm knocked out electricity supply to that area but would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Heidi

disapointing

Posted Nov 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
The service was very slow.the first night we waited 3 hours for our meal.the beer I ordered was warm when I asked for cold,it had to go in the freezer for 15 minuets.the second night was the same.on the last morning I entered for breakfast to be met with a sigh from the waitress!! She made me feel like it was an effort to serve me. The food bill had mistakes ... adding up incorrectly,twice. I found the hut to be poky and dark the bathroom floods when showering. Generally disapionted.