Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shame about the WIFI

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Nice comfortable hotel hidden up a dirt track 15 minutes by Boda from the centre. Great pool. Good food. Some staff really helpful and kind. Others sleepy and uncaring. WIFI just did not work. If it did, I would probably go back.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Should be ranked as a 2 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great Value for Money. Very kind staff

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed at City Royal Resort Hotel for two nights in March. It is closer to a budget hotel than a luxury chain. But if your expectations are right, you should be very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is outside of the central district, but it is right across the street from a brand new, and upscale shopping mall that also has a Nakumatt, which can be useful if you need small things. The mall also has a bar and several restaurant - of which the Indian restaurant was particularly good, even if it was set in a food court-like situation. The rooms were a bit ill constructed, as has been my typical experience in Africa. Water pressure is light and there was no shower curtain in my room. But given the rates they charge, I was generally pleased. The room was mosquito free. To top it off, I stayed with City Royal over my birthday (and very far from home and family), and the staff very unexpectedly brought me a cake and sang me happy birthday! There was no way to eat it all on my room so I brought it down to reception and it was gratefully received.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MBartonfrom Utah, USA

For the money its a good deal

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I am a USA physician, I am a platinum member of Delta Airlines. I fly a lot and all over the world. I stay at a lot of hotels monthly. Compared to USA hotels, this hotel, like most Uganda hotels are substandard but compared to other hotels in Uganda this one is about the average. Average, meaning, the hotel needs fixing up, things dont work that should work, etc.. If you choose to stay here then know that there is no gym, there is no microwave, there is a fridge, the internet works good and is reliable, there is a complimentary small buffet breakfast, the swimming pool is ok but is open to the public, I stayed on the side opposite the pool because they do have parties by the pool that is noisy at night. The beds are hard, almost as hard at the floor. Room service is slow and the food is average. Also, this hotel is used by the locals mostly, if you are white like I am you will be one of only a few there, not many whites stay here, I also add that, although I got a lot of staring at me no one was rude to me concerning my color or race. I paid $150 per day for the best room, I thought it was worth the money. I would stay here again. I fact I have stayed here four times now. However, I don't think I will stay here anymore because I want a gym and a softer bed
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rüthemannfrom Hude

Vorhänge und Gardinen sind schlecht befestigt.

Posted Mar 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Die 9 Nächte waren zufriedenstellend. Der Service war gut. Das Frühstück ebenfalls. Der Teppich müsste mal ausgetauscht werden wegen der vielen Schmutzflecken. Der Preis steht nicht im Verhältnis zur Qualität des Zimmers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cedricfrom canada

Good location, good food

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Great location as it was close to the centre of the city yet far enought that it wasn't noisy around the place. Wish the pool was cleaner. Great Italian place within 5 minutes of the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MBartonfrom America

Better than I expected.

Posted Feb 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The patron review was just above a 3 so I wasn't expecting a good hotel but to my surprise it was one of the best hotels I been to in all Africa. The pool was nice, the room service was nice, the room was very large and reasonable priced. No mosquitos in the room. Two drawbacks were, they didn't have a key for my room so I had to wait while they made me one and that took a whole day, also, there is no elevator so you have to do stairs and that is no fun if you are on the top floor. I would and probably will stay here again soon. PS. the breakfast was a buffet and it was ok, not great but not bad. There was a safe in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

totally not recommendable with this high room rate

Posted Nov 27, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
by lars brunngrenfrom ok

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotellet låg för långt från stan, annars ett bra och trevligt hotell.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Frendly service......

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
A fair hotel at a good price....... locally, but some may consider it expensive. Breakfast poor at best. Restaurant OK.