Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simone from Melbourne, Vic

A good Hotel with the facilities we needed

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: The Staff, the Restaurant and location.
Cons: The bed was quite hard. Not so hard would have been more comfy.
Location: Central to the main street, lovely outlook to the beach and handy by road to many of the main attractions around the Island.
We had never been to Kangaroo Island before and chose this Hotel because of its central location and facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kenny from Lakeside, CA

An OK Hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: Easy access facilities in the village.
Location: There are a few walks close by, and access to a handful of eating places.
It is important to know a bit about Kangaroo Island (KI). There are no taxis, few restaurants, and limited facilities generally. Kingscote is a small village at one end of KI. This hotel is the biggest in Kingscote, and provides easy walking access to the 4 or 5 other eating places in the town. From there, connections can be made to other places on KI (it is not a small island). The staff of the hotel are welcoming (we were well looked after by Ashley). The rooms are large and relatively modern. The restaurant has a reasonably large menu, but we found that we had to choose carefully to obtain decent food. The major tourist sites were some distance from the hotel, and therefore a tour (or something similar) is essential (we found the small tours perfect for us). Of the options available, we found this hotel adequate, and for us a reasonable choice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by K&B from Toronto, Ontario

Beautiful stay on Kangaroo Island - hotel average

Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the Aurora for 3 days during our honeymoon in Australia. The hotel is nicely located (close to all amenities) and the main street - but be warned, it's a very quiet town! The island as a whole is very relaxed. We stayed in an executive room with seaview - it was wonderful. Reception at the hotel was ok but not that great - basic welcome without any offer to help with recommendations on what to do on the island or help with bookings - that was disappointing especially since we stayed at a number of hotels in Australia where staff was very helpful! Our room was clean - but they forgot to clean in one day - not the end of the world but still... There aren't that many places to eat in town, the hotel restaurant was good, food was tasty but they gave away our reservation on our last night - we were on time and yet... no explanation or apology, which was quite disappointing. As an FYI, we compared notes with other tourists who also stayed on the island and this seems to be a common issue with most of the hotels - something that needs to be improved upon if the goal is for tourism to become a more important industry on the island.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dennis from Adelaide

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: Position and room excellent. Room cleanliness excellent.
Cons: Customer service in the dining/bar area.
Location: Fishing, touring various local attractions.
Position and room excellent. Room cleanliness excellent. Dining area waiting staff excellent. Dining area management poor. Rang to have 'in room' advertised breakfast package delivered as was indicated and was told just to come and pick them up, seems that the 'happily deliver to room' comment was false. Bar staff seemed distracted and unsure and were inflexible even though we were hotels patrons.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Restaurant

Posted Jan 7, 2014
The food was very expensive and bland! We had a special curry for $38! It was tasteless. Breakfast was no better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kj from Belmont

No service for 5 nights

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Kangaroo island is amazing. Kings cote very nice. We had a 1 bedroom apartment with kitchen, no laundry,and no service for 5 nights . No plastic bags to change the bin 4 bathroom towels and the floor very dirty. Had to leave shoes on even the bathroom floor not clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Go in the new building

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
There is a big difference between the apartments on the new building that are fantastic and the room in the old one that are so
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Coyander from AH

Impressed!

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were impressed with the Ozone. School holiday rates for longer stays (2+ nights 20% off) made it cheaper than any equivalent and most lesser accommodation across the whole island (cheaper than a 3* caravan park cabin). We were upgraded to an ocean view room in the new part of the hotel, which was great. Customer service level ranged from average to excellent, but I guess it depends if certain staff are having a good day. The young lady of African appearance was brilliant. The restaurant menu is a bit expensive, but we found joy with the KI Fresh Seafood and Yellow Ash & Chilli restaurants which were within walking distance. In fact, everything is within walking distance from the Ozone. We will stay there again and tell our friends in the meantime.