Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SIA & family from EC

Nice hotel near National Park

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Cosy environment n friendly staff and good dinner menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michelle

Restaurant/Location

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: the location
Location: National Park
Lovely fresh food and excellent staff. The reception staff are also very helpful and friendly.We saw a koala outside the restaurant just walking around - a unique experience.A centrally located very pleasant place to stay - close to all!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice restaurant!

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Restaurant is 5-star, accom is 3.5 stars, and customer service is 5-star. Quiet spot, close to national park. Hotel architecture looks good, designed to fit in with the bush surroundings. Courtyard suites are pretty basic, equivalent to a motel room. Only about six television channels, some of them Foxtel. Free Wi-Fi available from common area only. Staff were exceptionally welcoming. The restaurant staff were impeccable. The restaurant is the only decent eatery for miles. You can wear your thongs and t-shirt, but it really is a top of range dining, offering high-quality produce (mains about $30). (Try the KI Honey Cheesecake - it's amazing!!!)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jan from Vancouver BC

Great location to see western KI

Posted Dec 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Perfect for seeing wildlife in Flinders range park. Great location, clean and pretty nice accomodations considering the remoteness. Super friendly staff. Don't expect to see animals in front of your room during the day, but if you make the effort, the surrounding forest is teeming with life. One thing we learned, they have a great little bbq area on site and they willingly provide all the utensils and plates, etc that you need. But you have to bring your meat and food as there are no stores at all past kingscote which is an hour drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jenny from Wollongong, Australia

Nice retreat close to a national park

Posted Dec 5, 2013
Pros: Nice bush outlook with a fantastic restaurant
Cons: some bowls, plates and cutlery would be good
Location: Flinders Chase national park including Remarkable Rocks and Admirals Arch
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nanc from Manchester, NH USA

Close to Flinders Chase National Park

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: It was close to Flinders Chase National Park. It had gas pumps. Gas stations in this area are scarce.
Cons: We couldn't get WiFi to work.
Location: Far from any towns but close to the national park which had lots of hiking opportunities.
We chose the least expensive room which was adequate for us. Rooms were located along both sides of a huge almost empty space. This space had only couches. It was not particularly inviting and we never saw anyone there. Dinner was expensive but there was no option unless you brought your own. Breakfast was also expensive. We brought our own. We were told about trails we could walk on but the one we took led to a campsite where people had left trash in the fire pit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by stephanie from USA

eco friendly wilderness stay

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a hotel at the far southwest of Kangaroo Island, away from the towns and very near the national park. It is just off the main south road. It is a great base for exploring the park (including Admiral's Arch and the Remarkable Rocks, also koala viewing. The hotel has a gourmet restaurant featuring locavore foods, and comfortable,simple rooms. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. When our room kettle didn't work, we were immediately brought a new one! One can also see some wildlife roaming thru the main courtyard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by GH

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect location but expected more

Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed here primarily for its location relative to Flinders Chase National Park. For this, it was perfect. The park's Information Centre is a 5 minute drive from the hotel, which was perfect for early morning wildlife viewing etc. The rooms were small but cozy (a little loud -- you can hear your neighbours easily), they are very environmentally conscious (they only use rainwater), and the staff catered well to our requests. Unfortunately there wasn't any wildlife in their courtyard while we were there. The dinners were quite sub-par, unfortunately, especially for the high prices ($32 for a main meal). Our room smelled like cologne, which was off-putting especially for a "retreat". I wish I could love KIWR, but there were just too many quirks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great stop on Kangaroo Island

Posted Apr 6, 2013
Great location. Relaxing nature environment. Dinner at the restaurant was very good - a very pleasant surprise.