Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

Good hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: The staff is friendly and helpful. Their 816 coffee is wonderfully robust without being bitter. And its free all day.
Cons: For the money, I thought it was a good value. I can't think of anything I didn't like.
Location: It's in Westport, and there are lots of restuarants and bars within walking distance. Its also an easy drive to Crown Center.
I stayed at this hotel for five days, and liked the character of old Kansas City it brings to a modern hotel. The staff is friendly and accommodating, the free breakfast is great, with fresh fruit and an omelet made to your order. The evening managers cocktail hour is nice as well. I walked a block to a great restuarant down the street. There are many others within walking distance as well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a different experience than your typical mid-priced chain hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Nice 816 Hotel #KCexperience

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Free breakfast, great staff and reasonably price rooms!
Cons: Hotel parking!
Location: Great location for shopping, restaurants and places to hang out!
First time staying at this hotel. I would like to experience another 816 Hotel #KCexperience in a different location to compare!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Duluth, MN

Posted Apr 6, 2015
It was a comfortable and friendly stay. Perfect location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Great staff but rooms average,first room horrible moved us to a good room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom KC Native

Very cool KC experience

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Staff and decorations!
Cons: Make sure every room has a minifridge!
Location: Westport is within walking distance; close to anything in downtown KC
Themed room really give you the KC experience. Regular rooms were very nice, with great amenities and very clean. The hotel is walking distance from westport, so worth the extra couple bucks you'd spend on a taxi staying anywhere else. My only complaint was the the lack of mini-fridge in my room-- I'm sure I would have been provided one if I asked, though! The staff was very friendly, helpful, and professional!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wichita

Nice stop for girls weekend

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Pleasant staff when checking in
Cons: Bathroom lighting
Location: Westport
First time staying at 816 hotel, nice and clean and the hotel staff when checking in was wonderful. Very pleasant and helpful! The room was great outside of the horrible lighting in the bathroom:( We did take the Hotel shuttle which was great but they never came back to pick us up to take us back to the hotel at the end of the night- and then when we called, argued with us about whether or not the driver showed up. That wasn't fun:( Other than that would totally stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Tired facility but good value

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Treadmill in room. Location and price good.
Cons: update carpet, bathrooms ,etc.
Location: Many bars, restaurants within blocks and within walking distance of the Plaza with more restaurants and stores.
I had a "business king" which surprisingly enough came with a treadmill in the room. I was surprised but it sure came in handy. Place is definitely old and needs updating but given price and location I was happy. I thought, contrary to some other reviewers, that the breakfast was fine: cereal, bread products,omlette stand. They had a reception on Thursday night with appetizers that were good and could have been dinner. I used "Orderin" for order out one night (menu is in room). Pizza was good although I'd recommend Minsky's instead (they also deliver). I did not have trouble parking but I was in by 7 every night. If you want to rent a car I recommend Enterpise on Main street. They will pick you up and take you back. Price way better than renting at airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in Westport!

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: The windows in my room were very thin and noisy; and, they did not lock.
Location: There are lots of great restaurants, shops, and bars.
The hotel was a little dated, but overall nice. The staff were very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great weekend getaway

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Shuttle and happy hour
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Boulevard Brewery tour Julep's
My husband and I stayed here with another couple for a weekend getaway. We had a great time! We started with happy hour at the bar (5-7 p.m.), then took the hotel shuttle, which is essentially a free cab service, to the Plaza for dinner. No worries about drinking and driving! The next morning we tried the complimentary breakfast bar...it left a lot to be desired, but there was a fantastic French bakery across the street that we tried the next morning. Afterward the hotel shuttle dropped us off at Boulevard Brewery facility for a tour, but we got stranded there, as the hotel cancelled shuttle service owing to snow. That was a tad annoying, but we took a cab back for less than $10. Overall we had a great stay. Would definitely recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom A

Close to everything.

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Great location and very friendly staff. Yummy breakfast.