Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester

2 Night Stay October 2014

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Quiet location in southern part of city. Friendly welcome.
Cons: Room had a microfridge that was so noisy; just had to be unplugged at night if you wanted to get any sleep. Breakfast finished at 9.30. Needs to be 10
Location: Did not stay around; did not seem much choice of places to eat nearby.
Comfortable but quirky room with penguin wallpaper and theme. Room was quiet with no street noise or sounds from other rooms. Requested additional chair and this was provided. Good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff!

Posted Oct 26, 2014
We got a good deal on the hotel and were so glad we found this gem! It's close to everything but not too close. There's a free shuttle to anywhere within 4 miles which is great if you hate trying to drive in traffic. The staff made sure to go out of their way to make you feel welcome and always had suggestions on where to go. Plus you get 2 free drinks during happy hour. Will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

In the middle of everything

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Free happy hour EVERY night from 5 - 7 with TJ the bartender, the shuttle, cookies at the desk, location on Westport, free parking, free wi-fi.
Location: Westport Road is full of things to do and many people. The bar scene is a 10 minute walk to at least 10 bars.
Our first visit to KC and we had a wonderful time. Most of it due to the location and staff of 816. Our room was a little rough around the edges (toilet paper holder fell off the wall, our last day/night there our room was not cleaned etc...) but for the most part because of all the other great things about this hotel, we were able to overlook the small inconveniences.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Great location, clean rooms, only complaint is the water pressure.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, Colorado

Close to downtown but not very nice

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Our bathtub was very dirty and had a slow drain. Expected a lot better for what we paid. Front desk employees were very nice and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

Older hotel still needs work

Posted Oct 2, 2014
The hotel is better from the outside than the inside. Our room (#120) needed remodeling and an update in decor. The shower/tub was so worn that the bottom of it had turned into two distinct colors. There was no stopper in the sink and the furniture was hopelessly outdated. Additionally, the bed was very squeaky and not particularly comfortable. On a positive note, the hotel staff was friendly and helpful and the room was clean. If they would put some money into this hotel, they could upgrade very quickly. One other thing...avoid staying on the first floor. The hotel bar is close to you and very noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis, MO

Posted Sep 29, 2014
The hotel staff were very helpful and efficient. My room was spacious and clean. The breakfast was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City

Not just a hotel...

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Happy hour, other guests, elevator rides, cookies
Cons: The omelet bar took forever but it was delicious
Location: BARS BARS BARS. Seriously, two blocks from some of the best bars and restaurants in KC.
This was not just a hotel, it was a community. We felt right at home at 816 and had the best experience. We especially enjoyed the happy hour. Two free drinks for everyone staying there and the bartender TJ was amazing! There was also tank 7 on tap and if you know anything about tank 7, you know getting two free ones is the closest thing to heaven. We loved meeting other guests, socializing and the staff took great care of us. Our room was clean and the location couldn't be better. Being able to walk to dinner and all of the Westport bars was perfection. If you're looking to have a good time in KC, stay here, and don't forget to snag a free cookie at the front desk. This hotel is not basic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Nice little hotel with great service

Posted Sep 17, 2014
The hotel was located in a nice little area. Facilities were good. Clean and cozy. The staff was amazing! Expedia incorrectly booked my stay for a month earlier, but they were able to quickly reserve a room for me on the spot! The free breakfast was better than I expected. It included free omelet and pancake machine that made pretty good pancakes along with standard toast, yogurt, cereal, coffee, etc. I would definitely recommend a friend to stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Great staff/service.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: free drinks at night and the omelette for breakfast
Cons: faster elevators
Location: great lcoation...lots to do in Westport...and shuttle if you need to go downtown
I read on trip advisor about excellent service the employees deliver and I am happy to say they lived up to the billing. Not every single person but most went above and beyond and made my stay very pleasant. Two thumbs up