Ratings based on 369 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So bad we couldn't stay there!!!

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: The desk clerk was helpful and did his best with a terrible situation.
Cons: Cleanliness, room maintenance
This hotel was so bad we had to leave and get a refund. Having worked at a hotel in high school and college, I can't believe this hotel has any good reviews. Driving up to the hotel, it looked decent. Upon entering the lobby, there was one customer already getting a different room because of the problems with the one they had been given and another on the phone calling around to find somewhere else to stay. We had booked 2 rooms with 2 double beds. In the first room we were assigned to, one bed had no sheets or blankets (they were piled on the floor in front of the bed) and the headboard was ripped off the wall and lying on the mattress. The other room had trash in the trash can, no handle on the shower so you couldn't even turn it on, and one of the beds had been laid on. When we tried to change rooms we were told the only other choice was one single room. The desk clerk was very friendly, refunded our payment, and helped us book another room at a different hotel chain but it was 40 miles out of our way. While we were getting that figured out, another guest came down with an armful of dirty towels and asked to speak to the manager. So, we had to travel 40 more miles after an already long trip with two children and a handicapped adult. This hotel is UNACCEPTABLE!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Stay at true economy motel

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Guess this is what I should expect from an economy hotel. My grand daughter said it perfectly, "What did you expect for $_______." Goes back to you get whwt you pay for.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

A dive.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: not much
Cons: just about everything. a real dive.
Poor customer service. No housekeeping 3 days in a row. Had to call for new towels. 2 hours later they arrived. Second day no towels had to pick up in lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, NE

Good clean hotel for the price!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
The lobby area is very nice, and the outside is pretty well kept. Overall, the place gives of a clean middle class vibe. The room was nice and the bed was comfy.... there was no trash can and no conditioner (only shampoo) in the shower. There was some wall paper or something peeling on the ceiling, but other than that the room was clean and well taken care of. The pool was nice, but because it was outdoors there were some leaves in it and quite a few bugs on the surface.... The water it self was clean, so I got in a little bit but didn't want to stay in because every time I got out there would be a dead fly sticking to me... which is not my favorite. The breakfast was good, though it closes at 9am. The staff were friendly and easy to work with. All in all, I think if you're going to KC and don't want to spend a lot, this is a good hotel. It's not dirty, doesn't smell bad, and has some possibilities for fun. (:
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's not what it looks like in the pictures,

Posted Jun 18, 2014
The rooms are very outdated as is the hotels exterior, it looks completely different from the advertised pictures
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Teresa from Atlanta Ga.

Basic needs met

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: The staff was polite friendly and accommodating. lobby was bright and clean.
Cons: A bit of refurbishing would go a long way.
Location: location was perfect for my needs.
The rooms need some work, the first room I entered had a strong tobacco smell. The second room had water stains on sealing and smoke detector was loose and chirping. The housekeeper did an excellent job. Hotel met the basic needs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

LIkely under poor management

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Cons: Severe lack of maintenance. Suspect staff are apathetic due to lack of management/accountability. Some staff were friendly and seemed to care.
Room was okay for the price. Didn't expect much. However, it was obvious the room hadn't been cleaned because the desk had crumbs on it and one of the bed headboards had clipped fingernails intact :->. Tub drain was almost completely clogged (filled up during shower). Toilet needed flapper replaced (kept filling with more water every 15 seconds). A/C noise was barely tolerable (not just loud, but noises that were only helped by applying pressure to the cover). I'm not picking by any means, but all things added up led to a bad experience for the family. Could have been worse though :->.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Its okay

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Other guests complained of kicked in broken door locks and no lights in rooms. Mine lacked lighting as well. Nice pool. B-fast could be more than cereal and muffins.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by maryl from overland park ks

Too tired to drive one hr homeg

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Good,clean. Pool is depressing. Need to cover it or use it. That was a big turn off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by donald rumsfeld from bucktown

American inn hotel Overland Park KS

Posted Jun 9, 2014
I just spent the night. My bar is really high as far as what's considered a ghetto neighborhood compared to what people have told me so from a brooklynites prospective it wasn't bad