Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1.7 out of 5
9% of guests recommend
1.8 Room cleanliness
1.9 Service & staff
1.9 Room comfort
1.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom omaha,NE

Not a good hotel/motel

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Not a very good experience. Bunch of sketchy things. Service took 30 minutes. TV did not work. Wifi was slow, on and off.
1 out of 5
by Janetfrom Nebraska

A bad choice

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pulled up to the front of the Capital Center Inn, and while it wasn't the greatest, it didn't look too bad. We were just looking for a clean bed for the night. Much to our surprise, the clerk said our reservation was actually in the hotel in the back...The A-1 Motel. Very sketchy, whole place smelled like smoke, sheets seemed pretty clean, but nothing else was. Dead cockroach in the bathroom. Very sorry I put my family through that! Will never stay there again nor recommend it to anyone else.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible, scary experience!!!!

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Nothing. Hotel in a very bad part of town. Police were constantly patrolling the area.
I wasn't allow to stay at the Capital Center Inn. I was told to go to a Hotel behind the Capital Center Inn name A1 Hotel. Need I say more.....
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dont go here

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Very old, smelly, almost falling apart. Rooms stink some awful chemicals and the hotel itself is more like a cheap motel. Did not feel safe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jayfrom Branson,MO

Nice affordable hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Very nice staff! Nice place for kansas speedway fans to get an affordable hotel close to interstate for great access to and from track!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Springfield, MO

Won't be back

Posted Nov 13, 2009
This motel needs a major overhaul! The mattresses were worn out. The pillows almost nonexistent. The TV channels available very limited. The carpet didn't need cleaning, it needed to be replaced. The toilet seat was cracked. I shouldn't have to report that kind of damage unless it happened while i was there, in my opinion. We were told there would be a continental breakfast. A couple of bagels, no butter or any other kinds of toppings. We had to go out for breakfast. I will say that the men at the desk were friendly and pleasant to deal with. However, I think that if I had to return I'd try the Motel 6 across the street.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Place To Stay

Posted Oct 21, 2008 on Hotels.com
We chose this hotel since it was close to the American Idol tryouts. This was the worst hotel I have every stayed in, there was no a/c in the hallways or the lobby. The carpets were terribly stained and smelt. The restuarnat and bar shown in the pictures was not operational. The a/c also broke in our room and we had no towels in the room. Also this was weird but the lightbulbs were red instead of white in the room. We felt very unsafe in the room. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CRESTON, IA

TERRIBLE!!!!

Posted Oct 1, 2008
THIS STARTED OFF AT CHECK IN---THEY DID NOT EVEN THINK THEY HAD A ROOM FOR US.....WHEN THEY FINALLY DID FIND US A ROOM 1/2 AN HOUR LATER...IT WAS CLEAR ON THE BOTTOM AT THE END OF THE HALL...YOU COULD SMELL THE FILTH WHEN YOU WALKED IN...FLOOR & EVERYTHING WAS DIRTY....WE STAYED AS WE HAD NO CHOICE BUT LEFT EARLY AM....WE SHOULD GET A FREE NIGHTS STAY ANYWHERE BUT AT A DAY'S END...THIS IS THE SECOND ONE IN A MONTH THAT HAS BEEN HORRIBLE.....WHY DO WE HAVE TO PUT UP WITH STAYING AT DUMPS!!!!!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs Improvement

Posted Sep 30, 2008 on Hotels.com
This hotel was not met to my satisfaction. The room was not clean at all. It did not have a garbage can, no clean bathtub, no towels & no pillow cases on the pillows. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only if this is your last option and you can't sleep in your vehicle

Posted Sep 29, 2008 on Hotels.com
When I first booked this Hotel, I thought by the name alone I would have a quality stay. Boy was I wrong. 1st they didn't even have my my room ready or cleaned at 6:00 PM and check in was supposed to be at 3:00. This hotel is in a bad neighborhood and the signs of windows broken out and run down vehicles in the area on blocks in and near the hotel eccho that statement. Not only was the room run down, when I first checked in there was a gentleman arguing with the front desk about getting a front desk a free room, with a couple of 40's as his only luggage. There were bugs/spiders in the out dated rooms cigarette ashes and burns in the non-smoking rooms, service was below average, and when I was ready to get to bed I couldn't fall asleep for fear of someone kicking in the door due to it being on the outside of the hotel. Did I also mention this was a poorly lit area, behind the building with no view from the main roads! We weren't provided with complimentary coffee, and as far as the complimnetary breakfast goes it was very minimal and more than likely days old while serving decaf coffee. The hotel was full and it appeared that this type of behavior and atmosphere was normal so I don't think complaining would have mattered. The icing on the cake was when I overheard staff talking with another customer on why they weren't able to get the regular price for a room, is because management inflates the price of a room 25% by my figures when it is NASCAR weekend. That in my books is price gouging and if the other hotels are following this behavior it is considered by most and at least by definition a monopoly because of all the hotels being sold out in the area. The best thing about this hotel was the check out!