Ratings based on 390 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend away with friends

Posted Nov 28, 2014
My husband is a veteran. The manager upgraded our room in November....it was wonderful!! Excellent customer service!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Oklahoma City, OK

Romantic and cozy, can't wait to come back!

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Location: Legends, shops, casino, dinner
My boyfriend and I stayed for one night in the Seville room (beautiful!) last week for our 2nd anniversary. I was afraid that the rooms would be cramped because of the pictures I saw on the website, but our room was perfect! The jacuzzi is huge, as well as the bed. We got a couples massage and that is the only part of our stay that was sub par...the ambiance was lacking. It stayed pretty bright in the room, my masseuse burped at one point, it felt a little rushed, and one of the masseuses kept calling us "kiddos." Sure, we're young (early to mid-20s), but we deserve the same respect anyone else at the hotel does, not someone being condescending. We took the shuttle to the Legends, which was great not having to drive, and then we went to the wine bar. Beau the bartender was awesome! He was funny, interacted with all of the guests really well, and stayed open until the last guest left. Overall the hotel was wonderful, the front desk staff was welcoming, and I am recommending it to friends for a romantic getaway. The reviews that I have seen that were negative looked like they were from people who did NOT do their research on this place. Guys, this is not your average Holiday Inn! It has a cozy, romantic B & B feel, so yeah it may look a little worn, but the character of this place is astounding! Very homey. We definitely plan on coming back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice romantic getaway!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
This was a great place for my wife and I to spend our anniversary. They had all the bases covered when it comes to romance! The price was much lower than I was expecting too! Will definitely patronize this establishment again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2014 by Casey Price, Hotel Management
Thank You for allowing us to be part of your special occasion! Please come visit us for your next Romantic Getaway, or a wine tasting in D'Nile! Sincerely~ Casey Price Guest Services
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis

Weekend Get-Away to Kansas City

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: The hotel was different than a chain hotel that was fun. The staff provided coffee and fresh baked cookies in the lobby that were excellent.
Cons: Room was small and there was not really anyplace to put our suitcase,folding luggage rack would have been nice. Whirlpool jets looked unsanitary.
Location: The Legends was fun shopping, the Paza was great and great food, the steamship Arabia was amazing.
Our traveling companions lived in KC a few years ago and they had always wanted to stay at this hotel. We had a very nice time at the hotel. Staff was excellent and accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom KC

Surprisingly, dissapointing

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The complimentary chocolate chip cookies.
Cons: A lot of things could be improved. They could start with a fresh coat of paint on the walls.
Location: Lots to do nearby-Shopping/dinning at the Legends outlet mall, Nebraska funiture mart, Cabella's, sporting KC, Race track, and much more.
I had always heard about the Chateau Avalon and all its glory, but sadly it did not live up to the high expectations that I was anticipating. =( Especially for the amount of money spent to stay there. The room was anything but spectacular and it smelled musty, the dry wall was cracked and peeling in places. The smoke detector battery was dying, so it was chirping every 20min, so my husband went to the front desk and they said that their maintenance man could not come back out, so they found a battery and my husband changed it. There was a wedding reception going on outside our bedroom window and the ice machine right outside our bedroom door. We stayed there for convinence because we were attending a sporting event, so at least it wasn't supposed a quiet night in together. I do not usually post reviews, but felt compelled to post this one. We will not be stating there again, and I hope anyone else who does has a better experience than we did. I don't want to leave on a negative note, so on the positive side, the complimentary chocolate chip cookies that they serve in the evening were delicious!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lawrence, KS

Less than acceptable

Posted Sep 1, 2014
After checking in, we got to our room and were disgusted by the fact it had not been cleaned. Management slapped us in the face with 3 free drinks for 2 people. The bartender told us he would take care of us. He told us he only charged us for 2 drinks total, which resulted in him getting a $100 tip. After we got our receipt at check out time, he too slapped us in the face. Out experience was a total disaster and we will not be recommending this place to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2014 by Casey Price, Hotel Management
I am new to the Front Desk Management at the property and would like to personally apologize. I am taking comments, such as yours, to heart to see where I can implement change. I hope you give us another chance to show you the true excellence in service that the Chateau Avalon offers. Sincerely, Casey Price Front Office Manager/Guest Services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David Hayesfrom Grain Valley

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel. This hotel is everything my fiance and i expected this hotel to be. Great service, people and the room was amazing. The best part was being so close to all the restaurants and the legends for entertainment. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Taylorfrom Platte city mo

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
I thought it was nice but it could of had a microwave, and a refrigerator. My husband also thought it would of been a whole lot nicer if the tv wasn't right by the bed. He would of preferred the tv to be somewhere in the view of the jet tub. My favorite part would be the jet tub defantly the most relaxing thing ever. It was a bit dusty in some places, for the price I paid it would of been a whole lot better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Great facility. Very unique rooms with a lot of activities available nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mikefrom Wichita

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was not ready when we arrived, however they gave us drink coupons at the bar to make up for it. Great service.