Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice romantic getaway!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
This was a great place for my wife and I to spend our anniversary. They had all the bases covered when it comes to romance! The price was much lower than I was expecting too! Will definitely patronize this establishment again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Weekend Get-Away to Kansas City

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: The hotel was different than a chain hotel that was fun. The staff provided coffee and fresh baked cookies in the lobby that were excellent.
Cons: Room was small and there was not really anyplace to put our suitcase,folding luggage rack would have been nice. Whirlpool jets looked unsanitary.
Location: The Legends was fun shopping, the Paza was great and great food, the steamship Arabia was amazing.
Our traveling companions lived in KC a few years ago and they had always wanted to stay at this hotel. We had a very nice time at the hotel. Staff was excellent and accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KC

Surprisingly, dissapointing

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The complimentary chocolate chip cookies.
Cons: A lot of things could be improved. They could start with a fresh coat of paint on the walls.
Location: Lots to do nearby-Shopping/dinning at the Legends outlet mall, Nebraska funiture mart, Cabella's, sporting KC, Race track, and much more.
I had always heard about the Chateau Avalon and all its glory, but sadly it did not live up to the high expectations that I was anticipating. =( Especially for the amount of money spent to stay there. The room was anything but spectacular and it smelled musty, the dry wall was cracked and peeling in places. The smoke detector battery was dying, so it was chirping every 20min, so my husband went to the front desk and they said that their maintenance man could not come back out, so they found a battery and my husband changed it. There was a wedding reception going on outside our bedroom window and the ice machine right outside our bedroom door. We stayed there for convinence because we were attending a sporting event, so at least it wasn't supposed a quiet night in together. I do not usually post reviews, but felt compelled to post this one. We will not be stating there again, and I hope anyone else who does has a better experience than we did. I don't want to leave on a negative note, so on the positive side, the complimentary chocolate chip cookies that they serve in the evening were delicious!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lawrence, KS

Less than acceptable

Posted Sep 1, 2014
After checking in, we got to our room and were disgusted by the fact it had not been cleaned. Management slapped us in the face with 3 free drinks for 2 people. The bartender told us he would take care of us. He told us he only charged us for 2 drinks total, which resulted in him getting a $100 tip. After we got our receipt at check out time, he too slapped us in the face. Out experience was a total disaster and we will not be recommending this place to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Great facility. Very unique rooms with a lot of activities available nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Great place! We had a wonderful time-we highly recommend it.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Traci from Topeka, KS

Plumbing issue

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Over the last weekend, it was my third stay at the Chateau, and may be my last. I have always had a good experience during my stays, but this time was different. We had an issue with the toilet, and reported it after we checked into our room around 3:00 pm. They had to send maintenance 2-3 times to try and repair it, but even by the time we left on the following day, it still was not working properly. So we had to use the hotel bathroom located on a different floor during our stay. In the meantime, we had asked about being moved to a different room, but their reply was they were over-booked already. Upon checkout the next morning, I explained our situation and to let them know the toilet still was not working properly for the next guest who may have that room. I also asked if they could offer us a discount, or a voucher towards a future stay and the comment I received was, you booked through an on-line service, such as hotels.com/expedia and we had already received a discounted room rate. And, she said since we didn't book direct through the hotel, it was out of their hands. I really felt there was something they could offer us, as this was DEFINATELY an inconvenience. We could of picked up and moved to a different hotel, but I am not sure if we would have received a refund since we didn't book through them. Hindsight, I should have handled this situation differently and I have definitely learned some new life lessons!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing!!!!! Will definitely be back!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Husband suprised me for my 24th birthday! It was amazing and romantic!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Room was very plane and small as there was about a 1 foot of space to get around the corner of the bed, the surround sound didn't work, no coffee maker, no mini fridge, bed post would block TV view when sitting in the jet tub tub, shower head leaked, TV volume didn't work right, light bulbs were burnt out, cob webs were seen in the lights, and the alarm clock wasn't plugged in and looked like it was about 15 yrs old. Would have gotten more creature comforts and paid A LOT less had we gone to a different hotel in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Luik, BE

Great get-away for a decadent day.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Repeat customer...love this place! I visit for a long, romantic escape from day-to-day. It's as close to the continent as I can find in the mid-west.