Ratings based on 397 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walkable to Sprint Center

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Very starchy sheets. Good breakfast. Easy parking. Walkable to restaurants & shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by Ashley Blair, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Columbia, MO

Great hotel within five minute walk Power & Light

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Very nice accommodations and friendly staff
Location: Wanted to be close to Sprint Center
Went with friends for birthday celebration and wanted to be close to Spring Center.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by Ashley Blair, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vandalia, IL

Very unsatisfied

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Our first room 2417 had about a one foot by half inch crack above the shower that was constantly dripping. Got moved to 2421, ceiling had patches all over, drawers wouldn't shut like they should and the heater would not shut off. Beds were comfortable but neither of us slept well being next to the elevators. After checking out my fiancé which was staying in 1403 had lost an essential oil that she thought may be in the room and wanted to double check before she flew back to Oregon. When we asked the lady at the front desk if we could get a key to the room to do a swipe before we left she asked for her drivers license. She gladly showed her and also told her that her aunts name would be under the room. The lady at the front desk instantly in the rudest way possible said "Well then I can't give you a key." And fluffed us off as if we weren't there. I realize the privacy policy and appreciate that but she could have explained to us nicely why she couldn't issue a key instead of hearing the rude jesture. First time and last time I will stay at the Crowne Plaza.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed for two nights in a suite

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Very nice. Spacious. Clean. The view was fine. Staff a little slow to make up room between nights but I think they were confused about when I was there. I was in and out of hotel between meetings all day. Overall, much better than some reviews on here that made me hesitant to book. Great location too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Ashley B, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be better than some other reviewers. I apologize for the housekeeping confusion. I have forwarded your comments to our housekeeping manager to help correct that for future guests. Thanks for staying with us! Ashley Blair Guest Services
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis

Last Minute Pleasant Surprise

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Great location. Clean, comfortable room. Excellent executive lounge with nice breakfast.
Cons: Parking seemed a bit difficult, probably due to a construction project. But this info. was divulged at time of reservation.
We stay often in K.C., but I was late planning this trip. Decided to try an Expedia "Unpublished Rate" deal, since there weren't many apparently good options available. Location near convention center is superb. Our plan was to check in at 4:00, and then head to a dinner reservation not too far away. Agent at desk said he didn't have a room ready at that time in our category, but he'd have one soon if we could do something else for a bit. Seems like an odd thing when check in is 3:00, but he handled it in a highly professional manner. Since we were going to dinner, this was not a problem. Then, when we returned to hotel at about 8:00, same agent was there, super pleasant, gave us room keys, and said he'd like to treat us to the executive lounge (which meant a complimentary breakfast) for our being inconvenienced. This was very helpful. He also noticed there were three of us instead of the two booked (our grown daughter was going to hang out for the evening before we planned to return her to her apartment), and he said, "wouldn't be easier if she just stayed the night with you? The room has two double beds." We did that, and it made things much simpler and more enjoyable for us. This man was a complete professional, and this is the kind of customer service I really appreciate and experience way too infrequently. Thank you Crowne Plaza for the service and clean, comfortable room. Thank you too Expedia for the exceptional rate! We'll be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Dear Short Game, Thank you for your great review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and our desk agent was able to help ease the burden of the room not being quite ready upon your arrival. I am so happy the service you received has turned you into a return guest and we look forward to the next time you come to Kansas City. Sincerely, Ashley Blair Guest Services
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom kansas city, mo

Nice hotel but no parking ?

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Only complaint is that when we got to the desk to check in, the representative was talking to a friend for quite a while before actually helping us. we also had to park at KCPL instead of at the hotel. Made for a very inconvenient and cold walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Nice executive suites, just a littled dated. My wife and I always enjoy our stay at this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2015 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Dear Tony, Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown and your continued patronage. We look forward to many more visits. Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Unfortunately there was a "Cheer competition " that same weekend so elevators packed and slow, extremely noisy all day !!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2014 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. I am sorry you were inconvenienced by the elevator wait times and the noise the cheer competition brought to the hotel. We typically do not have the long wait times as our elevators move very quickly. Thanks again for staying with us. Ashley Blair Guest Services
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

CBE Classic Stay

Posted Nov 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Short 1 night stay while Iowa State played in Monday's CBE classic. Hotel was selected based on location and other Crown hotels I have stayed at previously. Everything was fine except the bar was closed after the game was over. Many of the ISU fans staying at the Crown went over to the Marriott....which was packed. Someone missed the boat on closing the hotel bar before the game was over!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2015 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I apologize the bar was closed after you returned. We are open every evening from 3 pm-11 pm. Thanks for staying with us. Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services