Ratings based on 362 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom kansas city mo

Board this baby up!

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Only a gut rehab
Location: Location is good...the only redeeming factor
Awful, awful, awful! Long waits for elevators...only 2 working. Long waits for valet parking to take and return cars. Maids are understaffed...don't come until late afternoon. Drains are sluggish, sinks don't empty fast. Toilets are old, don't flush completely unless you hold the handle down the whole time. Bar is crappy, over crowded and under staffed. The place is old, out dated, crappy and west of all..they charge lie I've it's 4 stars. I'd rather sleep in my car the next time...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel right next to power and light

Posted Nov 11, 2014
I had flight troubles getting to Kansas City. I was able to call the hotel and they were fantastic. They let my girlfriend check in without me and were extremely helpful. A+ costumer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend Chiefs game getaway

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Had a wonderful evening in the Power & light district and was very happy with the accommodations at the Crowne Plaza Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2014 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your accommodations and had a wonderful evening at the nearby Power & Light District. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Construction noise unbearable

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Fine location.
Cons: Updated rooms, no construction.
There was no posting or warning before booking that construction is going on daily onsite. There was no discount provided even though when you arrived they informed you that construction would be proceeding from 9 am to 4pm daily. You could not be in your room during construction because the noise was maddening - a constant buzzing of machinery.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom missouri

Great location, uncomfortable beds

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Great staff and facilities
Cons: Better beds!
Location: Near downtown
Hotel is very nice but I get pretty irritated when I pay close to $200 for a room and the bed is hard as a rock. It's time to update your mattresses!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Dear Izzy, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our location, I am disappointed that you did not find our mattress comfortable for you. Unfortunately, this is a hard one to get right for every guest that travels in and out of our hotel due to individual preferences. We replaced the mattresses and received a new bedding package in all of our rooms approximately a year ago. I certainly hope this would not discourage you from visiting again should you be in the KC area. Sincerely, Ashley Blair Guest Services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Really appreciated how one of the front desk employees gave us an outrageous amount of coupons for the power and light district!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2014 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you were able to enjoy the Power & Light District with all of the coupons given to your by our Front Desk. Next time you're in Kansas City, we hope to see you again. Sincerely, Ashley Blair Guest Services
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

One star experience

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Seemed very nice at first. Second night, we called desk for a wake up call for 5:30 am. We awoke at 6:30 , called the front desk asking why we were not called and they said they hadn't written it down. We were given free parking for both days. The staff didn't care that we had travelled over8 hours to get there and had a very early morning travel soccer game in which we had to explain to the coach why my son was an hour late. The night before we called the front desk 3 times because of drunk people from the wedding in front of our room yelling and carrying on. The calls were made 2:30, 3:00 and at last 3:30. I would never stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Dear Darrell, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately, your complaints were not brought to the attention of management at the time of your stay, so I apologize for the communication failure. We would have addressed your issues immediately and made sure that you left the hotel happy with your stay. It is our mission to ensure that every guest who stays with us leaves with a positive opinion of our hotel and our City. I certainly hope that you will give us another try should your travels bring you back to the KC area. We are dedicated to guest service and guest satisfaction.I can assure you that we utilize every bit of feedback to help improve our service, and we will use your feedback to make changes that will better serve our guests. Sincerely, Ashley Blair Guest Services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wyoming

Great Place to stay

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Cons: More selection on the menu. We would have eaten more in the restaurant if there would have been more options.
Location: Lots of restaurants within walking distance.
Hotel was very clean, all staff was very friendly, great customer service. Lots of restaurants in walking distance. Rooms were clean & comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2014 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Dear Rene, Thank you for such a great review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to your next visit. Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2014
easy in easy out--as expected. return stay close to power and light
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2014 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your stay at Crowne Plaza - Kansas City Downtown. We truly value your business and we look forward to serving you as our guest again in the future. Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good location in Kansas City

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Their suites are good for families. Hotel is showing done wear. Great location close to downtown, power and light and union station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2014 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your 4-Star review of the Crowne Plaza - Kansas City Downtown. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our location. We look forward to your next visit! Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services