Ratings based on 414 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stay at a good price in downtown KC

Posted Jun 29, 2015
We used the Expedia service where you select the level of hotel and they assign the hotel after booking. Although the Crowne Plaza has had some negative reviews recently, we were thoroughly pleased with our stay. The room was large and comfortable, and well-appointed, as was the bathroom. The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful. We didn't use other facilities and so can't comment on them. The hotel is situated about 2 blocks from the Power and Light District, and so it was very easy to walk over for dinner and entertainment. There is construction on the exterior going on, but it wasn't intrusive, and started only after 9am and ended before 5pm. Additionally, we were pleased to see that Wifi was free. Valet parking was $17 and included multiple uses during the day. We would definitely stay here again on the next trip to KC.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2015 by Ashley Blair, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, I have responded to your review on TripAdvisor as well. Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back for another great trip. Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to Power and Light

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: It was an nice hotel
Cons: There was construction so there was NO garage parking so most people had to do valet or find a meter and plug it every 2 hours!
Location: Walking distance from Power and Light District
Reserved 4 rooms close together on the same floor and an early check in. Did not get any rooms on the same floor and 2 rooms were not ready.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colorado springs, CO

Look for better options

Posted Jun 24, 2015
The beds were very small, the sink leaked all over the floor, there were rotten patches on the ceiling where water must be leaking from above, and the parking garage is not operational. You are required to pay $17 per night for valet parking. This hotel is in desperate need of updating and maintenance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Ashley Blair, Hotel Management
Dear Adam, Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown for your recent stay in the area. I would like to apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay with the sink and ceiling leaking. I have brought these to the attention of our maintenance staff and I can assure you they will be addressed and fixed immediately. I would also like to address the parking, we are currently working on our parking garage which is why it is closed. We are offering valet only to our guests at the self parking rate. Our valet service is normally $20 per night. While we understand we did not live up to your expectations during this stay, we are always making improvements to our facility and would love to welcome you back for another stay. Thank you, Ashley Blair Guest Services
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City MO

Paying only for the Location

Posted Jun 22, 2015
I had seen some beautiful picture and the location was perfect but that was about it. The room was tiny and the beds were not the queens I payed for! The AC in the room did not work well and we had to deal with the heat (80-85) of the room for 4hrs before it was fixed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Ashley Blair, Hotel Management
Dear Marie, Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown and your review. Your feedback is very important to us. On behalf of the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown team, I apologize for the delay you experienced while waiting on the AC in your room to be fixed. I would also like to apologize for the miscommunication regarding the bed type you thought you were getting. We do not have any queen sized beds in the building. All of our "double" rooms have two full sized beds. Again, I am very sorry that our services were not up to par. While we understand that we have disappointed you, we sincerely hope that you will consider providing us the opportunity to make up for this past stay in the future. Warm Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Ashley Blair, Hotel Management
Dear Marie, Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown and your review. Your feedback is very important to us. On behalf of the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown team, I apologize for the delay you experienced while waiting on the AC in your room to be fixed. I would also like to apologize for the miscommunication regarding the bed type you thought you were getting. We do not have any queen sized beds in the building. All of our "double" rooms have two full sized beds. Again, I am very sorry that our services were not up to par. While we understand that we have disappointed you, we sincerely hope that you will consider providing us the opportunity to make up for this past stay in the future. Warm Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: The location was about it.
Cons: The customer service, they didn't seem to care I wasn't happy. They responded to my complaints by telling me they were sorry. No attempt to fix it
Location: Location was good. Lots of fun activities to do within walking distance...lively and fun
Bathtub was filthy, hair and dirt and couldn't give my daughter a bath the first night we were there. Overall the room was nice, bathroom was tiny and dirty. I called front desk and they kept putting me on hold. I gave up because it was 9pm already. They had a ton of construction going on, VERY LOUD, woke us up two of the three mornings. When i called front desk, they said "well sir, we do have construction going on between the hours of 9am-3pm" It would have been nice to know this PRIOR TO BOOKING THE ROOM. The pool wasn't open, no indoor pool either. Location was the best part of the stay. Also, this hotel isn't kid friendly. It rained most of the days we were there so we were in the room a lot. Basic cable channels yes, NO ON DEMAND or DVD player for movies. I called the front desk to ask them if I was missing something and they let me know I was not, there was just no options other than what was on the TV. So I asked then why I couldn't seem to access my netflix or HBOGO application via their internet...they block that so you can't stream movies either. Geez!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2015 by Ashley Blair, Hotel Management
Dear Jason, Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza. I am very disappointed to read your review and read the response you received from our staff. I assure you that is not up to our standard and we will continue to coach and train our staff to ensure this does not happen to future guests. I have also sent your comments to our management staff to look into the issues you have described regarding your bathroom, these are certainly not acceptable conditions. As far as the TV issues are concerned, we do not offer OnDemand or DVD players however, the only sites we have blocked on our WIFI signal are sites that would allow you to illegally pirate anything. You should still be able to stream from Netflix, Hulu, etc. I will look into this issue to ensure it is not a problem for future guests. Thank you again for your candid feedback. Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
Bathroom was tiny, thought I had booked a room with a king size bed but we got a room with 2 doubles, but we were only there for Power and Light so the room wasn't that big of a deal
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2015 by Ashley Blair, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown, I am glad you were able to enjoy your stay regardless of the room with two double beds. Without knowing your reservation information I am not able to confirm what was actually booked. I hope you had a good time at the Power and Light District, our proximity to that and other KC attractions is great. Should you travel back to the area, we would love to welcome you back. Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Parking sucks

Posted May 5, 2015
I wasn't happy that I had to pay $20 for valet parking, or I could park 2 blocks away and would have to pay $10 to park there.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2015 by Ashley B. , Hotel Management
Dear H, Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. Our parking charges are very comparable to area hotels and much cheaper than you would pay in other major cities in the US. We do offer self-parking as well in our garage for a lesser fee of $17/night. Thanks for staying with us. Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Very nice place to stay

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: walking distance to the Power and light district
Location: the location is only a couple blocks away from the popular Power and light district and the Sprint Center.
Staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms were really comfortable and clean with a spacious layout. Parking is easy, and you are within walking distance of lots of fun bars,clubs, places to eat.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2015 by Ashley B. , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown, and for your great review. Your feedback is very important to us. We are thrilled to learn you found our location and hotel great! We are also happy to hear you enjoyed the cleanness and comforts of your room. Our housekeeping department works diligently to meet our high standards. Thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. Please let us know next time you will be visiting, we would love to welcome you back for another great stay. Warm Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Brittany from Nebraska

Great Location!

Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
Great location and nice hotel with a Starbucks inside! Walking distance easily to the Power and Light district!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2015 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Dear Brittany, Thank you for the Wonderful 5-Star Review. I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and found our location and the Starbucks convenient. We hope the next time you are in Kansas City, you will stay with us again. Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walkable to Sprint Center

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Very starchy sheets. Good breakfast. Easy parking. Walkable to restaurants & shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by Ashley Blair, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services