Ratings based on 393 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vandalia, IL

Very unsatisfied

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Our first room 2417 had about a one foot by half inch crack above the shower that was constantly dripping. Got moved to 2421, ceiling had patches all over, drawers wouldn't shut like they should and the heater would not shut off. Beds were comfortable but neither of us slept well being next to the elevators. After checking out my fiancé which was staying in 1403 had lost an essential oil that she thought may be in the room and wanted to double check before she flew back to Oregon. When we asked the lady at the front desk if we could get a key to the room to do a swipe before we left she asked for her drivers license. She gladly showed her and also told her that her aunts name would be under the room. The lady at the front desk instantly in the rudest way possible said "Well then I can't give you a key." And fluffed us off as if we weren't there. I realize the privacy policy and appreciate that but she could have explained to us nicely why she couldn't issue a key instead of hearing the rude jesture. First time and last time I will stay at the Crowne Plaza.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed for two nights in a suite

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Very nice. Spacious. Clean. The view was fine. Staff a little slow to make up room between nights but I think they were confused about when I was there. I was in and out of hotel between meetings all day. Overall, much better than some reviews on here that made me hesitant to book. Great location too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis

Last Minute Pleasant Surprise

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Great location. Clean, comfortable room. Excellent executive lounge with nice breakfast.
Cons: Parking seemed a bit difficult, probably due to a construction project. But this info. was divulged at time of reservation.
We stay often in K.C., but I was late planning this trip. Decided to try an Expedia "Unpublished Rate" deal, since there weren't many apparently good options available. Location near convention center is superb. Our plan was to check in at 4:00, and then head to a dinner reservation not too far away. Agent at desk said he didn't have a room ready at that time in our category, but he'd have one soon if we could do something else for a bit. Seems like an odd thing when check in is 3:00, but he handled it in a highly professional manner. Since we were going to dinner, this was not a problem. Then, when we returned to hotel at about 8:00, same agent was there, super pleasant, gave us room keys, and said he'd like to treat us to the executive lounge (which meant a complimentary breakfast) for our being inconvenienced. This was very helpful. He also noticed there were three of us instead of the two booked (our grown daughter was going to hang out for the evening before we planned to return her to her apartment), and he said, "wouldn't be easier if she just stayed the night with you? The room has two double beds." We did that, and it made things much simpler and more enjoyable for us. This man was a complete professional, and this is the kind of customer service I really appreciate and experience way too infrequently. Thank you Crowne Plaza for the service and clean, comfortable room. Thank you too Expedia for the exceptional rate! We'll be back!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom kansas city, mo

Nice hotel but no parking ?

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Only complaint is that when we got to the desk to check in, the representative was talking to a friend for quite a while before actually helping us. we also had to park at KCPL instead of at the hotel. Made for a very inconvenient and cold walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Nice executive suites, just a littled dated. My wife and I always enjoy our stay at this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2015 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Dear Tony, Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown and your continued patronage. We look forward to many more visits. Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Unfortunately there was a "Cheer competition " that same weekend so elevators packed and slow, extremely noisy all day !!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2014 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. I am sorry you were inconvenienced by the elevator wait times and the noise the cheer competition brought to the hotel. We typically do not have the long wait times as our elevators move very quickly. Thanks again for staying with us. Ashley Blair Guest Services
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom kansas city mo

Board this baby up!

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Only a gut rehab
Location: Location is good...the only redeeming factor
Awful, awful, awful! Long waits for elevators...only 2 working. Long waits for valet parking to take and return cars. Maids are understaffed...don't come until late afternoon. Drains are sluggish, sinks don't empty fast. Toilets are old, don't flush completely unless you hold the handle down the whole time. Bar is crappy, over crowded and under staffed. The place is old, out dated, crappy and west of all..they charge lie I've it's 4 stars. I'd rather sleep in my car the next time...
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Dear weary, Thank you for your very candid comments regarding your recent experience at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you in detail regarding your stay. I have passed your comments on to our management staff and I assure you they will be addressed. Thank you, Ashley Blair Guest Services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lisafrom Missouri

Fun Saturday night

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great time. The staff was very nice, the room very comfortable. We picked this hotel because it is within walking distance of the Opera we were going to, as well as the Power and Light District, which is a big plus!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2015 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, I am delighted to read your review of the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the room comfy and our staff very nice. Thank you again for staying with us. Sincerely, Ashley Blair Guest Services
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Trisha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Toddfrom MN

Conference in KC

Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
A lot of construction in the area including on the hotel. Cables hanging outside our windows and jack hammers on the street that we could hear on the 11th floor. Not a big deal but annoying. They gave us a handicap room, did not ask for or want a handicap room. If you get a handicap room, usually there is no tub and no barrier on the shower. A lot of the shower water ends up on the bathroom floor. Plus there is a bench and a shower curtain that is too close and sticks on you. On a positive note, you have a clean bathroom floor because it is mostly wet after you shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2015 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Dear Todd, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. I'd like to apologize for the construction. There is a lot going on in the area currently and I personally find it annoying at times too however, with the improvements we are making to our building the others in the area it will be worth it in the long run. I'd also like to apologize for the mistake with your room type. We do our best to accommodate all bed type requests, I am sorry we did not in your instance. I hope aside from the things you mentioned you enjoyed your stay and had a good time at the conference. If you come back next year we'd love to welcome you back to see all of the improvements. Regards, Ashley Blair Guest Services