Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hays

Good place to stay

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Stayed at this hotel for a weekend getaway to KC to take in a Royals game and a trip to the zoo. Within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Good place to crash with a great breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, NE

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The staff was wonderful. The breakfast was good.
Cons: It's beginning to be a bit dated. Could use some refurbishing but still okay.
Location: Excellent. It was close to everything we wanted to do. Good shopping and restaurants very close.
It was an okay experience. It's a little hard to find but was in a nice, quiet location. The staff was friendly and very helpful helping us with recommended nearby restaurants and directions. It was quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Elaine, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. Our location is very quiet but convenient to shopping and various restaurants. We hope you will choose to stay with us again when you visit the Independence area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

Best Hotel Ever

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Our room was large and lovely. The swimming pool was nice and large, if a little shallow. The breakfast room was cheery, the food, good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Elaine, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a nice visit with us and we look forward to your stay the next time you are in our atea.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Room had a HORRIBLE odor

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Even though the room smelled horible, it was clean. Front desk personnel were friendly.
Cons: Improve the quality of the breakfast, and produce the items you claim to serve. Do something to eliminate the stench on the lower floor.
Location: Location is not far from the sports complex, and not far from downtown. A large movie theater is nearby, as well as shopping.
Upon entering the hotel, we were struck by an offensive odor, which lingered during our entire visit. I think it was some sort of cleaning product used for the swimming pool, but had the odor of sauerkraut, and was terrible. The breakfast provided was nothing as advertised, either. Each morning, the breakfast consisted of runny powdered eggs, undercooked sausage patties, and cereal/pastry. The coffee was nothing more than hot water with a tinge of color. When I asked if there was more coffee coming out because the batch was weak, the employee told me that it all comes out weak, because management had instructed them to use HALF of the coffee normally used to brew, because they needed to cut costs. One of the main reasons we chose this hotel was to accomodate a handicapped individual, without leaving for breakfast. We will never return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by Elaine, Hotel Management
I apologize that your stay was not up to your, or our, standards. This is the first I have heard of a sauerkraut odor, but it will be investigated. We do not water down our coffee and use the amount pre-set for the coffee maker. I will call for service to assure it is dispensing properly and they will make necessary changes. I apologize that you were not able to enjoy your morning coffee.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice people

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: It was clean
Location: Went to baseball game.
Very nice at the front desk and breakfast area. Very noisy. Could hear people walking upstairs, which I found weird.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Elaine, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I agree that it is unusual to be able to hear people walking in the rooms above you at our hotel; maybe energetic children. We look forward to your next visit when you attend a ball game or other activity in our area. Hopefully your future visit will be more quiet and therefore rate a higher rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Nice stopover destination with bar/grill in walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Elaine, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreicate your input, and look forward to seeing you on your next "stopover" in the Independence area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2014 by Elaine, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to rate our hotel. We hope you will choose our Fairfield Inn when in the area in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Independence MO 64057

Not worth the $$$$

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
My room was very musty smelling and very damp, we said something to the desk they were going to move us so they told us to pack. We packed all of our things up only to come back hours later still in the same room and now they are not moving us as they "fixed the problem". The room was a little better, only to find out that hotel hadn't had a maintenence person in awhile. Not enough parking for the amount of guest in the hotel, which wouldn't be such an issue but guest were taking up 2 & 3 spots because of selfishly poor parking this should be monitored and addressed, I was not the only guest upset by this. I have never paid this much for a room and will never stay at this hotel again, Associates were nice but it was all just lip service as nothing changed during our stay....was told our room was damp due to the humidity in MO....ok my shoes were wet in the morning that is how damp my room was..
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2014 by Elaine, Hotel Management
I apologize for your stay. During your stay carpets were professionally cleaned and some rooms were not totally dry by the end of the day. We tried to use fans to dry those quicker but apologize that it did not work in your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by joll from Atlanta, GA

Great staff made it a nice stay

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's not a fancy hotel and we had to choose this place out of financial reasons. Stayed four nights while commuting to Harry Truman Library with my GF. The hotel has all the basics, including breakfast and access to the fitness + laundry facilities at the Marriott Residence Inn right next door. In addition, we had the luxury of getting a room with microwave and fridge. We didn't like the smell (most likely from cleaning detergents) in the hallways and the room, and the bed was way too soft for us. Other than that we didn't have much to complain. The hotel has a good location (near major roads + malls) and was kept clean and well attended. What made our stay really pleasant was the big smiles and hard work by the hotel staff. Sheena at the front desk was consistently helpful with even the smallest details. Kenneth who worked out breakfast for the guests every morning did a splendid job constantly walking in and out making sure no tray is empty. The cleaning ladies were also very helpful. Given the price, the cons were totally bearable while the staff made our stay really comfy and pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2014 by Elaine, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. You input is always appreicated. We hope to see you on your next visit to the Independence area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Kathy from Alberta Canada

Great stopover.

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was super helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2014 by Elaine, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. "Super helpful staff, clean and comfortable" is the perfect description of our hotel. We hope to see you next time you vsit the US!