Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, NE

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The staff was wonderful. The breakfast was good.
Cons: It's beginning to be a bit dated. Could use some refurbishing but still okay.
Location: Excellent. It was close to everything we wanted to do. Good shopping and restaurants very close.
It was an okay experience. It's a little hard to find but was in a nice, quiet location. The staff was friendly and very helpful helping us with recommended nearby restaurants and directions. It was quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Elaine, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. Our location is very quiet but convenient to shopping and various restaurants. We hope you will choose to stay with us again when you visit the Independence area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

Best Hotel Ever

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Our room was large and lovely. The swimming pool was nice and large, if a little shallow. The breakfast room was cheery, the food, good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Elaine, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a nice visit with us and we look forward to your stay the next time you are in our atea.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Room had a HORRIBLE odor

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Even though the room smelled horible, it was clean. Front desk personnel were friendly.
Cons: Improve the quality of the breakfast, and produce the items you claim to serve. Do something to eliminate the stench on the lower floor.
Location: Location is not far from the sports complex, and not far from downtown. A large movie theater is nearby, as well as shopping.
Upon entering the hotel, we were struck by an offensive odor, which lingered during our entire visit. I think it was some sort of cleaning product used for the swimming pool, but had the odor of sauerkraut, and was terrible. The breakfast provided was nothing as advertised, either. Each morning, the breakfast consisted of runny powdered eggs, undercooked sausage patties, and cereal/pastry. The coffee was nothing more than hot water with a tinge of color. When I asked if there was more coffee coming out because the batch was weak, the employee told me that it all comes out weak, because management had instructed them to use HALF of the coffee normally used to brew, because they needed to cut costs. One of the main reasons we chose this hotel was to accomodate a handicapped individual, without leaving for breakfast. We will never return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by Elaine, Hotel Management
I apologize that your stay was not up to your, or our, standards. This is the first I have heard of a sauerkraut odor, but it will be investigated. We do not water down our coffee and use the amount pre-set for the coffee maker. I will call for service to assure it is dispensing properly and they will make necessary changes. I apologize that you were not able to enjoy your morning coffee.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice people

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: It was clean
Location: Went to baseball game.
Very nice at the front desk and breakfast area. Very noisy. Could hear people walking upstairs, which I found weird.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Elaine, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I agree that it is unusual to be able to hear people walking in the rooms above you at our hotel; maybe energetic children. We look forward to your next visit when you attend a ball game or other activity in our area. Hopefully your future visit will be more quiet and therefore rate a higher rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Nice stopover destination with bar/grill in walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Elaine, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreicate your input, and look forward to seeing you on your next "stopover" in the Independence area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Clean room, friendly staff, nice and quiet. Only knock was the rollaway bed was a bit broken down but it was complimentary.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Elaine, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I will defnitely double check all rollaways to remove anythg at are broken. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip to Independence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Location: We attended a concert in KC the night we stayed & left town when we got up, but did notice close to a lot of shopping.
We only stayed for one night, but found it very comfortable. ALL of the staff that we encountered were very courteous & helpful. We did not get up early enough to have breakfast, but that was of our own choosing. The only thing that I find to possibly "complain" about is the lack of signage, as the hotel is behind other buildings, but no sign to indicate so. All in all, a good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2014 by Elaine, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our hotel. We always like to hear from our guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Not accomodating

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: clean
Cons: See experience
Location: traveled 20 minutes for most attractions.
There are a couple of items that made my experience less than desirable. I have spent less at other hotels that had more to offer. First, it's very difficult to load luggage in and out without an automatic door. Second, it would be nice to have a mini refrigerator in the room. Lastly, it would be nice of the blinds would close to keep the sun out in the morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Hotel was ok. Pool heater was broken so no fun for the kids. Beds were comfy but water pressure in shower was poor. The hotel itself was clean but in need of an update. We stayed here for the easy access to Kauffman Stadium. The location was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by Elaine, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I apologize that the pool water was too cool for children. I know that is not a good experience for them. Our pool temperature is to be kept between 82 and 84 degrees. I don't know of the heater having issues, but I understand this may have been cooler than expected for children and I will check into this issue. We strive to keep a clean hotel with friendly staff and I am glad you experienced that; an update is coming . I hope you will stay with us the next time you come for a ball game with either the Royals or Chiefs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hastings, mn

Near the Truman Presidential Museum

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness of the place
Cons: A few more breakfast food choices would be nice
Location: Old town area of Independence is a fun place to visit - the Truman Home is nearby
Very helpful and cordial hotel staff a convenient location with shopping nearby
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by Elaine, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are proud of our staff and I appreciate the compliment on them.