Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to main part of town

Posted Feb 7, 2014
as I had read reviews before booking, it was like a converted dorm. it was very clean, just needed a little up dating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by mcfoshay from Dallas, TX

Boutique hotel with great service

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
This boutique hotel was once an office building, which explains its odd layout, varying room sizes and weird location. it is relatively small, and the delightful lounge area is on the third floor. The kitchen area is in the basement, which they call the first floor, and reception is half a floor up (second floor) from the parking lot. The manager seems to fill all roles, including managing the breakfast area. The hotel is about a block from Harry Truman's old house, which is open for tours, in the midst of old office buildings that look like parochial schools and blocks from downtown. Breakfast was uninspired - cereal, breads and juices, with whole fruit. But that was our only complaint. Lovely hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Emily from Wichita, KS

Great Service!

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Bed was comfortable, room was nice, people were extremely friendly, and the continental breakfast was great! If we are ever around the KC area again we will definitely be staying at the Higher Ground.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by EE from Arlington, VA

Outstanding Choice for Independence

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is perfect for visiting all the sites in Independence. We visited when the Truman House and Library were closed due to the govt. shutdown. However, the Trails Museum was open and it was fascinating! The hotel is not the usual upscale (but often sterile) place we end up in when we have only a day or so at a location. It is small, eclectic, and with a touch of college dorm - reminded me of convents we have stayed at in Italy. Our room was spotless, large, and overlooked the lovely garden. We enjoyed walking to the town square and had a wonderful dinner at Cafe Verona. If you are into a place with personality, this is for you. Just don't expect much at breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by quiltnhen from California

Wow, what a find!

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Spotless, comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast in the basement was standard fare, but included some extras like little mini breakfast sandwiches. Fun bright colors and beautiful antiques on display in the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by KKT from Independence, MO

The Right Place To Stay

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Absolutely excellent. Make sure you stay at this hotel in Independence MO if you travel through Kansas or Missouri
5 out of 5
Recommended
by S.H. from Gettysburg, Pennsylvania

Great location and delightful retreat.

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Higher Ground was a delightful, small hotel just down the street from the Truman home. Each floor had a common area with a graceful couch, chairs, and shelves filled with books for the enjoyment of guests. The lovely side yard was a true oasis from the weariness of travel and was at the disposal of the guests with patio tables/chairs. It felt more like a B & B than a hotel. The desk lady was gracious and well-spoken. I would stay here again in a minute!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Wagners from Elk River MN

fantastic location

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Higher Ground was a wonderful experience. The flower garden was so peaceful. The location is near downtown so walking to the shops and restaurants was enjoyable. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was good. We will be going back next year.