Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Little gem.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: Computer in library not working
Location: Across the street from Truman home.
Very friendly and attentive staff. Sweet room. Quiet and comfortable. Great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, quite, friendly and you feel safe

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: friendly staff, makes you feel like you are at home. clean
Cons: Comfort of the beds
Location: It was about 20 minutes from everything we did.
The staff was friendly, you feel safe at this hotel, kind of like a bed and breakfast. The only complaint is the beds are not comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to many historical sites.

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Very quiet and conveniently located
Location: President Truman's home is across the street and library is nearby.
Very comfortable and clean, well maintained hotel. Owners are the primary staff. Very friendly and pleasant. Rooms cleanded daily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ericfrom Ankeny

Nice

Posted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very, very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johnfrom San Diego

Ultra clean and comfy.

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
These local folks really know how to run a hotel. Place is ultra clean, comfortable and affordable. Breakfast nice and free. WiFi screaming fast. what's not to like?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St Louis, MO

Hidden Gem

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Our room was spotless, the bed was amazingly comfortable, the staff, including the owner, was extremely friendly.
Location: It's far enough away from the city that you avoid the noise and crowds but close enough that everything is within driving distance.
This hotel is tucked away in a quiet neighborhood across the street from The Truman House. We had a room facing the street with a king size bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Higher Ground Hotel--Independence, MO

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfortable room in a quiet neighborhood but close to many points of interest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Conniefrom Concho, OK

Excellent Hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Decided to do an overnight in Kansas City so we could spend several hours at the Plains Indian exhibit at Nelson-Atkins on our way home from a speaking engagement. Discovered Higher Ground on Hotels.com and decided to give it a try. So glad we did. The room was larger than the 5-star hotel we stayed the night before in another city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul Burnsfrom Dayton, Ohio

Excellent experience

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great experience. Very clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was the best I have had in a hotel in several years. Appears to be run by a family who is very conscientious about the comfort of their guests.