Ratings based on 2,485 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: free parking
Location: close to convention center and free shuttle to other events in area
Loved the hotels character and beds were comfortable. Also attached restaurant had delicious food at a reasonable price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2015
We were traveling though Kansas City and needed a place to stay at the last minute. The Hotel Phillips seemed to be a 4.2 rating and relatively inexpensive, so we chose it. We were only staying for about 16 hours, but in that time the hotel fire alarms went off twice (we were informed that it wasn't an emergency when we arrived in the lobby, but a faulty system that's been "doing this for awhile now"), our room cards didn't work repeatedly (we were informed that they have been having issues with their system for awhile), and our room looked like it hadn't been dusted (for a long time). There were cobwebs around the windows, lint and dust on the walls/doors. The duvet was stained or just hadn't been washed. I'm shocked at the rating that hotel received because it's not deserving of it at all. I can't recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Still had character of an older hotel but was well maintained. Service staff was great. Used the valet parking and was able to park early in morning before I checked in and then pick up the last day after I checked out and was not charged extra.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Cramped room nothing like advertised photos. Poor water pressure and a tub that would not drain. Noisy air conditioning. Dirty bathroom upon arrival. At least the view from the room was nice. Bar 12 is great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manhattan, KS

Hotel with Character

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: Unique character, friendly staff, comfy bed
Cons: smokey room
Location: Sprint Center, Power and Light District, easy access to I-70 and Royals/Chiefs, Interesting restraurants
Very nice on the inside, staff was pleasant. The finishes in the hotel are unique and very nice. Definitely not a run of the mill hotel. First room was very small, I called the front desk and asked if we could be switched to a larger room and they did it quickly with no hassle at all. 2nd room was a little smokey but I didn't want to complain again. Much larger though and very nice. So I would not do "standard queen" - that was a closet. I would do "superior queen" which was just fine but smokey. The hotel is easy walking distance to the Sprint Center and very near the Power and Light District. Parking downtown is difficult at best so you pretty much have to do valet which is a little expensive, but that's just what you have to do when you stay downtown. Overall a positive experience with a few minor annoyances
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Great location and staff. Beautiful building. Hotel offers a shuttle to and from anywhere within a five mile radious which is really convenient
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK for price.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Coffee machine with free bottles of water in the room.
Cons: there were a empty bottle in the trash can when I checked in. And power plug socket was broken. No breakfast.
Location: Supermarket in waling distance.
Satisfied over all. Reasonable price. Yet there are some points to be improved. Nice location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Old but clean, friendly staff. Parking close but costly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to Sprint Center and P&L

Posted Jul 16, 2015
The hotel was very nice, and our room was great. The only downside was the complete lack of water pressure in the shower. It took myself nearly 30 min just to be able to wash/rinse my hair
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

in need of a renovation

Posted Jul 10, 2015
rooms are in need of a serious renovtion , saggy mattress, poorly cleaned rooms (dust layer on many appliances), patched paint all over, mildew on bathtub tile, no blackouts on windows. if looking for a historic boutique stay at the ambassador