Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by barb from wichita

Historical

Posted Jun 9, 2014
This hotel is a real blast from the past. So much history to relate in this short post. The rooms are large and comfortable. Breakfast is amazing and the Savoy Grill is excellent but a little pricey. We would definitely stay again. Kind of disappointed that I didn't see any ghosts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Eric from pittsburgh

Historical hotel, dated but comfortable.

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Large quaint suite. Pleasant staff.
Cons: This hotel might not be for someone that has trouble getting in or out of a raised bathtub (shower) or a raised bed.
Location: see above.
Easy to reach from KCI by bus #129 ($1.50 one way as of May 2014). Bus leaves you off a block from hotel. Enter hotel and enter lobby from left door. Interior off putting. Approach dated/historical lobby. After checking in, back track through door marked elevator. Once you get off the elevator and walk through dated hall you will forget all that when you enter your room. I had a suite for $150 + tax. Staff was pleasant and I had the steak at the Savoy Grill. Wasn't too flavorful but good. Maybe they didn't want to use lots of salt. Getting around, purchase a $3.00 all day pass. You can get a few buses at 10th Street Metro stop. That will get you to the Power & Light District and Union Station 12 blocks further. The two Max buses can be accessed from Wyandotte. The Orange Line will get you to Plaza (lots of upscale and chain restaurants).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hugh from London UK

A classic hotel with superb food

Posted May 15, 2014
Location: Close to the business district, Missouri River, reference library, restored Union Station and World War 1 Museum
The Savoy is not your normal US chain hotel! It transports you back to the early 20th Century or to the Roaring Twenties. The location and general facilities are excellent, my room was a delight, and the food for breakfast and dinner was to the very highest standard. The restaurant wine list is to die for! The only problem during my visit was the room wi-fi not working
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A step back in time

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Hotel only partially renovated, the rest has open hallways but rooms boarded up. Fun to explore and kids felt it was haunted.My room was very nice. Breakfast was great and service excellent. Grill looked elegant but did not eat there. Looked like a great wine list.Convoluted entry to lobby was interesting. If you like old historic places , you'll love it. If you like new and shiney, you won't
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wendy from Brookfield, MO, USA

Step back in time!

Posted Mar 3, 2013
Pros: It's charm and step back in time feel. The breakfast and staff! So friendly.
Cons: OK...It's an old elevator. LOL. But got us there!
Location: Quick walk to Power and Light and downtown. Easy access off interstate.
You will be transferred back in time and need to remember an old building. Thank goodness still standing! My friend and I appreciate that they do not build them like this anymore. Found staff amazing and quite friendly. Can see restoring many things and loved the old stained glass windows to the ceiling and all the old wood and "mightiness" of our setting. Bed was comfortable and did remind of of an old bed and breakfast style. Speaking of breakfast ...WOW!!!!! Service in restaurant and food wonderful. We loved it and will be back. Told our friends. Something different!
1 out of 5
by Nicky from Omaha, NE, USA

Avoid if possible

Posted Nov 4, 2012
Pros: Leaving the hotel
Cons: Everything about the hotel
Location: Good location central to the theatres etc
I had the worse night sleep whilst staying at this hotel. The floors creaked, the pipes made clanking noises to loud to be ignored behind the bed head, the gas heaters made loud hissing noises every hr or so, there was a constant loud dripping coming from a pipe i could not locate to turn off and to add to all this the loud horns on the trains that were being used at all hours of the night ensured you woke from what ever shallow sleep you were in. The lobby was not tidy and the restaurant was unavaliable for breakfast. It got to a point of being so bad i contemplated leaving the hotel and going down the road to find another place for the night. Im shocked that the rate for this place is so high!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

okay if you want something "unique"

Posted Jul 2, 2012
although the hotel was very elegant at one time and in some ways it still is, the rooms do not appear to have had anything fixed or updated in 20+ years - holes in the carpet, cracks in the sink, etc. the biggest issue was that it was a "non-smoking" room but still smelled like cigarette smoke, which is pretty much a given if you never change out the carpet, wallpaper, curtains, etc. they also had not done a very good job cleaning the room before our arrival (a few hairs in the shower, an old tissue behind the bedstand). the A/C was minimally functional (we set the thermostat to 70 degrees but the room never really felt cooler than about 78 degrees and was super humid). the room we stayed in (one of the "victorian rooms") was also very small. i would recommend the "victorian suite" or "victorian deluxe suite" (both of which have 2 rooms) if you stay there.. nonetheless, the hotel staff was extremely friendly. the breakfast in the morning was great as well. if you stay there, make sure to try everything on the menu since it's all included in the price of your room anyway! overally, it was an okay place to stay if you are a young couple looking for something unique and not too outrageously expensive. it would not be a good place to stay if you want something 100% clean and comfortable with zero flaws.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Dayton, OH, USA

Great visit the second time.

Posted Jun 22, 2012
Pros: Charming, comfortable, relaxing room.
Cons: Occasionally the elevator didn't work. I didn't mind taking the stairs.
Location: Convenient location ... off the really busy streets ... five to ten minute walk from most of the activity downtown.
This was my second time at the hotel. Ended up with the same room as for previous stay. Room was spacious; bed was very comfortable. Had a little trouble with the internet connection ... they needed to reset the router. The gourmet breakfast was delicious.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unlike anything I've ever experienced

Posted Apr 28, 2012
The place is a nuts throwback to an earlier idea of luxury with huge breakfasts on offer, but oddly disappointing ingredients and follow-through. For example, I had salmon and caviar -- a great idea, right? -- but the bread was moldy. Our bed was quite comfortable, and the room was acceptable in a gone-to-seed kind of way. My wife kept talking about the movie "Barton Fink", and that really made sense. I can't recommend it to the unsuspecting, but I'm glad we stayed there. It was unlike anything I've ever experienced.