Ratings based on 479 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hyatt Place Overland Park

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Very nice place! The room was comfortable, spacious & very clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Average hotel stay. When I arrived there was no one that was able to check me in because the one lady who could was "out on a shuttle run." Would have thought any of the 5 other people working could have done that to allow her to stay and check guests in... Room itself had an odd, almost musty smell and there was a wet spot on the floor at the end of the bed. For the price I would have preferred to stay elsewhere but no other hotels had availability
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent Place to Stay!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: You could buy cookies for a midnight snack and they would warm them up for you!
Cons: The hotel is very well kept up!
I was pleasantly surprised by the room size. My husband and daughter and I booked this hotel for a weekend in Kansas City for a Chiefs game. Upon arriving the hotel staff was very pleasant! When we got to our room we were very surprised by how large the room was. The bonus was a sectional couch with a big TV! There was plenty of room to relax and watch tv without having to sit in bed to watch TV! I would really recommend this hotel to anyone with kids needing a room with extra space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Great pool area ,staff exceptionally friendly ,breakfast choice poor ,good WiFi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Surprise-----Great Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Never having stayed at this chain, I was utmost impressed. Coming back from a week stay in Yellowstone, I needed something nice. This was the first stay at Hyatt Place. The room was huge. The room was superbly clean and plenty of room for the boys to watch TV from the other side of the room on the couch. I needed some distance from the teenagers and the spacious room filled the need nicely. I could not stay for the breakfast. I was almost tempted to delay the departure for the complimentary skillet breakfast. I will be back. Hats off to the Hyatt. A little more money for a lot more service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

Good location!

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We traveled to Kansas City to enjoy worlds of fun and Schlitterbahn. The hotel was located conveniently for both parks and the country club plaza was easy to get to. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast and took full advantage of the huge cookies they sell (and warm up) as a bed time snack. Staff was SUPER helpful and had a great sense of humor also. Differently going back to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

Great Hotel for a Fantastic Price

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Beautiful, comfy rooms; great breakfast; location was ideal for shopping, eating, and quick access to the highway.
Cons: Pool was outside, but there's not much you can do about that....
Location: Very close to a fantastic shopping area with an abundance of restaurants.
My family (wife and four kids 8 years old and younger) and I have stayed at this hotel in the past, and have always been very pleased with the experience. On this occasion I booked five rooms for an extended family gathering, and once again I was very satisfied. The only complaint that I had was that they weren't able to get us all on the same floor. The excuse was that they were booked solid the night before, and they weren't able to get all of the rooms cleaned and ready for us by our 3:00p check-in time. So, we could either wait another couple of hours for all the rooms to be ready on the same floor, or check-in at 3:00p. We chose to check-in on time, but be on different floors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

Very Nice Hotel, highly recommended for families.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: As a family, we would appreciate a microwave oven as expected in Suites. The Suites mentioned above all have burners, full sized fridges etc.
Location: The location is central and close to loads of clothes, groceries (COSTCO), Chinese meal etc.
Ever since we stayed at Hyatt Place in Chicago, IL and Cleveland,OH, we have been smitten by its natural decor and layout as it meets our requirements that we are used to at Sierra Suites, Marriott Springhill Suites, Homewood Suites by Hilton and Wyndham Suites.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Check in troubles

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Check in started at 3pm, we arrived about 5:30, they said they had no double rooms ready. They could not give me an estimated time that it would be ready either. They said they could get me into a smaller room immediately, so they showed me one, they said it was the same price as our larger room, I told them that would not work since we had 5 staying in the room. I asked if we could get a refund to stay at a different location, but they said our money was tied up in the 3rd party. We ended up getting our room about 6:40, with no real apologies.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Lesley, Hotel Management
My apologies for your delayed check in. This is certainly not what you should expect and is definiately not the service we generally offer. I certainly hope that you will give us another chance to serve you in the future so that you may have as enjoyable a stay as our other Expedia guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend getaway

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Friendly staff comfy bed great breakfast! Unique room with lots of comfy seating
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Lesley, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback! We hope to see you on your next trip to Overland Park!