Ratings based on 330 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

Great Location but quality not what expected

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: Buy comfortable pillow top mattresses
We love the location and the view from this hotel but the mattresses are not comfortable and there was a lot of noise at all hours from outside and from the hallways. The A/C goes off at night and we kept waking up hot and could not figure out how to get the A/C to come back on and stay on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom columbia, mo

Location was perfect

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Had a great girls weekend! Very nice staff, wonderful location, easy to get to, and nice room. Loved the brunch. I would stay here again and plan to in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Classy hotel. Clean, staff friendly and helpful.

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Grand looking image, cleanliness, courteous and helpful staff.
Cons: It would be nice to have some bottled water in the room.
Location: Great location, right on the Plaza. Convenient to restaurants & shopping.
Only stayed one night, but enjoyed my experience and the staff was helpful. Got a taxi to my meeting the following morning- staff was quite helpful in securing a cab in a timely manner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by InterContinental Hotel Kansas City, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel. Next time you are in Kansas City we hope you can stay at the InterContinental longer! Don Breckenridge General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Kent in the concierge lounge is amazing!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
The customer service is unlike any I have experienced before. There is a man named Kent in the Concierge Lounge who is the kindest man I have ever met. The whole staff was exceptional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by InterContinental Hotel , Hotel Management
Dear Hanna, Thank you for posting a five star review and the kind words you shared about our hotel! We are very happy you enjoyed Kent's company and I will share these comments with him! We hope to see you again next time you are in Kansas City! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location. Not much else

Posted Mar 17, 2015
My wife and I came here to visit the city on a last minute getaway and while the location was nice I expected a lot more from a 4 star hotel with pretty good reviews. Pros: location Cons: our bathroom, everything is old, room smelt like smoke My biggest complaint was the bathroom. We were put into a room made for handicap access which meant that instead of having a tub, which I would expect in a four star hotel, we had a shower with a fold down bench and holding bars for stability. This made us not even want to use the shower bc we weren't sure how clean the bathroom floor was that is connected to the shower floor in this particular room. Besides this the room smelt like smoke and it was a bit dark it an unromantic way. Basically the hotel was good for sleeping and that's about it. They do have live music downstairs which we didn't get around to. The location is great but in hindsight I would've rather stayed at a cheaper hotel in the area. There was another four star hotel right across the street that might be a better option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Omaha, NE

Always Love the Intercontinental at the Plaza

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Location, view, staff, overall hotel character
Cons: nothing really, free wifi
Location: KC Plaza, not much else to add
We stayed at the Intercontinental for my wife's 'birthday weekend' at the Plaza in Kansas City. The hotel is wonderful as always. Close to the Plaza and easy walking distance to all the shops, restaurants, etc. We had a 'deluxe' room that was on the 5th floor with a balcony overlooking the Plaza. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. Nice sitting area and the room had a refrigerator (something that was added to all rooms in the last year or so it seems). The hotel is a classic and though old, it has distinctive character and ambiance. The hotel staff could not be more accommodating. Provided my wife with a gift for her birthday. Room service was quite good actually. Parking garage is attached and easily accessed. The breakfast buffet in the Oak Room was nice but they seemed a little slow in bringing out new breakfast items. The view from the Oak Room is outstanding, however, so it was worth the waiting. My one major complaint was lack of 'free' internet/WiFi though if you sign up for the 'IHG Rewards Card' (which is free) you can gain free access to the WiFi free of charge...I simply hate paying for internet access when I am paying to stay in a hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2015 by InterContinental Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Bruce, Thank you so much for sharing those great comments! We truly appreciate the five star rating and the kind things you had to say about our hotel! We are thrilled to hear your stay was so enjoyable and we hope to see you again at the InterContinental! Don Breckenridge General Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2015 by InterContinental Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Bruce, Thank you so much for sharing those great comments! We truly appreciate the five star rating and the kind things you had to say about our hotel! We are thrilled to hear your stay was so enjoyable and we hope to see you again at the InterContinental! Don Breckenridge General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom springfield, mo

Great location!

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. Clean and nice. Only complaint would be room was right next to elevator and could hear it all night. Request one far away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Don Breckenridge, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, Thank you for your 4 star review! We do have a hardworking housekeeping staff that does an incredible job for us. Look forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Indianapolis Indiana

Good location close to shops and restaurants.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Close to shops and restaurants.
Cons: The irons in the rooms really don't work well at all. Second time I've stayed here.
Location: Plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.
I had a pleasant stay. The staff is very nice and the room very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Don Breckenridge, Hotel Management
Hello Tracy, Thanks for the great review! We are very proud of our staff, and are glad they made you feel welcome! Look forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Great location. Easy access to Plaza.
Cons: More seating in bar area
In town for one night to see family. Great hotel at reasonable price. Great room with excellent view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Don Breckenridge, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, Thank you for the great review! We hope you come and see us again soon! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2015
top-Lage, schöner Ausblick, gutes Essen. leider kein kostenloses WIFI.