Ratings based on 1,040 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel.

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very nice. Its in a great part of Kansas City. Its in a quiet neighborhood, with lots of shops and great places to eat within easy walking distance. I wish all the hotels wI stayed at ere as nice as this, well priced and had such wonderfull neighborhoods.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by candy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Disappointed from MO

An underwhelming experience

Posted May 31, 2014
We expected for the location, pictures and the overall summary for it to be a better experience. When I arrived I was asked to sign on a form that we would not smoke & if we did to expect a big fine. Imagine our surprise when we made it to the room and it smelled like smoke. When I called down they offered to come and spray the room. We declined and requested a room change which they did with no problems. The water pressure was very poor, the room layout is odd and the breakfast that promised omelettes took well over 30 minutes. There was one cook & when I asked for extra cheese I was told she had too many ahead of me to remember. As we got closer to her making my omelette I reminded her as a courtesy but to no avail. She was to her credit nice but it was disappointing nonetheless. They also ran out of silverware and it took a great deal of time after requesting it for it to appear. It was not the worst experience ever but it was not what they advertise it to be and that was disappointing. We look forward to the changes that we assume the Marriott will make when they take over ownership in the near future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Lee from Grass Valley

Great Staff, but not much else to rave about.

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Apparently the hotel has been bought by Marriot's and the previous owner has another hotel just up the road. It does not look like any upkeep has been done on the hotel in a while. The hallway carpets were filthy the rooms, were a little better. I would like to thank some of the staff by name, Chason, Brandy, & Orlando, for making our stay as comfortable as possible. You all work very hard! There was a problem with the AC a couple of nights, the electricity went out twice, the housekeeping staff walked out the night before we left. Don't know if I'd stay there again since most of the staff is being let go.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by ATJ from Kansas City

The a/c was broken.

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
I wish we had stayed elsewhere because the a/c kept going out. I hope the renovations make this hotel nicer. I'd recommend the 816 hotel down the street over this one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Wait for Renovations Before Staying

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is converting to Marriott brand and will be renovated shortly. Current hotel conditions are inadequate. However, the hotel staff is very good and free shuttle to different locations close to the hotel was appreciated along with friendly driver's (Orlando) advice about KC.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Josh from Des Moines Iowa

2nd Stay at this hotel

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I stayed at this hotel last year and loved it. The location is excellent as we love the Westport area. This year the stay was disappointing. The hotel is getting ready to be turned into a Marriot this fall and it seems in the mean time they have little regard for maintenance, cleanliness, or amenities. The front desk staff, shuttle staff, and kitchen staff were amazing! Very friendly and very helpful. I think they are doing the best they can in poor circumstances. While we were there the air conditioners quit working in the middle of the night and the housekeeping staff walked out one morning. The rooms were much more run down and the overall feel of the hotel was just sad. Chason and Orlando were awesome! And while checking out Rico did reduce our bill because of some of the problems. Again the staff was excellent, unfortunately management and the ownership not so much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by kris from kansas city

Third time is a charm??

Posted May 27, 2014
The young man at the front desk seemed rushed and was very short with me. I asked about the complimentary cocktail hour and he said they no longer offered that. I pointed out that when I made the reservation just 4 days prior, it stated that a cocktail hour was included. He made no effort to compensate or offer so much as an apology. He gave me room keys and much to my shock when we opened the door the room was obviously occupied. I would be livid to learn that they gave someone access to my room!! The next key they gave me went to a room that was not cleaned. Finally the third room was acceptable. Again, no apology or offer to make amends. The best thing I can say is that breakfast was terrific! The staff during the complimentary breakfast was very friendly