Ratings based on 512 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

Difficult Weekend

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
You and your staff made a difficuly weekend for our family after a year ago tragedy easier and lighter. Linzy in the Bar and restaurant was especially kind......the food fantastic, the music delightful and the service from the Bellman to front desk were so polite and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Everything: rooms are beautiful. Staff so accommodating. Music in the evenings.
Cons: nothing
Location: Beautiful area of town. Gorgeous area of shopping and restaurants. River with gondolas. Just a great place to be.
Best Hotel. Can't wait to go back. Would move there if I could
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Very nice room - nice tradition - great staff
Location: Plaza is right across the street
Wonderful stay - great location - near the Plaza, too. A very nice bar, too. Great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Last, Best Night of a Long Trip

Posted Jul 14, 2014
I stayed at the Raphael on the last night of what had been a nine-day drive through the central and northern plains. Because seeing country new to me was the whole point of the trip, I had stayed somewhere different each night. By the last day, I was thoroughly road-weary. I changed my route at the last minute so that I could spend the final night of my trip at the Raphael. It proved to be a brilliant move. From an exceptionally gracious bellman to a wonderfully comfortable room to a splendid breakfast, everything--well, made me happy. I don't know how else to say it: The staff of the Raphael quite simply took care of me. I left Kansas City feeling truly rested--not easy after 2,000 miles of driving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from currently in Memphis

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Everything was awesome! Room was perfect. They upgraded us to a room with a wonderful view. Had live music every night. So close to the best shopping it was dangerous for my finances! Would go back in a heartbeat and plan to do so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
My experience was fantastic. The staff was courteous and the wait staff in the restaurant provided excellent service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Anniversary Surprise!

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We came to Kansas City to celebrate our 35th anniversary and the hotel went above and beyond to help us. They upgraded our room to a suite, provided wine and chocolates and the overall service was excellent. Had a wonderfully decadent breakfast at Chaz-highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and friendly

Posted Jun 11, 2014
The staff was incredibly friendly and the room was beautiful as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Melanie from Kansas City

beautiful historic hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
wonderful for special occasions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cheryl from Lawrence Kansas

Lovely Hotel-Restaurant is lacking

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was lovely, the room was clean and very well appointed. We had reserved a regular standard room and were pleasantly surprised when we were upgraded to a King Suite. We enjoyed everything about the hotel itself, you cannot beat the location and the cost is very fair. However, the restaurant was lacking. The food sounded delicious and the selection was satisfactory but the food lacked any real flavor. This is the second time we have visited Chaz and once again we were sadly disappointed. The reviews are complementary but we will not return to the restaurant again. The staff seem somewhat confused and the food is marginal. I would recommend the Capital Grill or the Kona Grill both within walking distance and the food is much better! Other than the food; excellent stay. I am planning to host a conference in late fall and would seriously considered the Raphael if not for the food issue.