Ratings based on 547 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Omaha, NE

Always A Pleasure

Posted Apr 13, 2015
It had been 3 years since the last time we stayed at this hotel. Our experience then was so wonderful that instead of staying near the Downtown Art District we chose to go with what we know. And once again we were completely happy. I love this hotel, the staff, and the location. Do NOT skip eating breakfast at the restaurant on site. It is so delicious. And remember! Off street parking is free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
The front desk was always nice. They made our anniversary weekend extra special. And it was a beautiful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom st.Louis

Wonderful staff

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: N/a
Location: Country Club Plaza is still great I haven't been there in 25 years but will return.
From valet to front desk everyone was fabulous. They had down pillows which they switch out straight away ,allergies. Chaz bar was really cool,didn't have dinner but will next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom calgary, AB

Old school hotel near good restaraunts

Posted Mar 28, 2015
The hotel has an upscale 1920's type atmosphere (but everything looks new), with great staff. The area has a number of restaraunts across the canal, and there are some decent running/walking paths across the street. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel for both the location and the quality of hotel itself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Rooms with a view are small

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Ambiance, proximity to shopping and activities
I much prefer the size of the "Standard" room we had on a previous visit as opposed to the "Plaza view" this time. We were meeting another couple for a getaway weekend and even though we were checking in right at the 4p check in time they couldn't put us on the same floor much less adjoining, even though I had requested that in advance. When we tried to gather in each other's room for socializing before going out, it was super tight accommodations . I got the feeling that because we reserved through a 3rd party that we were 2nd class citizens for the deal price of $510.00- 2 night charge. The check in girl didn't offer or explain any of the hotel's amenities. Sat night we had horrible service by the only cocktail waitress in The Chaz restaurant, it would have been much easier and faster to go directly up to the bar. A standard 4 sip cocktail had a $10 price tag to top off the wait. The bed and linens were comfortable and the room was elegant and clean, plenty of nice, thick towels also. We had an excellent waiter Sun. morning with an ample, delicious breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, N.Y.

Classy, elegant, old world feeling.

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Great location, moments away from every appointment. Excellent restaurant and bar service, great meeting place.
Cons: A few breakfast breads with the coffee in the lobby, for guests who don't have time for a complete breakfast.
Location: The Plaza area across from the hotel has everything one could possible need. Great restaurants and shops.
Courteous staff provides excellent service. My stay was very enjoyable, hope to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stevenfrom Des Moines

Outstanding classic hotel just off the Plaza

Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
By far my favorite hotel in Kansas City, it is my KC home for both business and pleasure. Located just off the Plaza with walking access to fine dining and shops, this hotel can't be beat. The staff is very attentive and the facility is extremely well maintained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

A chilly break in Kansas City

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: The location was perfect and the staff e very helpful and informative. The restaurant is good for dinner and breakfast along with the 'Happy hour'.
Cons: The weather! we plan to make our next visit in the summer.
Location: The hotel is walking distance from the Plaza where there is ample shopping, a cinema and numerous restaurants.
As we arrived in the city the temperatures dropped but had a great stay. We still managed to get around and do the 'tourist things'. the hotel staff assisted us and made sure we saw the main attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lincoln, NE

Beautiful Historic Hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: The lobby is beautiful and home baked cookies severed every night!
Cons: The food was not very good.
Location: Everything! Every kind of shopping and restaurant you could want is within walking distance. We love the Plaza area.
Beautiful room. However, we reserved a "plaza view room" and we were on the first floor so our view was actually of the parking lot. Be specific if you care about your view. Had dinner at the Chaz restaurant our first night. Charming place with very nice jazz duo live music. Our entrees were disappointing and I did n't even finish my dessert. We didn't go back even though we stayed for 5 nights - too many other better restaurants nearby. We also had room service a few times and the food was also disappointing.