Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Calwinisti from Finland

Nice view to the valley and sauna!

Posted Oct 9, 2013
A good night's sleep and good breakfast. I wonder if they have separate beds?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robert from Seattle WA - USA

Lovely hotel and the most welcoming staff.

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: Everything.
Cons: A ramp for easier access.
Location: As said above, right on the paved trail on the river shore towards the parks and city center. Several typical restaurants in the same block.
We enjoyed our stay from end to end. Well situated on the shore of the river and away from the traffic. 5' walk to the city center. Great breakfast that changed every morning. Lovely balconies with views and a nice spa. We will go again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Frank W. from Hochheim am Main, DEU

Nice facility with so-so service

Posted Jul 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Humboldt is a high quality facility in a great location. Our reservation was for a double bed, but that is not what we were assigned. To their credit, the staff quickly escorted us to another room. Very nice upgrade, too. However, the service staff in the restaurant/bar that evening left much to be desired. When coupled with the breakfast the next morning (the eggs and oatmeal were cold), we'd have to think twice before returning to the Humboldt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bryan from Bayern

Great hotel!

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Excellent overall experience. Friendly and helpful staff. Hotel has its own parking area, but it is small. Parking in downtown Karlovy Vary is limited and many hotels do not have their own garages or lots. Request and confirm reserved parking in advance and you'll have no troubles. Of note for those that do not speak Czech - most of the staff speaks a little English but they are more comfotable speaking standard German. In most businesses in the area this seemed to be the norm. I consistently had better results when I spoke German. The deluxe double room is very nice and large. The bed was very comfortable. Extra pillows and towells were cordially provided on request. My wife, two year old and I all had plenty of room in the bed. The only "complaint" would be the somewhat dated carpet... but in all fairness I prefer hardwood flooring. Buffet standard European continental breakfast is included. Naturally this included local standard fare as well. The bar is a little small, but adequate for a quiet social drink. The spa and pool were great! The restaurant had excellent food and the menu was a fair mix of local and other European cuisine. There is both indoor and outdoor seating. The hotel's location is very convenient; at most a 15 minute walk to the farthest part of the city center. Plenty of food and shopping choices within a less than five minute walk too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Josh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Viv. from Swansea, UK

Posted Apr 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Unfortunately the standard at breakfast was appalling. The staff in the breakfast room were neither attentive nor helpful. We had to wait ten minutes for the milk churn to be refilled, and also a similar time for the hot dishes to be replenished. Apart from this, our stay at the hotel was very pleasant and satisfactory. Viv.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by beeler from kaiserslautern

humboldt

Posted Mar 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
excellent staff. they spoke German and English and were very virtuous and showed us how to use everything in the room even though we live in Europe. the breakfast was awsome and te price was wonderful in the spas. gret location between the shopping district an historic district. we had an awsome time at the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cam from Australia

Karlovy in Style

Posted Jan 11, 2013
Beautiful spot for our stay in Karlovy Vary. Rooms are old school size with high quality fixtures. Breakfast was just a tad average, but I still managed to eat too much
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Catalin

Very nice hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2012
Location: Ireland
Very nice hotel and friendly staff especialy George from the reception. Clean hotel could be a 5 star. If we will return one day to Karlovy Vary defenitly we will stay there again. We would like to thank all the staff for their hard work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stacy

Great service, good location, large room

Posted Aug 31, 2012
We stopped in for lunch, and the service was great, and the food was fabulous, so we decided to spend the night. The room was huge (compared to other european hotels) the spa was really nice. Will stay there again.