Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, South Australia

6 nights at Access Resort & Villas in Karon

Posted Jan 22, 2014
My wife and I stayed at the Access Resort in Karon for 6 nights. The resort was beautifully landscaped, the pools were always clean and the rooms were perfect for us (the bed was very hard but we actually slept better than at home). The staff were very friendly and helpful and always greeted us whenever passing by. We ventured out in to Karon and ate at the local restaurants and they were great especially Seafood at Karon... $30 for a whole lobster! We also found an awesome aussie bar called The Roadhouse. A few nights a week they have a local blues band which is amazing, I would love to have them at the local pub here in Adelaide. I did have a couple of all complaints about the resort but it's very minor... The pool closed at 7pm so they could dose with chlorine but I thought that was way too early especially with the place lit up like a Christmas tree at night the swim up bar would have got much more use. The only other thing was that toilet paper could not be flushed, it had to be put in the bin. This took some getting used to but it's actually very common practice over there. In all the trip was amazing and we can't wait to get back there!!! We would definitely consider going back to Access Resort and we would happily use Expedia again. Also we flew with Air Asia which everyone complained about in the reviews I read before leaving but they weren't that bad. They are a budget airline and you get what you pay for... I'll fly with them again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

in need of a refurbishment.

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: clean and comfortable.
Cons: POOL. Tea/ coffee and toiletries not replaced during stay.
Location: Great restraunts and massage just outside.
green wing pool is old and many broken tiles and features. Old palm fronds in pool for 2 days.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very far from the Beach

Posted Jan 5, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Resort with Huge pool

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Room size, Pool.
Cons: The buffet food was never very hot.
Location: maybe a 15min walk to the beach, tuk tuks are everywhere so its no hassle.
We arrive at 1am, staff were friendly and welcoming. We had two adjoining rooms with our teenage kids and both were huge. Its a bit of a walk to the beach and Karon main shopping strip but lots to see on the way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ferg from Adelaide, SA

Great value for money

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Not the newest resort but is good value for money. The pools are nice and the swim up bars are handy - however the pools need a bit of work, tiles are breaking off and some of the steps were very rough, you could cut your toe/foot on them. However this is minor stuff - the staff are friendly, the rooms are great and having the pool at your doorstep is awesome. Breakfasts were great, I suggest ordering the poached eggs! Didn't use the spa at the resort because there is one just at the end of the driveway which was really cheap and fantastic, got a massage everyday!! Easy walk into Karon central and heaps of nice restaurants and bars to choose from. You'll love it!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Candy & Justin from Tasmania, Australia

Very relaxing

Posted Nov 6, 2013
My husband and I have recently been to the access and for the 2nd time in two years, absolutely loved it. Fantastic staff, wonderful service, beautiful hotel and the pool access from every room is brilliant! Would highly recommend!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Direct pool access

Posted Sep 27, 2013
Comfortable resort that ticked all the boxes for us. Nice comfortable place to relax for people on a budget. Best feature is the swim out rooms. Facilities starting to look rundown and location a slight detractor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Missie747 from Melville WA

Lovely Setting

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The grounds here were really quite lovely and very quiet. I would go for the blue wing as then you are not right on the main pool or the restaurant. Bit of a hike to eat out but still only 1 km. The best of the hotels in this area. Lovely rooms maintained to a high standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel met all our expectations. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The rooms were clean, had all basic amenities and the pool access from the room was the best. The pool stretches out as it goes through all the rooms, so it never felt crowded. They also have 2 wet bars in the pool which is very convenient and they had happy hour specials. The beach is about a 10 min walk form the hotel but we didn’t mind that as there were many tiny restaurants and local shops/ markets to explore. The hotel does offer a complimentary shuttle to the beach. The food at the hotel restaurant was delicious and they were very accommodating to our dietary needs. Overall, an amazing experience and would love to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very satisfied guests!

Posted Jul 27, 2013
Pros: The pools, the room and the staff
Cons: The pillows were a little on the hard side, but nothing horrendous...
Location: A little way out of Karon, however the walk is not far and is quite pleasant.
The resort is beautiful! The staff are so friendly and helpful. The pools were very cute, and spacious. It is amazing having the pool right on your back doorstep. If any couple are wondering which resort in Karon Beach they should try, you cannot look past Access! We will definitely be back!