Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great hotel with beautiful seaview

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: 1. Pool opening hours until 7 pm is not good and should be extended to 10 pm at least. 2. Prices for breakfast per person way to high
Location: Eateries in short walking distance, great beach with glass-clear water, rent a motorbike to browse around, Patong is not necessary, visit Phuket Town!
It was our first time to Phunaka Hotel in Karon area and we were very pleased and happy about our decision to stay there. Friendly staff, spacious and clean room with a nice balcony facing Karon beach, good location (we prefer higher ground located hotels), near to the beach and shopping area/restaurants. You have to climb some stairs, yes, but we didn't mind and got used to it quickly, so it was not a real problem for us. Please consider when in need of a wheelchair, all rooms or lifts are accessible only by climbing some stairs. Nice and clean pool, amazingly maintained squash court with extra shower facilities, possibility to rent a motorbike just opposite the hotel, restaurants in short walking distance. We didn't opt for breakfast so we can't really judge the food from the restaurant but the friendly staff always lend us utensils we needed. We are already planning our next trip to exactly the very same hotel...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by trinimel from London

Lovely modern hotel with character

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: The air conditioning in the room could be cooler and the pool should be open later.
Location: Karon beach, Kaein Town. Restaurants, bars, massage parlours. Rent a mo-ped and go see the sights. It's a good location to use as a base.
A fantastic stay. We don't see how our stay could have been much better. The male reception who greeted us in arrival was so welcoming and helpful despite us having booked in the hour before we arrived. The hotel had only just received our reservation but we were upgraded to a family room so we would not have to wait while a room was prepared for us. The room was lovely, clean and well laid out. The view from the balcony was spectacular, looking over the entire town of Karon with even Big Budha in the distance. The pool was lovely, clean, perfect temperature and not overwhelmed with chlorine. The pool bar was serviced by competent helpful staff. Thank you again to them it's a shame I can't remember their names. I recommend Happy hour. Don't be put off by the distance of the hotel from the main road, the map is deceptive. It's less than 10mins walk down the road, 15mins max to the beach. There is a beach drop-off at regular intervals if you don't want to walk. Julyin from the restaurant, thanks for the great advice. Would I recommend this hotel, of course. I wish I was there right now. The only negative is that the aircon could have been better as my partner preferred a cold room. I thought it was okay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Huda Shahriz from Singapore

Well done!

Posted Feb 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Irregardless of not-so-good reviews by others, we found nothing to fault with Phunaka. The service was excellent! The multi-nationality of the staff makes this hotel unique. The room cleanliness was top notch! Oh yes, the lift is very interesting and if you do not want to take the lift, you could always exercise by walking up.... it was an excellent choice for us. Location is great too! Plus point : we had a late flight and could not extend half a day as the hotel was full. They however suggested that we laze by the pool and even had shower facilities for us to freshen up! Well done Phunaka, we will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from Stockholm

afforable hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good Hotel, short walking distance to center. Good deal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Milo from Hobart-Tasmania

Nice Hotel position and friendly staff

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: View,position and staff
Cons: Not much ,but what can be done is welcome.
Location: May by visit another beach without as many Russians.
I will return to same hotel again, hope that spa will be fixed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by daniel

We loved the phunaka resort

Posted Nov 29, 2013
Staff were very friendly and also very helpful, it's in a great location 6 minute walk or 2 minute scooter ride out of the busy area, the rooms are great and the pool is amazing. I'd recommend this hotel to anybody
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

What a view!

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
A very pleasant experience in Karon, highly recommended hotel. Make sure you a rent a motorbike next door to travel around Phuket island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adam from Brisbane QLD, Australia

Don't look any further this acommadations perfect

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Pros: Location quiet amazing views
Cons: Nothing absolutely nothing
Location: On the hill overlooking village and the beautiful beach
Absolutely fantastic. They deserve 5 Stars. The best accomadation in Phuket The infinity pool with built in spa lounges was amazing the luxurious rooms with beautiful linen every room with amazing views over the sea luxury bathroom deep bath and separate shower with views through a sliding window door to the bedroom and sea views quality toiletries The staff were great helpful and genuinely caring. The buffet breakfast with waterfall chef ready to cook omelettes bacon and eggs ect fresh fruit cereal hot foods ect Love love love this hotel I will be back for sure the have thought of everything. The grounds are also beautifully maintained
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ORinGo from Singapore

Good Experience for a Getaway trip

Posted Jul 14, 2013
Pros: Nice staff & impressive swimming pool
Cons: Walking distance from the lift to room and to lobby
Nice swimming pool and positive service attitude of the staff. However, most staff couldn't speak good English. Far walking distance to the karon beach. Slight inconvenience when the lift was spoilt and next alternative is the buggy. No shelter for the walking distance from the room to lift; hence caught in the rain despite with umbrella and the buggy would be unsafe to be used. Room for improvement for the western food like chicken and pork chop. Limited choice for dine in meals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

View from the mountain top

Posted Apr 1, 2013
For one who would like a tranquil environment, Karon Phunaka is great! To note though that the walls are probably quite thin hence please refrain from getting too rowdy at any time of the day lest you incur the wrath of neighbours who love to sleep / coup themselves inside the hotel room.