Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beach Vacation from Canada

Good for family vacation

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Space, view, close to the beach, 2 clean pools, available parking on the premises.
Cons: Cleanliness, customer service. You will find that there's not too many people to assist you/any customer service on weekends.
Location: Next Karon Beach, close to good dining places.
Sunset Plaza is close to the beach, being located on a steep hill makes it almost vital to rent a vehicle. There's a shuttle bus that takes guests down the hill from 9 to 12 and up the hill from 1 to 6. Management company who takes care of rental properties is slow to react of any of guests' needs, but they do eventually react if you call. This also included calls requesting cleaning. The apartment we stayed in was in OK shape, however far from spotless, plenty of dust, jacuzzi is unusable due to stain and grime, looks like it hasn't been cleaned in months or years. For basic need of large group of people it is ok. It had reasonably well sized rooms, very nice ocean view from the balcony. The condo has 2 pools, which are clean and pleasant to use. You will find that there's not too many people to assist you/any customer service on weekends. There's not enough parking for everyone, so sometimes you will find your car blocked in the morning.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by wm from Singapore

Poor Service & Bad Experience at Penthouse Unit

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed 3 nights at Sunset Plaza Penthouse unit in late Dec'13. No doubt the unit has very nice view but both air-con in the living room were not cold at all and we could feel warm air instead! Imagine with the afternoon sun shinning strongly into the all-glass living room, we were like staying in an OVEN!! We specially paid high price and booked this unit during Xmas period mainly for the season celebration in a great view Penthouse and with the fun of Jacuzzi. In the end, we did not enjoy the sunset view due to the the hot living room and hence we had to escape to the Jacuzzi area but with great disappointment, the Jacuzzi was not working either!! In addition, the strong sewage smell from all the toilets that spread into the bedrooms was just disgusting!! Despite our complains to the Management and their promises to fix the air-con and Jacuzzi before we leave, they failed to keep their promises by the time we check-out!! We really felt cheated after paying such a high price for the bad experience of our stay!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pam from Hervey Bay, Australia

Roomy spacious unit close to everything.

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: Lots of space as were in a group of four. Great views and staff very helpful in providing things we needed if not in room.
Cons: Overall clean but some TLC to condition of unit. Shuttle could be more regular and go slightly more distance not just up and down the hill.
Location: Between Karon and Kata Beaches, close to some great restaurants and smaller less busy shops and markets. A refreshing change from Patong Beach.
Loved the spaciousness of the room but felt the unit needed some TLC. Extremely steep hill but can get Taxi's to take you up the hill at little cost. Internet was on and off but overall great, quiet area and yet close enough to walk to most things.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Adam from Melbourne

Bucks Week at Sunset Plaza

Posted Mar 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
We (8 of us) stayed in the 3br penthouse and had an awesome time, the queen beds were comfortable and the view was to die for! The room was thoroughly cleaned every 2nd or 3rd day. One of the pools had an awesome view and we spent most of our pool time there, the gym is small but had most the equipment required. As mentioned in previous reviews the hill is a killer!! but the shuttle was there for most of the time and the hill does come handy when you need to sober up. Location is good for families but not for singles, we spent most of our time in Patong as thats where the action is, taxis/tuc tucs are $10-15 to Patong from sunset plaza which is not too bad. We enjoyed our stay here and will miss the sunsets, best view from the penthouse!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Spanna from Perth WA, Australia

Great Family Holiday

Posted Mar 5, 2013
Pros: The view, the pools and the comfortable rooms.
Cons: The steep driveway
Location: Great location to the beach, restaurants, laundry and local shops and markets
My whole family thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Phuket and at the Sunset Plaza. The hotel provided a comfortable and relaxing place to call home while we were away. The room was everything we had hoped for and the facilities such as the pool and gym got plenty of use by all. The view out to the sea and the sunsets were amazing and provided us a welcome and relaxing retreat. Whilst the step driveway provided some challenges it was not unbearable and with the friendly assistance of the resident van driver and local tuk tuks thankfully we didn't need to do the climb ourselves too often.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Linda from Brisbane

Nice, but might look at alternate digs

Posted Jan 4, 2013
Pros: When you got up the hill it was lovely. Geat pools
Cons: The walk up the driveway. But in all fairness we were alerted to this before we left Oz
Location: Great views
We booked 2 x 1 brm condo's. One with 2 x single beds (for 19yo son & 17 yo old duaghter. Got 1x king size bed. Mentioned it at checkout but they advised that they had no notification and nothing changed. We also booked late check out, but were requested to check out by midday. Fortunately the managers allowed us to have another room to stay in until our 6pm pick-up for the airport. We had already been alerted to the steep walk up the driveway to our rooms. Courtesy bus down the hill from 9am - 1pm. And up the hill (which you will be gratefull for) from 1pm to 6pm. But only down to or upto either end of the driveway.
2 out of 5
by Adam from Canada

Too inconvenient

Posted Nov 17, 2012
Pros: Modern look
Cons: Restricted by shuttle and location
Location: Top of big hill and not enough food options
The rooms look very nice and modern. The manager was very helpful and friendly. However, there is no hotel restaurant or many restaurants close by. The hotel is up a very steep hill. There is a shuttle but it stops running at 6pm. So unless you plan to cook in the room or have pizza delivered, you have to eat before 6... Or walk the hill that some cabs refuse to even drive up. Being walking distance from the beach was a definite plus but I wouldn't stay there again unless I had a vehicle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lorraine from Sydney

Beautiful hotel overlooking Karon Beach

Posted Aug 1, 2012
Pros: View, staff
Cons: Walking up the hill - but not really a problem
Location: Great location in Karon away from the business of Patong
Beautiful place to stay overlooking the ocean at Karon - they gave us a free upgrade into a 2 bedroom unit with loads of space, jaccuzi on the balcony, fantastic outlook Friendly management and staff who went out of their way to make our stay as easy and comfortable as possible There are some comments about the walk back up the hill, but the shuttle bus ran all day until 6pm and after that the taxis will take you up the hill anyway. Also what's wrong with a bit of exercise We are going back next year to stay in the 4 bedroom penthouse with the whole family HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Suset plaza Phuket holiday.

Posted Apr 22, 2012
Pros: The two bedrooms and the swimming pools. Very friendly staff.and the view.
Cons: The steep driveway.
Location: Good location overlooking the sea. near lots of shops and eating areas.
We have just returned from the sunset plaza hotel in Phuket. We enjoyed our stay there. My daughters loved the pool. And the view is fantastic. The staff were always helpful and friendly. Having the two bedrooms made it good for a family holiday. The only problem we found was it is on a steep driveway. There is a shuttle bus if you dont want to walk up and down though. Other wise we had a good time there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from California

nice quiet hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
It was a nice, clean and small hotel. Too bad it located on the hills and most taxi don't like to drive up to the hotel. I staysed there with my parents and I paid for the extra bed and person charge. They did brought the roll away bed with sheets and made it up but they didn't give me extra blanket. With the AC on all night, it can get cold. There is no housekeeping coming to make our bed n clean up during our stay of 3 nights. The condo can get dusty easily due to the condition of the enviroment around the hotel. Lastly, the bathroom got smelly after not being clean for 3 days. If there were housekeeping to come in to do daily clean up, it would have been a great stayed.