Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location for shopping

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good place for shopping and leisure
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Richard Yung from Hong Kong

Posted Feb 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfort
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tina from Singapore

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Hotel a bit tired

Posted Jul 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is showing its age. Very busy with shopping tour and conference groups. Email arrangements hopeless and complicated. Service very slow in "Marron" but the staff in the Japanese restaurant were helpful and cheery. We ate there twice but alternatives were distant and too expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for family travel.

Posted Jul 15, 2012
Good location. Freiendly staff, the Japanese restaurant is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Cottages Karuizawa Prince Hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2011 on Hotels.com
The cottages by the small little ponds were beautiful. A place with lush greenery, chirping birds and quacking ducks. Nice for a break from city life, with all the comfort of modern day amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Tennessee, USA

Peaceful, with hot springs and shopping nearby

Posted Nov 11, 2011
I spent three nights in the West Wing of the Karuizawa Prince Hotel, sleeping off my jetlag and preparing for my son's wedding. My experience could not have been better. My room was comfortable with a huge window facing Japanese maple trees in their autumn glory, there are many restaurants quietly located within the hotel, the mineral hot springs (onsen) is a free shuttle bus ride away, the hotel is very convenient to the shinkansen station, and a shopping center is an easy walk from the hotel. The windows open in case you are warm, and the deep tub is very relaxing. Computers are available for a small fee in the business center, and there's a small grocery/ gift shop in the lobby with friendly and helpful personnel. I hope to return to this hotel in the future because I loved this hotel and Karuizawa is a beautiful city in Nagano prefecture! Arigato gozaimasu!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Posted Nov 3, 2011 on Hotels.com
Hotel is located at a convenient location - next to the Shinkansen train station and there's the huge outlet next door for shopping. Stayed at the West Wing and the room was ample - larger than the regular sized hotel rooms found elsewhere. The hotel also provides frequent shuttles to and from the train station. On the negative side - the bed was not too comfortable and should be better given the room rate. Also, there are not many restaurants nearby and the costs of meals at the hotel are high. There were only two restaurants available for breakfast - one is only Japanese and the other is a buffet. The latter has a wide selection; however, it was too crowded with people and made for a somewhat negative experience for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Australia

And only an hour from Tokyo

Posted Feb 25, 2011
This place is pretty good value. The cottages are really comfortable and you can almost ski from the station to the resort - it's modest skiing in comparison to Nagano, but for a quick weekend or midweek getaway, it's great, and very pretty. Add to that the shopping. There are about 200 outlet stores (French, American, British, Japanese) with fantastic bargains to be had on even designer goods to suit everyone's taste and interest. It's quieter in winter, but very busy in other seasons, especially summer, as Karuizawa is essentially a summer resort since it's cooler than Tokyo. So - ski, shop, eat, or visit the lovely village of Karuizawa on the other side of the railway tracks - or just relax, maybe even visit the spa for a massage. Our only less than enthusiastic comment is for the breakfast at the hotel (we stayed at the East Wing) – understaffed on the days we were there, and the buffet ran low/out in some areas at times, but was quickly addressed when this was pointed out by diners. We will definitely be back.