Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bangalore

Hotel for Service and Hospitality

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The friendliness and service by the staff
Cons: Provide a lift. Put more sign-boards for direction to locate the hotel.
Location: On the outer edge of Thamel, we could take long walks to the Kathmandu Durbar Square, and enjoyed the palace and museum.
Started off with a disappointment that the hotel could not send the promised pick-up taxi, but Ms. Suraksha made up for it by asking us to get a taxi for which the hotel would pay. When we reached the hotel we were well-received and promptly assigned the room on 2nd floor (as per our request). The entire staff from receptionist, security, catering were all very courteous and helpful. So too was Mr. lama of the Travel Desk at the hotel. The only weakness is the lack of a lift, especially if you are housed in the 4th floor. Nice hotel, enjoyed the stay and would stay again if opportunity arises.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlotte from Staffordshire, UK

Lovely hotel just very noisy

Posted May 21, 2014
Really enjoyed my stay here, staff were very welcoming and eager to help
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Abi from P

Great hotel for the price and for a traveller

Posted May 11, 2014
Stopped here for one night after staying in pokhara, hotel was fantastic for the price was expecting a lot less and a lot worse. It has every basic amenity you may need and hotel staff could not do enough for you ! Food was very good, great service. I plan to stay here again if I go back !!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dee and Justin from Red Hill, Victoria, Australia.

Wonderful restaurant in a mad city.

Posted May 9, 2014
Best aspect of the hotel was the exceptional food and staff. The restaurant boasts a relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere. We were a family of five and stayed there twice over a couple of weeks. The rooms are average but represented reasonably good value for money. Not really much point in having an air conditioner because the power is constantly cut and wifi is also hard to obtain. Be careful of reception girls when they tally your bill...had the same girl try to sting me twice!!!! Ultimately I would recommend the restaurant over above the hotel. Look out for their grill/barbecue nights! Delish!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Calm in a sea of caos.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Well placed for Thamel, nice friendly service

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Close enough to the main part of Thamel to be a 5 minutes walk to restaurants and bars, also very close to where buses depart / arrive for Pokhara trips etc. Not particularly modern or up to date but friendly and fine for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by i am retired from j

Hotel Encounter Kathmandu

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Great little hotel, the staff are so friendly and helpful. Whilst I booked a basic room this would be great in the hot season, whilst the evenings were cold I did upgrade with a better room with a heater, because the nights can be cold. The restaurant offer a excellent meal. Staff are very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rufat from Baku

Good Hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel Staff wonderful very helpful and kind, Hotel has good service and restaurant, and nice garden quite good ambiance. Good hotel for the offered price.
1 out of 5
by hemendra

A total waste

Posted Jan 9, 2014
A dirty, ugly, untidy place. A hell in other words. No cleanliness No toiletteries No proper food All staff always drunk No wifi as promised Very noisy
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2014