Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paris

Hotel très agréable, beau bâtiment

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Le charme du bâtiment, la chaleur humain du personnel, le jardin, les prix très raisonnables.
Cons: Je n'en vois pas.
Location: Pas très loin de Thamel : 10 minutes à pied. Très bon "café" à deux pas de l'Hôtel, "illy", avec de vrais expressos et autres plats délicieux.
Personnel accueillant, chambre très agréable (la suite 709). Prix tout à fait abordables, avec un jardin dans lequel il fait bon se poser. A 10 minutes à pied de Thamel (sinon taxi pour 200 roupies maximum, soit moins de 2 euros). Un vrai coup de coeur, je le recommande les yeux fermés... J'y suis resté 14 jours et ce fut un vrai bonheur.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, Canada

Hotel Shanker: An oasis in Kathmandu

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Staying at Hotel Shanker is always a memorable experience! It has old-world charm, a beautiful garden and swimming pool, fabulous staff who are always smiling, friendly, and very helpful. They also have great memories. My wife wasn't able to be with me on this visit, yet three of the staff asked me where she was and how she was? Very impressive! I highly recommend Hotel Shanker. I'm already looking forward to my next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Feb 26, 2015
The hotel is excellent. The breakfast which was included in the price was very good. It had a lot of hot and cold options, as well as eggs made per choice. Service was very good. We slept well and there were no noises. The only drawback for us was it is not in the middle of touristy Thamel. For those who have limited time and esp if it is their first visit I would recommend staying at a location bang in the middle of the action, such as Kathmandu guest house, so one can walk about without having to get a car etc.However I do not have any personal knowledge about quality of services at Kathmandu guest house. BTW time to travel by car from Hotel Shanker to touristy part of Thamel is only 15 min.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton Canada

Beautiful heritage hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Old characteristics.
Location: Close to walk to Thamel or inexpensive taxi drive to shopping and restaurants.
Beautiful heritage hotel with wonderful carved wood workings in the converted palace to hotel. From the saluting door man to the very attentive bell men, you will be spoilded. This hotel has much character. Great location, walking distance to Thamel area or very short taxi if you don't want to try crossing the streets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Zurich

Beautiful hotel within walking distance to Thamel

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff. Good restaurant with reasonably priced food
Cons: The price of drinks by the pool/room service is steep.
Location: Excellent location in Lazimpat close to French, British, Indian embassies, 10 min walk to Thamel bars, restaurants and shops.
I stayed here for a month in January. The hotel is beautiful with friendly staff who are very accommodating. I changed rooms twice, once because the room was tiny and next time for outside noise from the bar next door. My requests were always very well received and attended to without a fuss. The garden and pool area is lovely and relaxing, away from the bustle of the road and nearby Thamel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Appalling service in wonderful setting

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Fantastic building. Even if old, it still manages to be nice and cosy and functional.
Cons: The level of service is dismal. Management should be obliged to experience a stay in this hotel and then try and improve it. Some staff are excellent.
Location: Walking distance or a short taxi ride away from most if not all central locations.
I spent two weeks in this hotel, and this review is based on repeated experiences. Despite there being always 25 or more staff spending their time in the hotel, most of whom are not on duty (!), the level of service can best be compared to "having existed once and then not followed up by management". In fact, management appears to have been absent for the two weeks I stayed here. Service by some individuals can be excellent though, but that is usually limited to one day. Some examples : (1) laundry standard delivery is 2 days instead of same day, yet if you are not in the room when they decide to bring it back, it will stay for days at the laundry desk (2) an envelope delivered at the reception was not delivered until check-out (3) cleaning of the rooms goes in a wide curb to avoid having to move anything (4) pool staff do not bother for days to ask whether you want to drink something, then out of the blue wake you up on day number 5 to ask your room number (5) at the end of the day, I had to carry my own luggage (6) one single song in the elevator, repeated 24 hrs a day (7) one single song over breakfast, repeated ad nausea (8) breakfast hall 30 meters high impossible to heat up in winter, so you're chilled to the bones (9) breakfast staff congregate for their morning chat while you wait for tea, and when they come, they will serve you coffee instead (10) kitchen staff during dinner so loud you have to ask the waiter to negotiate the volume
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Atmospheric hotel with character

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: The antique decor and paintings brought a unique mood to our stay and made this hotel stand out from any other I've stayed in before.
Cons: The guest toilets in reception could definitely be improved, though the ones in the rooms were good. Better duvets for the winter.
Location: It's only a 10-15 minute walk to Thamel where there's loads of shops, cafes and tour agencies, a rather fun area. Our favourite restaurant was Places!
A good, restful stay at Hotel Shanker, incredibly friendly, sweet and helpful staff and pretty much everything we needed/could ask for. Excellent service and a really peaceful, relaxed environment with a beautiful garden. The hotel gift shop had some of the best art and jewellery we saw during our stay in Kathmandu, a wonderful collection of rare Nepalese artefacts too. A lovely stay all in all, the service and historic atmosphere being a highlight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Keeping in mind that you are in Kathmandu, the hotel is very nice the staff is so helpful they can't do enough for you, we loved it and if in Nepal again would definitely stay at hotel Shanker.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool, UK

Nice hotel with comfortable rooms.

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Not much.
Centrally placed so easy to find. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The food was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 徳島、日本

名所にも近く由緒ある素敵なホテル

Posted Dec 14, 2014