Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: The greeting when checking in was very friendly.
Cons: The facilities need to be updated. They need to say that the do not have a gym.
Location: There is almost nothing to do nearby. One temple located up a non-walking-friendly road.
I was disappointed that the room offered not much more than the budget hotels in Thamel. The shower (no bathtub) had a curtain that let the whole bathroom floor become soaked. The hotel added 10% plus another 13% (taxed on your tax) to everything. There was a basket of dirty laundry in my room when I arrived and I had to request the promised complimentary water. No free Wi-Fi access, and no internet cafes nearby. Luckily it cost only 1000 Rs to get a SIM card and 1GB of data. There was no gym at all - it's under renovation. The receptionist at the spa was surly. The breakfast was very poor (and I eat pretty much anything). All in all it wasn't a BAD place, just nothing special, especially not for that price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by George from Dubai

Quiet stay outside Kathmandu

Posted Nov 21, 2013
We stayed one night before our hiking trek in a standard room, which was quite small , not really pleasant room, old fashioned, perhaps a bit overpriced. (60$). We left some baggage, so we booked another night. After our trek we had a superior room/suite, which was great, clean, good price for value. (95,-$). I can only recommend to spend the extra 35 bucks. They are worth it. Food was excellent in the restaurant, breakfast was included in the overnight and good, but nothing special, takes about 30 min to Thamel or Airport by taxi about 800 NRup? To Thamel you can also take the minibus in front of the hotel for 20NRup each. It's fun. The street to the hotel is under construction and the ride there is horror. But will change in future. The ambiente in the hotel is nice and peaceful. A lot of plants and trees. Enjoy your stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ali

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Debnath PK from Kolkata, India

A nice clean hotel with good service

Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the hotel for two nights. The ambience is good and we felt good after the day,s sightseeing which was hectic and tiresome. One can enjoy walk around in the morn or evening. Overall, good value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by rahul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from india

Posted Mar 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
nice, clean, good privacy, very reasonably priced
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Josh from New Zealand

Great authentic Nepali hospitality

Posted Dec 2, 2012
Pros: The setting
Cons: A bit out of the way
Location: Great for resting from the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu city
This is a great little hotel in an excellent setting just out of Kathmandu's main centre. The free shuttle service into Thamel is really cool and they also organise a free shuttle to the airport. The food is pretty good and the list of services is great. Timing on room service etc is on Nepali time, but the staff are lovely and eager to please. If your a Hyatt Regency traveler you may find service and food quality below par, but if you've stayed in other guest houses or hotels, this is easily up there with the best of local offerings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UAE

great location near national park

Posted May 6, 2011
Service was pretty good and staff friendly but had prblems with my room booking at first. they did respond and make a change but shower was not working properly for 5 days! a lovely setting and suited me and my son very well. I would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norway

stay sowhere else

Posted Jan 12, 2011
after 2 weeks trekking anyplace with hot shower and flushing toilet would seen like a luxury. But after the first long hot shower started to notice imperfections. shower curtain completely covered in milddew, cracks in the sink, stains on the carpet. At first it seemed very nice to be far away from the madness of Kathmandu senter. But than we decided to eat dinner in the hotel restaurant. It first started with at we could not order wine- supoosedly they didn't have any even though in the bar behind oss were several bottles. Not to mention that another customer got served wine 30 min later. Than came bread in the bread basket. Waiter got his hands dirty with mash potatoes stucked to the side of this basket. But that didn't not stop him to set it on our table. First came the rice, meat 20min later so we could eat it with cold rice. Slopiness everywhere, bored waiteresses who couldn't care less about customers. We ate in the city next day, it was absolutely worth taxi fare back and forth. Before out trekking trip we stayed in Thamel in a place called Kathmandu Guest House (which was very nice, good service, greit atmosphere) and that is where I would stay again if I was to return to kathmandu.