Ratings based on 454 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, NSW

Quirky hotel with history

Posted Mar 2, 2015
I have stayed here twice and each time all of the staff have been super friendly and efficient. Little touches like calling me by name and welcoming me back made the stay. The room was pleasant and clean, the bed very comfortable although the bathroom had seen better days. The public areas of the hotel are great to explore - it's like staying in a private hotel in the 1920s. Plenty to eat at breakfast but sorry to report the standard of meals at dinner wasn't what I expected. However, there's plenty of good restaurants/cafes nearby which offer excellent alternatives.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in a time warp

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Needs a good clean and redecorating in a sympathetic art deco style
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Good location but very dated and run down.

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: The location and the breakfast.
Cons: Lots - particularly the décor.
Location: it's the Blue Mountains - there is plenty to do and see.
The place is like a rabbit warren - up and down. The décor is dated - this is not old world charm and it is in real need of a makeover to lighten the place up. The bathroom was very dated and we had to ask for a toilet brush - there was not one in the bathroom. Other than that it was clean and comfortable but overpriced for what is on offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ideal location and comfortable hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2015
The staff were friendly. The complimentary breakfast was to satisfaction and filling. We enjoyed the facilities in the hotel, such as the gaming room. These were good for wet weather.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Great location, not the most comfortable stay

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Hotel is in a great location, walking distance to town centre and Echo Point, staff are friendly, breakfast included is more than satisfactory. Our room was at the top of the stairs and the creaking of the floorboards and the stairs was so loud it was hard to sleep, the linen cupboards were right outside the door and these being opened and closed was very loud in the room also, as was the plumbing; we were woken up by other rooms toilets flushing. The bed wasn't very comfortable either, so not a very relaxing stay to say the least. That said, we stayed here in a different room 2 years ago with no complaints so I'm guessing there's there's a fair bit of inconsistency between the rooms and we lucked out. The pool/spa area was also 'closed for maintenance' which was a bit of a disappointment.
5 out of 5
by Stephen McLarenfrom Australia - NSW - Wollongong

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: Interesting building, heaps of unique Katoomba character
Location: Quiet but close to town
Value: Generous breakfast; Friendly, relaxed staff. Very welcoming
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Nice, old-fashioned hotel, 1930's style.

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Blue Mts can be cold, wet, as well as hot, sunny. We had both, but duvet & electric heater provided. The room was small, but cosy when cold, + small but adequate ensuite. Breakfast was generous, lots to help yourself to & a full English breakfast as well! Internet wifi useful. Probably due for refurbishment, but the price reflects this. Very close to 'Echo Point' and 'Scenic World', both 'must-do's' & well worth it. eateries and other retail shops also close by, in the town of Katoumba. Altogether, a really lovely experience.
5 out of 5
by Sandra Skinnerfrom Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: TV reception
Location: Perfect
Facilities: Typical; Value: Bargain; Service: Flawless, Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Spotless; Close to RSL
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2014
Dear Sandra, It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Blue - it's always a pleasure to welcome back returning guests. We apologise for the temporary issue with the TV reception last weekend - unfortunately our TV aerial was damaged in the thunderstorm, but was repaired the following day. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in the Blue Mountains.
2 out of 5
by frank seibertfrom Australia - NSW - Regional NSW

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Nothing really - the conditions spoilt the whole stay. Did not have the "free" breakfgast as we imagined kitchen would be as bad as the rest of the du
Cons: Torn curtains, peeling wallpaper, dirty carpet, smeary bathroom - could not wait to get out
Location: Close to everything
Facilities: Horrible; Value: Rip-off; Service: Rude; Cleanliness: Grubby; On wotif booking requested twin beds - receptionist said that wotif did NOT send through request but we could upgrade for an additional $60
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2014
Dear Frank, We're so disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay. For the benefit of our readers, it's important that we clarify that you chose to book a Double Room (the cheapest room advertised), and then wanted to be given an upgrade to a room with twin beds, but you did not want to pay the difference in price. We really wish you'd partaken of the included breakfast, which our guests usually tell us is one of the highlights of their stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by JOHNfrom Singapore

Not a hit

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Breakfast service was so poor I left before it arrived. TV reception did not work. Best thing was the jazz band that played on Friday night and easy access to the sights