Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal location for day trips into Amsterdam

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Hotel located in beautiful countryside and very close to the picturesque village of Edam
Cons: Air conditioning in room
Location: Several cheese makers nearby, as well as Edam
Pleasant stay - enjoyed day in Amsterdam, just a 20 minute bus ride away
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I enjoyed it

Posted Sep 17, 2014
The hotel is easy to get to and public transit is simple to use to get to Amsterdam.. However it's fairly pricy! The hotel itself is nice and the washrooms are modern. Some of the reviews on here are spot on regarding service. It's difficult to order with the staff as they seem to ignore you and the restaurant serves appreciative meals. Do not order the French onion soup or spaghetti both seemed to be made of tomato canned broth. The ribs were alright. There is a nice town about 40 mins away (walking) and has a lot more dining options.. I would perhaps stay again as it was a comfortable stay but nothing to brag about. Hope I've helped!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful settings and excellent service

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The staff. Excellent breakfast.
Cons: Provide hospitality tray. Make it clear that the leisure centre is separate from the hotel.
Location: a cheese and clogs venue is adjacent to the hotel. Very convenient for tourists.
I was very impressed by the hotel staff and settings. My only disappointment was the bedroom, as it looked tired and there was not hospitality tray. When I requested a kettle I was told very nicely that only more expensive bedrooms have this facility, which I would have expected in any room at a 4 star hotel. Also, I booked this hotel because it had a pool, but on arrival we were told that we have to wait for a class to finish before we could swim there. Again the staff was really nice, but after a long trip I didn't want to return in 40 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alex from Gloucester

lovely

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: comfort
Cons: nothing
Location: midway between Amsterdam and Volendam, its on the main road but you don't hear any noise
wonderful hotel, the only problem was that I asked for a room near the lift,, it was the last farthest room they had
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alan from plymouth england

wonderful hotel close to all amenities

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Cons: the only thing lacking was tea making facilities in room did miss a cup of tea in morning.
hotel was wonderful it was situated in a lovely area of Amsterdam, amenities at hotel were very good, cycle hire was very reasonable,cycle routes to all places were well sign posted and easy to get to , overall a very good break away would recommend hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Excellent. Only downside is when the sheep pens are upwind of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by ben from Florida

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a great hotel in a very nice country type setting. The service was great, especially the front desk crew. If you are looking to feel far away from home, and stress of the city, this is the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lori from South East England

Best of both worlds

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: The staff are all helpful If there is anything that you want to know however, just ask
Cons: All good
Location: The hotel is around a 30 minute bus ride from Amsterdam You can also take a short bus journey, walk, or cycle to the pretty coastal town of Volendam
Visit Amsterdam but also escape in to the beautiful Dutch countryside & relax at this hotel Our bedroom was spacious & smart with TV & coffee & tea making facilities Seating area with coffee table Small fridge Two single beds together Good sized modern bathroom with seperate shower Plenty of toiletries We were on the second floor facing the back of the hotel with a balcony which has chairs & coffee table It overlooked the lake & the childrens' play area The childrens' play area could be a little noisey at the weekend but we didn't mind at all We were concerned as we arrived at the airport very early in the morning & also left very early in the morning Taxis are expensive However, the bus service is efficient & starts early We ate in the bar on 3 evenings & the food was good Linger over breakfast before you start your day Breakfast is ample & very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Heather from Washington state

lovely quiet hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the Van der Valk Hotel Volendam for 5 nights while we explored Amsterdam and the surrounding areas. We loved our stay! We were looking for a nice, quiet hotel outside of the city and this one fit the bill. Price was reasonable and the staff friendly and helpful. There's a bus stop just outside the hotel that will take you straight to Amsterdam Central. The one downside is the bus cost. It cost us 10 Euro per person for an all day, roundtrip bus pass from the hotel to Amsterdam and it takes about 20 min. There's a nice picturesque pond with a lovely terrace for dinner and the food is very good. If you like the idea of staying in a quiet hotel close to Amsterdam and the charming small towns of Volendam and Edam, surrounded by farmland with sheep and cows and a cheese and clog making farm right next door that you can tour, you will enjoy this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Volendam

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Wonderful location with easy access to Amsterdam Central by bus. Walking and/or biking distance to beautiful and quaint Volendam. Best of both worlds if you want city and countryside at the same time.