Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing special

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Restaurant
Cons: Hotel should be renovated
Location: Nothing around.
Far from the city, outdated hotel, smell in the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

good hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: good sized clean room with large bathroom. Quiet location yet handy to the town & bus to Amsterdam. Good food in restaurant. Free parking
Cons: Would be nice if they included breakfast in the price.
Location: Cheese & clog making across the road. Short jaunt by foot, bike or car to the town. Good place to bike or walk.
Good size room with balcony....rural setting so quiet. .bus to Amsterdam across the street. Hotel restaurant excellent & reasonable in price. Staff very nice & helpful. Woud definately stay there again & consider staying in other Valk hotels also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal location for day trips into Amsterdam

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Hotel located in beautiful countryside and very close to the picturesque village of Edam
Cons: Air conditioning in room
Location: Several cheese makers nearby, as well as Edam
Pleasant stay - enjoyed day in Amsterdam, just a 20 minute bus ride away
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I enjoyed it

Posted Sep 17, 2014
The hotel is easy to get to and public transit is simple to use to get to Amsterdam.. However it's fairly pricy! The hotel itself is nice and the washrooms are modern. Some of the reviews on here are spot on regarding service. It's difficult to order with the staff as they seem to ignore you and the restaurant serves appreciative meals. Do not order the French onion soup or spaghetti both seemed to be made of tomato canned broth. The ribs were alright. There is a nice town about 40 mins away (walking) and has a lot more dining options.. I would perhaps stay again as it was a comfortable stay but nothing to brag about. Hope I've helped!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful settings and excellent service

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The staff. Excellent breakfast.
Cons: Provide hospitality tray. Make it clear that the leisure centre is separate from the hotel.
Location: a cheese and clogs venue is adjacent to the hotel. Very convenient for tourists.
I was very impressed by the hotel staff and settings. My only disappointment was the bedroom, as it looked tired and there was not hospitality tray. When I requested a kettle I was told very nicely that only more expensive bedrooms have this facility, which I would have expected in any room at a 4 star hotel. Also, I booked this hotel because it had a pool, but on arrival we were told that we have to wait for a class to finish before we could swim there. Again the staff was really nice, but after a long trip I didn't want to return in 40 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alex from Gloucester

lovely

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: comfort
Cons: nothing
Location: midway between Amsterdam and Volendam, its on the main road but you don't hear any noise
wonderful hotel, the only problem was that I asked for a room near the lift,, it was the last farthest room they had
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alan from plymouth england

wonderful hotel close to all amenities

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Cons: the only thing lacking was tea making facilities in room did miss a cup of tea in morning.
hotel was wonderful it was situated in a lovely area of Amsterdam, amenities at hotel were very good, cycle hire was very reasonable,cycle routes to all places were well sign posted and easy to get to , overall a very good break away would recommend hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Excellent. Only downside is when the sheep pens are upwind of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Frank W from Ontario, Canada

Nice area

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at four different Van der Valk hotels in the Netherlands and enjoyed all of them. Their free WiFi and cancellation policies are great.