Ratings based on 1,094 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Not greatest but not the worst!

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Close to Lydgate beach and near the airport
Cons: Needs lots of updating
Check in/out was easy and quick, the front desk employees were nice! We only stayed one night so it was fine, we took the kids to the pool and also got a free movie from the lobby. The onsite restaurant was not open for dinner which we thought was weird!? But If you want to save $$$ and don't care about luxury then this is the place to stay. A night or 2, no problem... but I wouldn't stay any longer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom milw.

Nice place to stay if you're planning three or fou

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Between Lihue and Kapaa,, and on the beach. For the price, this one was hard to beat.
Cons: The TV reception and clean up the rock garden
Location: Between everything that we wanted to do
The check in was excellent, the hotel staff was very nice and helpful. Television reception was not the best unfortunately.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle area, WA

Excellent location - good value

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Comfy beds, new bathroom sinks, gorgeous lobby, hot tub and the location (near a park and right on golden sandy beaches)
Cons: The lobby is gorgeous but a few hallways literally looked hurricane damaged in some areas.
Location: Wonderful children's park right next door and a sheltered ocean swimming area - there are also historical ruins just behind the resort
We enjoyed our time at the Aston - it was close to an awesome kid park and fantastic beaches. My kids loved the hot tub. The pool was small and unfortunately not heated. So we just went to the beach most of the time. Our room was basic but what I expected for such a good price. Breakfast was tasty and the staff at the Aston were super nice. Our window was VERY hard to open but my husband finally got it - the room overlooked a park and a peek at the Pacific. All in all it's a nice family place if you are on a budget. The location is excellent. Chickens are *everywhere* on Kauai. This place is no exception.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SLC

Cheap and easy and relatively good

Posted Feb 11, 2015
The rooms look nice at first glance but on further inspection they are in need of repair. However, for the price we paid we aren't complaining. The bed was comfortable and clean and the AC worked great. The location was convenient from the airport and there is a nice beach out back. Basically, Don't pay a lot. don't expect a lot. Satisfactory.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB, Canada

Old hotel in great location

Posted Feb 9, 2015
We stay for one night. You get what you pay! Need bathroom renovation ASAP! As staff told us they are going to do major renovation soon. I hope very soon!! Great beach for kids. Close to airport and shopping.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kingston, WA

First Impressions Matter!

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: The staff at the dining area were wonderful! The food was great and the maid Fe was a WONDERFUL human being!
Cons: Charging an extra fee of $200 for 'amenities' which included parking (whaaat?), WiFi, free DVD's and 1 laundry room. Eliminate this fee, it's silly.
Location: Very close to Kapa'a and sits right behind Lydgate park right ON the ocean. Coconut Marketplace with farmers market and fresh fruit!
When we arrived late at night after flying for 12 hours, my family was exhausted. We found out that the room we had initially booked was not the room they had ready for us, so I requested another. I asked if we could possibly change the room and the front desk lady seemed irritated that I asked. I apologized and tried to explain why we needed a King bed because my husband is very tall. She was extremely rude to me and my 13 year old son who was standing there and told me that she had a King suite but 'where do you want your kids to sleep?' I explained that I thought there were pull-out couches and that would be ok. That's what we originally booked and I had thought I read it online as an option. She caved in and changed the room, which seemed odd to me that she didn't know what her hotel offered and that she was having me problem solve the non-issue for myself. Then, when we went back down to ask for pillows and blankets, she explained that she wasn't allowed to give us more pillows and informed us she 'didn't know where the blankets were' and handed my son a couple sheets instead. The next day, my husband went downstairs and spoke with someone else who was very apologetic, gave us plenty of pillows and blankets and looked inquisitively at us when we explained what happened. Unfortunately, that was not our only run-in with this initial staff person. After that, I was leery of all the staff there, which isn't fair to them at all! First impressions matter!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2015
The location was good and centrally located for touring the island. Definitely 70s style but a great view of the ocean at a reasonable price.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kennewick, Wa

Cottage rooms

Posted Feb 1, 2015
I'm a world traveler and I believe I know hotel rooms, this place is in very much need of a makeover, carpets are stained and filthy, the interior and exterior paint is filthy, the maid tries to keep the bathrooms clean, but their just so outdated. The beds are hard and the sheets and quilt are out dated and although washed their just dirty and stained and have wear holes in them. The TV's are old technology and have a hard time changing channels, really need to be replaced. Please don't eat at the on-site restruant, its not what you would expect form Hawaii, drive a few short miles into town for food. In my opinion, the only real saving feature of the property is the three minute walk to the beach. I bet when the place was first constructed in the middle ages, it was a top notch resort, but for now its the dumps in massive need of a total gut and rebuild. Might even be a good idea to doze it all down and start over. Sorry for the rant, hope they remodel as soon as the management says they are going to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Nice Hotel and Great Location.

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: The staff and location.
Cons: The renovations will take care of anything we would say.
Location: GREAT
Had an ocean view with a beautiful view of the sunrise every morning. Enjoyed the fruit plate at breakfast. The hotel is starting their renovation and should be done by next year. They told us they will be doing a wing at a time. We plan to come back when they are all done. We enjoyed are stay there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nanaimo, BC

Close to airport

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: The rooms were spacious and actually accomodate 4 persons.
Cons: Hallways, flooring, bathrooms.
Location: Very good location to the airport.
The hotel is very conveniently located near the Lihue airport. The rooms were clean but in need of updating. The hallways needed new carpets and paint. The staff were friendly and obliging. There is an amenities fee, which was difficult to use if you came late. It covered such things as a small fruit plate, coffee, newspaper and free rental of movies. Be careful of their activities presentation. They are over priced and you can get much cheaper prices elsewhere. High pressure sales with a free breakfast.