Ratings based on 1,050 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver BC Canada

Pleasant

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: I could tell it was a grand hotel in it's day.
Cons: They say there will be renovations starting in Jan 2015 so it should be nice once they're done
Location: We were just outside of Kapa'a. The beach was very close.
We could see the ocean and beach from our little sundeck. I guess we got a suite of which there was only two at least in the wing we were in. There are chickens everywhere crowing any time of day or night. Get earplugs we were told if they bother you.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Waianae, Hi.

NO Air conditioning

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: NOTHING. It is a bad memory
Cons: Accommodations need full modern upgrades with honorable staffing
Location: I was on a working trip.
From the time I checked into the hotel I had no air conditioning. Eve4n when I moved to another room that room had no air conditioning. I called maintenance and just got lied to "It is now working. Just give it time". The AC neve3r worked. When I moved the new room, I had left a travel coffee mug I have had for years in the room. I went back to get it a couple of hours later and the maid had already started cleaning but not completed. My coffee mug was gone. I went to the front desk and got a run around for three days. Never got the mug returned. I will never stay in an Aston hotel again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amenities

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: Tell people up front if they are paying for something other than their room
Upon checking in, they give you two for breakfast fruit plate and a card to get a video if you wish, I questioned them if this was free, answer was "YES". On checkout, I had an additional cost of $18.75 for amenities. Breakfast was buffet fruits included for $16 + and with the tickets was $13 + ($6.00) therefore it cost me $12+ to watch a video that I thought was for free. Had I known that, I would have not gotten the video
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2014
The beds were too hard, the facilities is old and falling apart. The picture shown can be deceiving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Best priced hotel,next to beach,convenient for bus

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: The girls working at the front desk,Mohala,Cina,Sade and Sharon.They are so helpful and pleasant.The Activity desk lady is very helpful.Room clean.
Cons: Put some nice Hawaiian pictures on the hallways and the hotel will look more classy.
Location: Best location,next to Wailua River( paddle,kayak,boat tour) Next to Lydgate State Park( swimming,snorkelling) 20 min. walk to shops,10 min. to bus.
Thanks to Mohala at the front desk.We were early for check in but she had a room for us in no time.We had the best surprise when we walked in the room,a full front view of the ocean! This hotel may be old but there are enough amenities,pool,hot tub,restaurant. 10 minutes walk to bus,but have to plan well as bus runs hourly. 20 minutes to Coconut Market. We had the best experience with the hotel on ocean front,beautiful sunrises seen from our bed every morning! The Lydgate State Park with protected beaches is 2 minutes walk from back gate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a deep clean!

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Great location on the beach and near airport. Staff is good.
Cons: Renovate!
Hotel staff was very nice, but this place needs to be cleaned! Problem with our first room not being completely cleaned upon arrival was quickly taken care of, but room we were moved to was not as nice and also dirty, just not as dirty. This place has a good location--but needs an overhaul! It smells, it is dirty, it is outdated--but the staff is nice and accommodating as much as they can be.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

100 yards to a family beach

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: 100 yards from a nice beach. When reported the numerous room problems to the day crew, I was refunded a courtesy $18, still don't understand why.
Cons: New mattress, new carpet, new televisions, functioning A/C (as stated in the online ad) and working electrical outlets in the bathroom.
The only good thing about this hotel is the 100 yard walk to the public beach. When we arrived in the early afternoon the staff was friendly helping us check in. I paid the extra's that must be paid in addition to the hotel room rate (came to just under $50.) We literally left a couple items in the the room and left for some sight seeing. Returning early evening the room was stuffy. We turned on the A/C (never worked, even after the MTC said they would "turn it on.") Evening staff (1 person) was not helpful. Our TV was quite old and had terrible lines, the bed was very lumpy and uneven and the straw the broke the camels back was at 0830 the following morning their House Keeping started pounding on the door announcing their arrival, I cracked the door open to ask why and was told I was checking out that day and they were here to clean. I called the front desk and our check out time was 1100.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oahu, Hawaii

Dire Need for Renovations

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: I must be fair and say that the hotel is next to a beautiful beach park that is accessible to the guests.
Cons: Hotel needs a total renovation, straight up!
Location: Kauai is not a very large island and so a variety of attractions are available.
Upon a late arrival, the front desk clerk wasn't excited about having a late check-in! The rooms were outdated, dilapidated and linens had a stale, damp odor which required us to sleep the first night on the bedspread. The next day housekeeping staff changed all linens but by the evening the odor was still noticeable which leads me to believe that the hotel may have laundry issues that needs to be addressed. The $18.00 per day amenity fee assessed is a rip-off because no such amenities exist! This experience was not one to be shared with anyone, but they should not be operating in these conditions. A hotel staff member spoke of a renovation to take place soon, but not soon enough. I've never given a review of any hotel before but being one of the locals, a 'kamaaina', I would not recommend this hotel to any friends or family!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

古いけど空港から近くてリーズナブル

Posted Oct 8, 2014
夜到着だったので、レイトチェックインOKで空港から近く料金が安めところ、ということで滞在初日の1泊だけこちらにお世話になりました。素朴な古いホテルですが、スタッフも感じが良くて大きなホテルの安心感があり、この料金なら良いと思います(パーシャルオーシャンビュー1部屋1万円くらいでした)。初めての方や、安心にお安く泊まりたいなら良いかと思います。
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2014
I would strongly recommend that you look elsewhere when seeking a hotel stay in Kauai. The hotel was so bad that I gave up my two rooms, lose my money, to get a rooms in another hotel. We did not stay in the hotel. In one room there was a red bra in the waste basket which question the fact if the room was ever cleaned. Both rooms were stale and extremely humid. The grounds, pool and hotel needed plenty of TLC. The restaurant was closed because the chef called in sick. I have no clue as to why the hotel, with its wonderful location, could be so abused. Do not book here!