Ratings based on 1,139 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in great location to explore whole island

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Hotel needs some maintenance issues but realitivity ok for area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Beautiful property, beautiful view

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The gardens were well-maintained and gorgeous, with koi ponds and beautiful flowers everywhere. The view and sound of the ocean was a constant joy.
Cons: The hotel buildings are a bit run-down.
Location: The location couldn't be nicer - right at the beach where there is a sheltered area for children to swim (the waves are quite fierce here) and snorkle
We stayed at the Aston for 8 days, and it was a wonderfully restful time. The island is beautiful and green, and the hotel faces the ocean, across a lovely beachside park. There are a number of restaurants closeby, and the hotel offers movies for use in the hotel rooms for something to do in the evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose Caifornia

Nice place to stay

Posted Apr 18, 2015
We were very happy after getting ocean view and all places are near by this hotel so commute is less. Hotel staff is also very nice and helpful. Cleanliness is very well maintained.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Location - Kapaa is right between the sunny south and the north Staff is very friendly, just extremely slow, inefficient and incompetent
Soooo i travel a lot and didnt expect much of this hotel as I had read the reviews, however this was beyond my non expectations: - When we checked in after a long flight we found an enormous cockroach in the room. The guys who came remove it told us there were everywhere and wouldn't help to change rooms. ok - Room was extremely humid, terrible smell which got into all our clothes. So humid that we couldn't dry a thing in the room, not even a swimming suit. - It became a daily fight to get extra towels. First they don't give pool towels - fine, 2nd, we were 3 in the rooms and everyday they only put 2 towels (because these towels wouldn't dry whatsoever we had to have them changed everyday). They ended up saying they didnt have enough towels (and we were in the low season, barely 10 people in the hotel!!!) - Front desk would pick up calls randomly - if anything happens to you in the room and you need help, you are on your own. They even told us that there must be something wrong with our phone and sent the maintenance guy...of course it was quickly resolved, our phone was fine and FD just didn't bother picking up. - Oh and omg i forgot the best: the gym! This is the saddest gym I have ever seem. A small room as big as my den, obviously no air conditioning, NOONE of the machines were working. - Jacuzzi (they call it 'Spa') wasn't working and the pool has not been cleaned at least in the 9 days we stayed A motel in Poipu would have probably been at least as good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco Bay Area

Great Hotel close to Lydgate Park and Wailua River

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Nice pool and spa at the north side of the hotel overlooking the Refuge historic site and the Wailua River. Our room had a very nice view.
Cons: No evening meals at the hotel restaurant and somewhat limited selections for breakfast / brunch. We mostly dined out.
Location: Great shopping and restaurants in Wailua just north across the river. Hawaiian Village 2 miles upstream was a very photogenic place.
The hotel concierge was very helpful setting up our helicopter tour of the island and a couple of luaus. We spent a lot of time in the wonderful Lydgate Park along the eastern shore of Kauai and saw beautiful sunrises every morning. The hotel is also adjacent to the "Refuge" and ancient Hawaiian city where people could take refuge if they didn't want to fight in a war. This Hotel is very close to the Smith Family Tropical Paradise and Luau. If you stay here, I recommend that you also visit the Hawaiian Village following a narrow road down from the viewpoint at Opeka'a Falls, about 2-miles from the hotel. The Hawaiian Village is also a good place to rent canoes or kayaks to paddle a very short distance to the Fern Grotto.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

Beautiful hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2015
The beach the pool and the environment beautiful. The hotel Is close to everything and the view unbelievable
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom St. Paul, MN

Aston Aloha Beach Holtel

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Price
Cons: A total renovation is needed. The $18/day "resort fee" is robbery...the only thing we used was the "free" local newspaper and internet (not free).
Location: Wailua/Kapaa is very congested...any other part of the island would be a better place to vacation.
We needed a place to stay for two days before departing Kauai...this hotel fit the bill. The price was right but unfortunately it's a tired old hotel. The climate is hard on structures and this building shows it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down and old and in need of major renovations

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Hotel is run down and in major need of renovations. Paint pealing off the walls and woodwork. Rusty metal. furniture is old and finish worn off, dirty and solid spots. hot tub was not working. Also an extra $18 a night plus tax amenity fee for WiFi. Tiles missing in pool. On the positive side, it is on the beach and next to Lygate Park. There are much better places to stay for an enjoyable vacation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel under renovation

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Hotel conditions are terrible, they need to be shut down. I would not stay there even It was free. Reopen after all renovation is complete. Bad Run Down hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Grand Lady let go

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: location and island style architecture
Cons: Major upgrades throughout. It looks like some upgrades are started...THAT'S GREAT. It's a facility worth saving.
Location: Close to the Waimea River and nice state park. Interesting native ceremonial grounds adjacent to the hotel. Kapaa is close by. Not far from airport.
At one time this facility must have been a winner. Nice architecture, great location if you want to be near a beach area, good views of the ocean from most guest rooms. However, a leaking roof at the entrance and the amount of termites damage to the reception desk were warnings that this could not be quite up to par. Worn out sheets and linens, dirty sliding glass doors looking out on the ocean, unkept hallways, and an unbelievable amount of built up grey dust and debris in the air conditioning duct that blew in on each bed...made for an unpleasant visit. Friendly staff in the dining room who tried to help us not notice the worn out spaces, non functioning large waterfall and dirty water in the outside pond in which you could hardly see the koi fish who were trying to survive. Gardens were generally nice and showed that someone still cared about the place.