Ratings based on 1,263 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Affordable paradise

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Everything. Period.
Cons: Nothing at all.
Location: The coconut marketplace is a gem. Eat at TC's and Harley's. For breakfast, forget about Eggberts and head north ot the Ono Family Restaurant.
I had never been to Kauai'i, so I had no idea what to expect. After reading many reviews, my girlfriend and I decided on the Aston Islander on the beach. It exceeded all expectations. Perfect location, friendly and helpfull staff, beautiful views, and a great room at a low rate. From the moment we arrived, we felt the Aloha spirit. It has a "plantation" feel to it that I wasn't expecting, but I wasn't let down. It's very close to many eateries and shops, which is nice. Eggberts is ok for a quick breakfast, but nothing special. Be sure to hit Harley's for some amazing BBQ, and TC's for fantastic traditional cuisine. Neither will cost you more than $30 for two people, which is a steal in Hawaii. The beach is not ideal for swimming, but it is fantastic for romantic walks, especially at sunrise. Spend the extra money and go for the oceanfront room. You won't regret it. If (when) we go back to Kauai'i, we will be at the Aston Islander on the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston, N.Y.

Nice hotel close to town, airport and nice beaches

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Ocean front Room right on ocean with beautiful view from balcony. Bed was comfortable. Good shower. Coffee machine, refrigerator quite helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Morro Bay, CA

Posted Sep 12, 2014
My husband and I have been going to this hotel for the past 7 years. The last 3 years there has been a steep decline in service. The resort fees are now up to 18.25 per day from last years 15.00 per day. They charge more and give less. No coffee in the room without a charge. No coffee in lobby till 8:00 am and if your not there at 8:00 am by 8:15 no coffee. The maid service was the worst... Dirty floors and half made beds. We will not be staying there next year... And its a shame!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Great location, not the best room

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Great location in the Kaapa. Central to both North and South shore.
Cons: Bed mattress needs to be changed.
Overall, my experience at Aston Islander was fine for the price paid. Great location, friendly and helpful staff. We had an Oceanfront room so the view was really good as well. However, the room itself needs updating, particularly the mattress. Washroom could also use some updating so that it feels cleaner.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved every minute but remember the amenity charge

Posted Aug 18, 2014
We loved the resort and the staff were really helpful. We had to pay an additional amenity charge of $20 per night when we arrived. We weren't aware of this before and only found out on arrival.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ocean View

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: VIEW. Ammentities in the room; frig, microwave, coffee maker, TV, DVD player, DVD rental machine in lobby
Cons: Updates need to be made; however, they are in the process. Free internet access in lobby.
Location: Great little shopping area very close by. Beautiful place to take a walk or run along the coast line in front of hotel.
If you stay in an ocean view room....it's an amazing view. We were there during ISELLE and left our doors open. Watching the waves pick up, the wind roar and the rain hit from this view we had was delightful. The balcony was a delight to sit on every AM and have breakfast. Enjoyed having a frig, micro and coffee maker in room. Room was small for the 4 of us...bathroom is huge though. The DVD rental out front was a bonus for us with the storm as NOTHING was open and we weren't able to do much for one day. CON: Have to pay for internet access in hotel lobby. The lobby is an open breezeway, which I thought was very tropical like...enjoyed it. Front staff very accommodating and helpful. Nice shopping facility essentially in the parking lot with cute gift and novelty stores. Pool quite small, but nice with a Jacuzzi close at hand as well as outside bar. Truly a great deal!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel, location and staff

Posted Aug 11, 2014
We have stayed at this hotel many times. We find the staff to be very helpful, they correct any mistakes immediately, and the rooms are clean and well-kept. They did some small construction while we were there, they waived the fees for the resort for those days, and offered to give us a different room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Reasonably priced!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Clean facilities, centrally located. No restaurant on site but plenty of options across the street at the market place or near by in kapa a. If you like fancy this is not the place for you. If you preferr reasonably priced and you don't need a lot of special services this is perfect. It's right on the beach, the beach is not safe to swimm in but makes a great relaxing spot when you get back from your day trips, saw sea turtles swimming around that beach almost every day. Lydgate park is a short drive and it's perfect for the kids to swimm in. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location on the beach!

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Nice room, ocean front view and great to enjoy a nice breakfast. Short distance to the farmer's market, and to the shopping center.
Location: Supermarkets are in close proximity. Beach access is great!!!! The Coconut Market Place is a great location to go anywhere in the island!
We were able to see turtles, dolphins, rays, and fish from the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Good reasonably priced hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2014
The Aston is a nice, reasonably priced hotel. The rooms have a fridge, microwave, dishes, silverware, which came in handy. There's a $18 resort fee, but it includes free DVD rentals, pool/beach towels, and continental breakfast on weekdays, so it wasn't unreasonable. The only demerit was the pool is relatively small and the water is cloudy and too warm - like over 80 degrees, which seems unnecessarily warm given the climate in Kauai. Size is one thing, but the water should be treated to be clearer. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay and the price was reasonable. Location is very good, centrally located in Kauai.