Ratings based on 1,240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Dated

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Rooms are a bit outdated, and the pool and pool area is in need of being fixed correctly. Missing slate tiles, wear areas on the pool bottom, missing mosaic tiles on the steps. Tiki huts for shade and over the bar needs repairs. The beach chairs are scarce and look terrible along with some missing straps. Touch up painting on the buildings paint colors didn't match completely. Staff answering phones cut off the same caller twice and put them on hold every time they called. Housekeeping was great along with all grounds crews. Room was very comfortable and my view was amazing. The bar staff was very personable and informative about the island and the resort. Teena with Pleasant Holidays was amazing. I was disappointed in the Coconut Marketplace in front of the resort, many empty vendor spaces and under construction at the same time as part of the resort which added to the construction noise. Trying to get out of the drive was intense if needing to turn left.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Wonderful ocean front room is well worth the small rate increase. Small pool was available if you need it but really who does unless you have kids. Beach is not good for swimming but we loved Moloa'a beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from anaheim, ca

Nice hotel for the price. Great amenities & beach

Posted Jul 19, 2014
We only stayed for one night, but would certainly stay more nights in a future visit. The hotel staff was lovely to work with and the amenities at the hotel, such as free wifi and free DVD rentals were a definite bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from clarksville, TN

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Location and super friendly staff
Cons: I personally don't like the resort fee of 18.75. If you are not renting movies or playing video games, you are still charged.
Location: We had an oceanfront room and the view was wonderful. Shops and resturants in walking distance.
Good location , close to airport, and great location as a starting point to go sightseeing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Great location, too bad construction was going on

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The location allowed us to go north or south in a reasonable amount of time. Happy hour at the bar by the pool was very nice.
Cons: The Wi-Fi signal that kept dropping out.
Location: There's a shopping center, with a weekly farmer's market, and several eating options at walking distance. Grocery stores a few minutes away.
We were in one of the renovated rooms, so everything was clean and pretty new. Nice size bathroom. The kitchenette was basic (microwave, fridge, dishes), but there are grills outside that you can use. I wasn't too happy with having to pay a daily fee, but it was nice to have DVD and games rental included when you have an 11 year old. The grounds were well kept and pretty with all the flowers. There's a laundry facility which is very practical, mostly after a hike in the mud. However, no sleeping in for us as the building next door was being renovated and work started a 7:00 am. We discovered that there was a way to adjust the AC as we were checking the room a last time before leaving: the remote had fallen behind the TV! Overall, it was a good value for the price and I'd stay there again. I would just check with the hotel that no construction is going on at the time of our visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Jul 9, 2014
This hotel was a pleasant surprise for the rating. It was right off the beach and in a great location for touring around. It was clean and maintained. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aurora Co

close proximity to everything.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Furniture needed updating
Location: food shopping and entertainment. loved Trees Lounge.
A beautiful place to stay, close to the beach restaurants close buy also staff was wonderful. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary on the trip and is was a much needed vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roxanne from Wenatchee WA

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Changing of the drapes/curtains more often. Mildew is unavoidable with the humidity but more frequent changes would certainly help lessen the build up
Location: This place is near the airport and LOTS of shopping and of course beaches :) You only have to walk across the yard to get to the beach
Loved the location. The view was beautiful. The room was clean, bed comfortable. Staff was wonderful. Grounds were well kept and improvements to the buildings were being made-It has to be done some time! There was no noise pollution related to the repairs going on. House keeping was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tonya & Mike from Redondo Beach

Excellent stay at the Aston!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The ocean front room and the pool bar!!!!! Oh and the Kauai Coffee!!!!!!!!
Cons: They are working on the hotel, I am sure constant upkeep is required. Even thought they are in the middle of a facelift didn't bother us a bit.
We had a tremendous time on Kauai. The Aston Islander on the Beach was perfect resort for us. Got exactly what we were hoping for for the money. We reserved an ocean front room and enjoyed the patio every single day. The pool was nice and the pool bar was tremendous! Very relaxing, excellent prices and nice informative staff. The location was perfect. We traveled around the island past Hanama Bay on one day found a tremendous beach. On another day we traveled to Wiamea Canyon. From one side to the other and the location of this hotel allowed us to enjoy the entire island. Met several people who stay here every year. Went to some very nice high end restaurants near by, got a few groceries and also went to the smaller restaurants out front in the Cocoanut Market Place for some cheap local eats that were great and handy!!! Absolutely loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from Colorado

Nice location

Posted May 28, 2014
Great location . Vary nice views . Do the hikes , there free and you will see the most beautiful views of the Napali coast.