Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by fred

Hotel in need of updates

Posted Dec 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
We stayed in two different suites in this resort. Both were in need of updating. The suite on the second floor had floors that made so much noise I was afraid we might fall through to the first floor. This could be a nice resort if they put some money into it. I will say the staff was very nice, the rooms were fairly clean and the hotel was within walking distance of shops and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
It was great. The room was clean and comfortable. Service was outstanding. Location was good. It was on the beach and walking distance to shopping and dining. We will stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Reekfrom Osage City, KS

Great for families!!!

Posted Nov 24, 2012
Pros: Clean rooms
Cons: The smell of the building
Location: Very close to restaurants and shops
The location was great. The family restaurant across the street was excellent & we got a discount for staying at Pono Kai. If you keep walking north on the main highway, there are many cute shops and restaurants. We had oceanview room so we could see the kids playing down on the beach. If you walk north on the boardwalk, you hit a nice beach where you can lay out, etc. The rooms were clean. The master bedroom had a nice king size bed. The 2nd bedroom had a full size bed & the kids said that it was a little lumpy. The sofa sleeper where our son slept was lumpy as a sofa sleeper gets. There was a little smell to the building but once we got into our room, the smell was not bad. It's just an old complex so it smelled old. Overall, it was a great experience and I would recommend it to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dean

Gem in the Pacific

Posted Oct 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very friendly staff. Great location. Nice facilities. Even an exercise room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Andreafrom Great Northwest

GREAT Hotel for the price.

Posted Oct 10, 2012
Pros: Clean rooms, beautiful grounds, lovely staff
Cons: I Liked Everything - for the price.
Location: Perfect - Middle of the Island - - so close to everything.
Pono Kai is an older property that is very well maintained and an excellent bang for your dollar when it comes to traveling with family to Hawaii. My husband is European and I’ve traveled the world over with him in our 26 years together. we LOVED the property! We loved the mature landscape, the cleanliness of our entire condo (A207 - oceanfront), the friendliness of the staff, and the other guests. I was awake and on our balcony every morning by 5:30 am for the spectacular sunrises, to see the locals and tourist out on the walking path getting their morning exercise in - it was fabulous. We loved the chickens and cats - - this property takes care of their cats and has them spayed and neutered and feeds them daily. They are not ferial cats. If you want on onsite spa, shopping, restaurants, and a true 5-Star experience go north to the St. Regis, you want a very nice place to stay for a great price go to Pono Kai. Mahalo – Andrea A.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Arlenefrom Orange county, CA

Excellent location, great for family!

Posted Aug 21, 2012
Pros: location
Cons: bathrooms
Location: center to almost everything!
This resort is ideal for a family of 5 like us, the rooms were very spacious (we had a 2 BR/2Baths) and had an excellent ocean front. The best part is the location - withing walking distance from shops, restaurants, groceries, bike rentals, and of course, 10 minutes drive to WalMart and about 15 mins. drive to Cosco, K-Mart, and Macy's! It is also in the middle of the north and south shores - so driving to Waimea and Hanalei is very convenient! The staff were very friendly, and the grounds were well-kept. I would definitely consider this resort again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jefffrom Bullhead City, AZ, USA

good place for families

Posted Jul 26, 2012
Pros: Freindly staff
Cons: Furnishing is a little uncomfortable.
Location: Good central location on island
For an older resort, it was vary clean and upkeeped . Has everything you need for a plesant vacation. Nolegable and freindly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Clean but dated, good for a night or two

Posted Jun 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
The staff was great, and very accommodating...unfortunately, they don't work in a top notch resort. The Pono Kai was very clean, but a little dated. You can tell the staff takes a lot of pride in their resort, and they do the best they can with what they have. However, the great staff doesn't help the fact that this resort barely has a beach...and you'd be afraid to swim in their rough waters even if it did. You can walk down about 1/2 mile to the public park/beach, where there IS some sand to lay on and the waters are more tame, but that's not always convenient to run back and forth to your room. All in all, this is a good, clean place for a night or two, but it's not on par with a Marriott, Sheraton or Westin. So don't expect too much, and you'll be okay with it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laurenfrom Iowa

Pono Kai

Posted Apr 27, 2012
Pros: Location. Within walking distance to restaurants, ocean and shops.
Cons: Housekeeping window doesnt open until 8am.
Location: Our unit had an ocean view and was right next to the pool.
The hotel was very nice. The concierge was very nice and helpful. The location was great because shops, markets, restaurants and the ocean were within walking distance (which is great because the island's parking is terrible).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maryfrom Eldridge, IA, USA

Pono Kai, absolutely superb!!

Posted Apr 27, 2012
Pros: i was impressed with every facet of this resort. The activities on the grounds were much fun for all ages.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: Absolutely perfect.
We greatly enjoyed our stay at Pono Kai/Bluegreen resort. The condo was quite spacious and accomodated much privacy for us as we shared a 2 br, 2 bath with another couple. The location right on the beach was wonderful, and convenient for us to take brief or longer walks. The sunrises were beautiful. The grounds were extremely well kept, and the staff were friendly and considerate. We had absolutely no complaints, and we will likely stay at this resort again in the future!!!