Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

Nice room, poor amenities

Posted Jul 12, 2014
There was no ac, the internet was horrible. The pool wasn't open at a consistent time. There's no such thing as a garden view only a pool view. We ate in as much as possible for the 3 of us and there was only a 4 piece set, which meant doing dishes every day. Also, I didn't know before hand there would be a $60 cleaning fee since we stayed a week $30 if you stayed less than 4 days. If I would've known about the cleaning fee, I would've stayed elsewhere. Not happy, will not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Close to everything

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Our room was newly renovated and was really nice! No A/C but the breeze was awesome! We just opened the windows and balcony doors. There are screens on all the windows. Super clean and very nice appliances and dishes to use. We used the pool, while small, it was empty most if the time. Safeway, Starbucks and an ABC store are right across the street! The only drawback was the street noise and wifi was not consistent.
3 out of 5
by Special from Toronto

No air conditioning otherwise good

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Air conditioning is a must
Relative to where I come from (Toronto), late May and early June Hawaii is hot. There is a ceiling fan in each room but that is not enough for a good sleep. The block of condos that I am in has been renovated nicely for sale. Another block (ocean front) is under renovation and is not rented out (as described in earlier reviews when it was rented out) . The condos are fine with a balcony overlooking a pool. The beach has some sand but mostly rocky. There are two supermarkets and a mall with restaurants across the street. Some like it warm and the condo will be great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by lihue bowler from honolulu

new place just renovated but not quite completed

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room and property was very nice and clean with a swimming pool. Very convienient location grocery, eating places etc. The issues we had however were. Only ceiling fans, no AC. we were there when it was humid, although we are from Hawaii, and could adopt to weather, AC would have been really nice. Phone jack but no phone. Windows to bathroom had privacy glass but no curtain. Not enough tower racks installed to hang towel. No dressers to place clothing but there was plenty of closet space. It seemed the room was not quite finished. Kitchen fine with all utencils if you wanted to cook. Check in was also off property, it was at another property a quarter mile away. For the price paid compared to others nearby we could over look the short comings. Hopefully these are items that will be addressed in the near future.almost forgot cable TV w flatscreen was nice but internet you had to ask for (free ) and not reliable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maria and fam

Kauai vacation

Posted May 28, 2014
Nicely remodeled room. Great layout that could easily sleep four adults. Bad wifi. No air conditioning. Maid service is minimal ( they did not wash dishes etc only change towels and take out trash) although they charged 60 for cleaning. The other end of the complex was under construction, so the view was yuck. All in all it was a great value for the price and we still had a great time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Careful about those cleaning fees!!!

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms, complete kitchen. Ideal to stay for many nights, NOT for only one night.
Cons: Indicate more clearly about those cleaning fees!
30$ is way too much for one night stay in a decent room in Kapaa. Beware, this was quite an expensive night. And careful the hotel is hard to find and the lobby is not even in this building, it´s 500m down south on the same route. Quite confusing.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steve from Kapaa

Noise and no A/C

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was working night shifts during my stay and couls not sleep during the day due to the remodeling on the building next door. Since there was no A/C I couldn't close the doors & windows to help block the noise. It was very load all day. I was lucky I found the place while there was someone around to tell me where to check in - it was a few blocks away. It was hard to find since there were NO signs that said "Castle Kauai Kailani". Just a banner that said "Kauai Kailani".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: New New, nice decor and furnishings. Its a small apartment which we prefer when traveling.
Cons: Finish construction and washer and dryers in the units. There was no small dining bowls only very large.
Location: Location is close to everything, we loved Kappa small beach town feel. If you want entertainment, dinning, outdoors they are all location in Kappa.
We were winging the room thing in Kauai and found his hotel on Expedia, price was right for a newly renovated room, the decor was stylish and having a brand new kitchen with the eating bar and stainless steel appliances was a bonus. The pool was quaint but very well kept and a pleasure to swim and suntan (very private). We were pretty much the only guest staying a the 52 unit hotel the reason being is the other half of the hotel is under construction and this is probably deterring other guest. We were gone most of the days so constructions wasn't a problem for us and with not many guest around we pretty much had our own little Paradise. When we return to Kauai we will definitely re-booked in the other phase which will be on the ocean view side.
3 out of 5
by John from British Columbia , Canada

Noisy

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Feb '14 - Still under construction. Loud trucks with backup alarms making lots of noise very early in the morning. The new building on the water will be nice. The building closer to the road gets a lot of traffic noise 24 hours a day as its a very busy road. With louvred windows and no AC, blocking that noise isn't really an option. No telephone in room. Rooms were quite nice, clean and modern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deb from Honolulu, Hawaii

Property recently renovated

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Nice room. Brand new renovation. Better than we expected.