Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the sea (coast and small beach)

Posted May 15, 2015
Not the newest furniture but (who needs it) very nice. With kitchen and terrace with seaview. Good location near to Kapaa City. Clean pool. Everything you need. Would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by Mokihana General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you again on a future visit. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Loved this hotel so much!

Posted May 15, 2015
Location: Perfect location. Best decision I made.
The people who gave bad reviews had super high standards. They were obviously expecting a super fancy resort with all kinds of extra amenities. I was very pleased with Mokihana. It reminded me of a bed and breakfast. My room had the same kind of cozy feel I would have at home. I didn't spend my days there. I was out and about exploring the island. I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a hotel that is clean, comfy, safe, and a good price.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by Mokihana General Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you again on a future visit. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Just OK.

Posted May 4, 2015
Location: Walking distance to the stores easily
No fan, no television, no microwave in the room. I would rather pay a bit extra for better stay somewhere else. Fortunately, I just stayed for a night only before I flew back home.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2015 by Mokihana GM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review! In late August/early September, Mokihana will be undergoing a renovation. Once completed, all rooms will have ceiling fans, flat screen TV's, improved wifi, new bedding, new flooring, and much more. We hope that you will give us another opportunity once our renovation is complete. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom munich, germany

Passt schon

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Schöner Balkon mit Blick ins Meer, jedoch veraltete Anlage. Man könnte echt was draus machen ... könnte! Lage ist super für Ausflüge und zum am Strand liegen. Würde es wieder buchen auch wenn es veraltet ist.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2015 by Mokihana GM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Kauai. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Cons: A total remodel, and debugging. Basically everything
the hotel was old, run down and had cockroaches. The water in the shower was terrible. The water temperature varied continuously. Large laundry facility with many machines but several didn't work
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2015 by Mokihana GM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review! We are sorry to hear that your experience at Mokihana was not an enjoyable one. In late August/early September, Mokihana will be undergoing a renovation that will address all of our rooms, main lobby, pool, wifi, and much more. We anticipate this renovation to be complete by early 2016. Mokihana has a comprehensive pest control program in place that has been very effective. I would like to know which room you stayed in so I can investigate this further. As it pertains to the water in your shower, we will follow up on this since we have not experienced any issues in the past. The laundry machines that you have mentioned are in the process of being fixed. We apologize that all of them were not operational during your stay. In closing, please accept our apology for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay with us. We hope that once our property has been renovated, that you will give us another opportunity. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, AB

excellent location close right on the beach

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: as above
Cons: New bedding and paint would refresh the accommodation....
Location: ocean front and good access to grocery shopping, restaurants and within walking distance to farmers market and many other stores...
Enjoy the location, beach ,shopping right there across the street....hotel though is a bit dated however staff, beach front location and cost delivers a good package in my experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by Mokihana GM, Hotel Management
Sue, Aloha and mahalo for your review! We appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Kauai. Mokihana will be undergoing a renovation that is scheduled to start in late August/early September of this year. Once our renovation is completed in early 2016, our rooms, common areas, and wifi will all be upgraded. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super Lage.

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Super Lage. Altes in die Jahre gekommenes Time-Share, welches über den Winter renoviert werden soll, deshalb sieht man das kein Geld mehr reingesteckt wurde. Dafür zahlt man aber auch natürlich weniger als woanders. Zimmer sauber aber nicht auf dem neusten Stand. Keine AC, kein TV, Wifi miserabel auf den Zimmern.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by Mokihana GM, Hotel Management
M., Aloha and mahalo for your review! Mokihana will be undergoing a renovation beginning in late August/early September that will address our rooms, reception area, wifi, and much more. We apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. We hope that you will give us another opportunity on your next visit to Kauai. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mississippi

Great location, close to the airport, clean.

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Location, clean.
Cons: Nothing for the price.
Location: Close to all.
We arrived late. Check in was qiuck. Room was clean. Bed was comfortable, but I was exhausted. Twins, but we didn't care. I would recommend and will probably stay again on this trip. I might consider a longer stay in summer months.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2015 by Mokihana GM, Hotel Management
Patti, Aloha and mahalo for your review. We look forward to seeing you again on a future stay. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom K

Get away

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Lovely location and well kept grounds right on ocean. Perfect escape. Rooms clean but dated. Internet was frustrating. Easy to park & walk to stores. Lovely island!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2015 by Mokihana GM, Hotel Management
Aloha Carol, Thank you for your review. Please accept our apology for the internet issues that you encountered during your stay. Currently, our internet is only available in the common areas in and around our front desk area. I'm happy to say that by early 2016 all of our units will be fully renovated and our wifi will be accessible throughout the property. We hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are looking for accommodations in the Kapaa area. Mahalo, Kevin Reiss General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom BC Canada

Kaui holiday

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: The locals we met there during the Easter Weekend were very nice. The beach was only a stone's throw away.
Cons: Get some double beds! Maybe a telephone to call the front desk. a double hot plate if not a stove, a toaster and TV
Location: It was great to have the grocery store across the street and McDonalds to get coffee. A sports store that rented snorkels and fins, etc
we arrived after the office closed so we had to find a security guard for a key. He was very good to us. We were disappointed in the room, that it only had twin beds. We were also not happy that we didn't have a toaster at least , since there wasn't any cooking appliance, and nothing in the lobby which we had to walk 2 flights down to which only had a microwave. They sold coffee by the cup for a $1. There was a coffee maker in the room but it didn't work very well. Some days we didn't get bath towels we had to go down to ask for them. To keep the room cool, we had to keep the sliding door open facing the ocean side and the slat windows on the door open to get a draft through. And one day the wind was so bad that it blew the one light off the ceiling. We did do a lot of sight seeing of the beautiful Island--the beaches were beautiful. we were told that this building used to be a timeshare building for 40 years and the upkeep of the building was kept to a miminum as they have other plans for it. The one thing that really upset us was that we misplace one of our keys and we went right away to tell them at the front desk and the lady we spoke to said not to worry about it. But 3 days later when we were leaving, the clerk then on duty said we owed $75. and as we are standing there she is saying to the other clerk there that she will put it under sundries (or damages). I understand we should pay for a lost key, but we both thought it was bit accessive.