Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

A dump in paradise!

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Location is excellent.
Cons: Tear it down and build a new one.
Location: Kapa'a is a great town, there is a Safeway near by and multiples little shops and restaurants. There is also a 5 mile coastal bike path.
The place is very run down. We stayed there for 5 days and we were very disapointed. The staff was nice but the manager is a crook. I would never go back there or recomend it to anyone unless the price is right, by right I mean crazy low. There are no televisions in the rooms, no AC and only twin beds. It is also a place for locals to party at night, they rented a room besides ours and were loud all night. The ocean is right there but impossible to go in cause of the coral reef. However the town of Kapa'a is wonderful and a great place to stay, go to Pono Market for lunch it is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farmingdale Maine

Chickens are great

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: location, location, location, price. Quiet. Except they didn't tell me they were going to charge me a fee of $20 dollars a day for "resort fee per day
Cons: Remove that silly "resort fee"
Location: It's located in a location to get started on where ever you are going.
It is a great place to stay. The prices are the best. The location is great. The people are great. free parking. Shopping center right across the street. But best of all is this little restaurant in the shopping center that has home cooked meals. the best home cooking we had while on Kauai. Great people run the place and it has the best beefsteak and gravy I ever had. Breakfast is best also. If it weren't for that little restaurant we would have starved. the name of the place is Waipouli Restaurant in the corner of the shopping center. Right across the street from the hotel. A lot of chickens roam the area but they are great fun to watch. The hotel is right on the beach. You can sleep to the sounds of the waves crashing on the shore. great place, bes we had in all the islands with the help of the little restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from YV

Excellent!

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Good location, close to shopping centers and places to eat, about 15 minutes to airport without traffic. Room is very spacious and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Relaxing, on the beach

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: We liked the sight and sound of the waves just beyond the hotel grounds. The room was clean and comfortable.
Cons: No TV or microwave oven was certainly a surprise. Even the bedside radio didn't work.
Location: It's central to everything on the island. Ocean activities are a very short drive away. Same with shopping and dining.
We spent 5 nights, 4 of which were very relaxing. During one night however, youngsters were partying from 1 am till after 5 am. We could not sleep! I complained the next day and was told that security should have prevented this from happening. I guess security took the night off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Glarus, WI

Perfect for someone like me

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: I loved the location and price. Sitting on the lanai with a cup of coffee to watch the sunrise was a great experience.
Cons: They could use new carpeting and bedspreads/curtains. They reshingled one of the 4 buildings while I was there, so I think changes are in the works.
I was concerned about how comfortable I would be after reading through reviews, but decided to take a chance. True, the hotel is dated, but linens and room were clean and fresh. I had a nice ocean breeze every night so I was very comfortable. The wi-fi usually worked, I only had a little glitch one day, but if I moved closer to reception I had a stronger signal. The housekeeping staff was incredibly friendly and really made my stay comfortable. Some other complaints were about the noise of the restaurant, but I was in Building D which was farthest away, so had no issues with noise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Help

Posted Jul 15, 2014
This time share property is being converted to a hotel...but we didn't know that when we booked. That means noise and nerves. Oceanfront? Yes. Beach? No. You need to drive a couple miles to one. TV? No. You need to rent one. Cleaning? Twice a week. I could go on...but you get the point.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Short stay was OK

Posted Jul 9, 2014
I reserved the room seeing it was a Studio and I saw pictures of the mini kitchen. There was only a fridge. No oven, hot plate, or microwave. The room was clean but very old. Rust on the metal door parts, bathroom sink drai was rusty. No air conditioning, but windows on both sides allows a good cross flow for wind. Doesn't work great at night because there is outdoor lights shining in the window. No tv either and the wifi is too slow to stream. This only effects me at night when I settle down. It worked for a short one night stay, but I wouldn't book it for much more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Clarksville TN

Not the worst

Posted Jul 2, 2014
nice location right on the beach. But now Air conditioning and very small room. Also I had to rent a fan and a TV lmao that really threw me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

Castle Mokihana

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Fre WiFi and the Ocean view
Cons: Lots!
Location: Convenient, lots to do around the area
The room was relatively clean ecept for the carpet - felt soiled. There was no A/C, no ceiling fan and no TV. When I asked for a rollaway, the front desk help was only there temporarily to help so she did not know where or how to get a rollaway. She mentioed we could "rent" a fan and a TV but she did not where they were. She recommended to buy from Walmart then return after our stay. When I asked for extra towels and a sheet, she had to look but found no sheets but provided extra towels. The pipes sang after you used the bathroom or shower. The property was old and it showed in the window sills and doors and overall property view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by B&K from Minneapolis, MN

Wonderful sound of surf

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Small room but good value for the money.
Cons: Add a spa/hot tub
Location: Opposite shopping center, many nearby restaurants
Would stay there again. Enjoyed the setting close to the ocean.