Ratings based on 984 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Great location , food was good .

Posted Aug 26, 2014
From the moment of arriving the staff made us feel very welcome .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, good ocean views

Posted Aug 23, 2014
The hotel choice was based on Expedia search and comments from prior guests. Nothing really wrong with the property, it is just a bit threadbare, and the front desk was always understaffed when needing to get a towel exchange or other interaction (except checkout which was automatic.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in Paradise

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Beachfront Hotel with sunrises in the morning & the moon shining over the beach at night... The pool & the grounds were immaculate !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Perfect location and halfway between anything you would want to do on the island.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Great location

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Hotel rooms, especially bathroom. Hotel Gym (smelled so so bad....) Spa (overpriced) and in very old bldg.
Location: I did not have a car, so I basically stayed in. Walking distance to the supermarket, it has every single things you need.
I had the partial ocean view room. The hotel is located right off the beach. So when I opened the patio door, I could hear the wave and smelled the ocean, it was splended. Hotel room was old....especially bathroom needs a bit of work. Old stains, etc....it did not drain well either. Hotel staffs were very nice, small pool and hot tub. Restaurant and bar on site, but I did not eat there. Found the regular supermarket within walking distance and I went to get groceries every day. If you are looking for something Luxurious, this is not the place. If you are looking for just to relax, staying around the beach all day....it is pretty great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view of the ocean.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Right on the beach and very nice accomodations.
Cons: Free parking. $14 is a little steep. A/C in room was either blasting cold or a little warm. We were on the 1st floor and the tub was not draining.
Location: Awesome beach location. We hiked Na Pali coast and did the Blue Hawaii copter ride. Lots of places to eat in nearby Kapaa and Lihue.
It was awesome to be right on the beach. Lots of great places to eat in nearby Kapaa and Lihue. Also a central location so nothing is too far away. We visited the Na Pali Coast, Poipu, and Waimea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Great hotel - Can't wait until my next stay.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed the nightly entertainment which included a hula dancer night, a DJ night, a few singers on other nights. Everyone seemed to enjoy these.
Cons: Cannot think of anything
Location: Ziplines and ATV tours were fun. The Zipline course we went on had 8 zips total (fun), The ATV was awesome. Both were booked right there ni the hotel.
This review written July 2014 (2 weeks after stay). This is a great hotel. Everything is bright and appears to be brand new . On the beach side of the hotel, there is a nice grassy area with chairs and benches that people can sit on. We enjoyed sitting on chairs under the trees and watching the waves lap on the shore. Past the grassy area is the hotel's own sandy beach, then the water of the Pacific Ocean is just a few footsteps away. The beach in this area is a little rocky, and there is low break wall about 6 feet from shore, so swimming at this beach might be difficult. There was one guy going out with a snorkel, so I guess it is doable. We looked at an online satellite map before booking so we could see the layout of the hotel in relation to the beach. In the morning and evening we walked the path along the ocean. The path crosses the property lines of several hotels and condos, all of which are very nice. They all share this quiet and private path. Expedia Local expert located in the lobby was an excellent resource for information on activities in the area (ziplines, ATV tour, good restaurants (we did all). There are also wild chickens living in the small forested area next to the hotel. We purchased some cheap bread and fed them while sitting under the trees watching and hearing the waves chrash on the beach. The most fun while staying at a hotel. Usually I leave the hotel for all the fun. This hotel included fun right on the grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great beachfront location & price

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Great location and price.
Cons: No beach activities,but it's not a swimming beach b/c of the current & coral. But, great for relaxing in lounge chairs in the sand or grass w/trees
Location: Mid-point on the east side (Coconut Beach). Small shopping center within walking distance. A Safeway Grocery is 1/2 mile away.
Would definitely stay here again! Great central-island location-1 hours to the northern tip of the island and 45 minutes to the southern tip. Spent 6 nights, had 2 rooms. Rooms are about half-price of the Marriott Resort a few miles away. All beaches on Kauai are public, go there for the beach activities and save money by staying here. The rooms were very clean, beds were great. I think all rooms have a small balcony. Good pool with a fire-feature at night also a hot-tub. Nice pool area and great grassy & sandy beach area. The beach is not recommended for swimming and has lots of coral/rock...you'll need swim shoes but the view is beautiful, also there are no beach activities here but you will want to drive around the island to other beaches and snorkeling bays. The pool has bar-side services. A real plus, is an onsite Expedia Expert that can recommend and book all your island excursions - use them, save yourself time & money, they were great! Ate at the restaurant once, had a delicious meal. There is an ice machine (nice for packing your own lunches in a cooler) and laundry facilities at no charge. You won't be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Clean room, great concierge and front desk service. Ease of access to everything we wanted to do.
Cons: Additional bar staff as the wait times for drinks got a bit long.
Location: Lots of restaurants north of the hotel in Kapa'a. If you love the outdoors, you'll love Kauai. Highlight of our trip was floating down the canals.
The staff were exceptionally kind and attentive. The rooms were clean. Access to the pool and the beach couldn't have been better. We loved everything about our stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Worst hotel!!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
I paid for an ocean view room and after waiting 4 hours for my room was given a view of the side of the wall and trees