Ratings based on 1,382 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ar

Great hotel.

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Right in beach. Great staff. Convenient to town. Beautiful well kept grounds.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Beware date changes

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Location near the airport and equal distance to most activities.
Cons: Customer service. See above. Also, the beach is not usable. Pool is too small.
Location: This is very close to the airport and is equi-distant to North and South shore activities.
Location was great for getting to both sides of Kauai, in general the staff was very friendly, and the room was comfortable although the bathroom was very small. (The door clears the edge of the toilet by millimeters.) A lanai (veranda) is advertised but it is also very small unless you have one of the larger ocean view rooms. Parking was easy and there are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. You could walk but I recommend having a car. There is also a drugstore with a grocery section very close as well. Unfortunately, their front desk folks exercised very poor judgement in my opinion and I cannot recommend this hotel. We missed our Saturday flight and came in on Sunday with our return day staying the same (Friday). Rather than moving the block of days I had already paid for down a day and letting my wife and I stay in our room until our evening flight, they chose to check me in on Saturday though I was not present and force me to pay for an extra hotel day on Friday. They then blamed Expedia for having me checked in on Saturday and basically gave me a "too bad for you, do you want to pay to stay or will we be moving your bags down to storage until your flight leaves" attitude. We travel frequently and have never been treated like this. You may fare better if you book through a travel agency or through Marriott directly but don't expect your Expedia booking to have much clout if your travel plans change.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from camden

Beautiful resort in the middle of the island

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Beach front with beautiful views. Loved the high vaulted ceilings, comfy pillow top bed,wifi
Cons: Restaurant , limited menu, food was just OK and was pricey
Location: Beautiful beaches, near shopping,restaurants, and easy drive of state parks
Right on the beach. Nice amenities, comfy rooms, well mAintained grounds and pool, quiet resort very family friendly. Right in the middle of the island to allow easy exploring in all directions. Front desk staff are the best . They found out our trip was to celebrate 35 yr anniversary and left a lovely note and bottle of champagne w glasses! We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting kauai
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice hotel, but small issues annoyed me

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Fees
Nice hotel right on the beach, close to some shops and restaurants in Kapaa. The room was of average size, however the door handle was broken and took a lot of effort to enter the room. The air conditioning was also VERY loud and due to the temperature you need it on at night. Perhaps installing a ceiling fan can alleviate this? Food was adequate. The only other annoyance is the $30 per night resort charge - we did not use any of the resort facilities as we were out and about all day and night, however still had to pay this fee. Other than that, hotel was nice and quiet and staff were friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: the air conditioning
Location: we were in Kauai for a week, but only at that hotel for 1 night. The island is loaded with things to do.
It was a very nice hotel, I love Merriotts, and the staff was great, the room was clean, but the air conditioning was not working properly so we were very uncomfortable all night. But we were going to be there only one night so we just toughed it out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2015
location is beautiful. staff is great. I've been a regular there for most of 20 years now. Disappointed with the breakfast buffet. It used to be better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location

Posted Jul 15, 2015
The hotel is located close to Kappa'a and centrally located on the island which made it easy to explore the island. The front desk staff was great and friendly. I would return to this hotel in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Roseville, Ca

Great hotel for the money.

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: The ambience was true Hawaii.
Cons: The pool could be bigger.
Location: Location was good but fine restaurants were scarce.
We moved to the Marriott from The Westin in Princeville and expected it to be a real come down. We were pleasantly surprised. We had a great upgraded room and were amazed at the amenities the Marriott afforded us. The food was wonderful, especially the breakfast buffet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Cons: Local fruits and an expanded menu.
Location: Centrally located for all sides of the Island. Shopping, groceries and restaurants near by.
Hotel was good, beach was nice but to rough to swim unless you are a good swimmer. All the staff was great. The food was was a disappointment but to be fair we are fussy about food. Good restaurants very close. Pretty centrally located for all sides of the island.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

AC way too loud. Suprised extra charges

Posted Jul 6, 2015
The ac system is way too loud in our room. They will charged you automatically charged you extra per day for resort fees such as parking and for fruity drinks
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2015 by Lee Ann B. , Hotel Management
Aloha N, Thank you for taking the time and sharing your stay concerns with us. I apologize for the loud AC in your room, i really wish i had the opportunity to assist you while you were here in finding you another room for your stay. I do hope the rest of your vacation was wonderful, and you enjoyed the beautiful Garden Island of Kauai. Mahalo,